We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun”
Review of Hurricane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hurricane Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We really liked this hotel. The rooms are spacious, breakfast excellent, beach enjoyable. If you stay at this hotel, you will need to drive into Tarifa; but I would not recommend staying in Tarifa. Great location for couples.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank randy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 317 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We would recommend this hotel because of its fantastic location and ambience. Staff friendly, beach bar food was a buffet and good value. Breakfast was a buffet and included lots of fresh fruit. Bedroom was OK clean but no pictures on walls so a bit spartan. pool lovely, access to beach excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

wonderful trip. Anna provided great childcare for my twins. the mistral centre was a bit short on mid range sales. the centre up the road has the better kit. do rent a car! the woman at the riding centre was a poor time keeper. problematic and grumpy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 90upper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A charming hotel with lovely views and a colonial feel to it. Right on the beach, which is very windy and ideal for windsurfers and kite surfers - not to mention lovely long walks. The grounds of the hotel are very sheltered an ideal place to find a quiet spot to read or just relax. Food was very good, with a good choice - although it would have been useful to have an English translation of the evening menu. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, but there were a couple who, whilst not rude, weren't friendly or helpful. Only 10 minutes from the town of Tarifa where you will find a good choice of restaurants. This is a very unspoilt corner of Spain which I hope does not change. Would definitely return for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoinette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and as with many hotels there are some positives and also some room for improvement. On the positive side, the location is fantastic just above a beautiful sandy beach and exactly where all the windsurfers and kite surfers go. The pool area and pool itself is also very clean and inviting. On the mixed side of things was the service received. Some staff were absolutely brilliant and very friendly but others were terse and off hand and unfortunately it tends to be the experience dealing with the latter staff that tend to linger in your mind when evaluating your overall experience. The staff seemed to multi task and perhaps the hotel was understaffed in that respect but in general the reception staff were great but the food and beverages staff were hit and miss with the breakfast staff charming and the evening staff hit and miss.

Also on the mixed side was the food. Very nice quality and choice at breakfast and in the evening restaurant on the terrace but very mediocre in their beach bar. I guess in this respect you get what you pay for. If you are looking for nice food directly on the beach then better to walk down the steps from the hotel, walk 200 yards to your right on the beach and there is a nice little place called El Chozo where the food was great.

On the room side of things we stayed in a room that for the Eur130 mid season was on the basic side but it was clean and housekeeping did a good job of keeping them that way. The bathrooms were again pretty basic in terms of their finish but again were perfectly functional. There are some bigger "family" rooms and we had a look in one of them as some friends were staying in one and they were of a far better quality finish.

All in all a decent place to stay for a long weekend if in that part of Spain just a pity about the handful of staff that spoilt the excellent efforts of the others.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger "family" room located on the right hand side ground floor level of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nandjshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

When Mrs fly ask Mr fly "Did you have a good flight today ?" I am pretty sure the answer is always "yes" provided Mr fly had been with his friends to this hotel for lunch.
But this is a minor irritation which next time I shall avoid by having a quick spray of fly repellant instead of the usualCalvin Kline.
Amazing thing is you can get there in just half an hour from Gibraltar, so it made a lunch visit possible ( dont tell the Gibraltar flies). It is on he main road to Cadiz, through a discreet entrance just past Tarifa, and truly a blast from the past.
A beautifully kept and character full entrance foyer, past some very inviting cane arm chairs (fly free area here, past the pool and you are at the beach bar with he rolling waves and a refreshing breeze. Here I met my flies, strange the breeze doesnt blow them away, but there is a lot of greenery around, and inside the bar a fly proof counter with the most delicious salads and other fresh food..you chose 4 from the 8 or so salads, your plate i filled and you part with all of 10 eros, and sit an watch the waves... must be the bargain of he year ( maybe thats why the flies come)

Th rooms seem perfectly comfortable , though if I stayed I would pick one of the 12 overlooking the sea.

So, get yourself sprayed, and com and njoy

Room Tip: for one of the sea facing rooms...book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank President66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The majestic setting with stunning views of the mouth of the Mediterranean form the base of this hotel. A luscious sub tropical garden surrounds the hotel making a green paradise. Even when full you can find a nice quite spot that makes you feel you are the only guest. All the staff add to the ambiance and are helpful and courteous, this makes up amply for the signs of wear and tear that you notice when you first wonder around. Great food and the whole feeling of bathing in a past colonial life just make for a very pleasant stay. My only gripe .... It's difficult to find a room free.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0d75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
403 reviews
7.1 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
490 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Sur
Hotel Punta Sur
#9 of 19 in Tarifa
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#6 of 19 in Tarifa
169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dulce Nombre
Hotel Dulce Nombre
#13 of 19 in Tarifa
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurricane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurricane Hotel

Address: Ctra. Nac. 340,Km.78, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tarifa
Price Range: $91 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hurricane Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded by the Whaley brothers in 1983, the Hurricane quickly became Tarifa's most famous hotel, renowned for its laid-back atmosphere and unique setting. It is one of the only beach-front hotels in Tarifa, and boasts spectacular views across the straits to Morocco. The Moroccan-inspired architecture is enhanced by the tropical gardens and two large swimming pools. ​ The hotel Beach Bar overlooks the sea, and is the perfect place for a relaxed lunch. In the evenings, the garden transforms into a candlelit restaurant overlooking the pool. The Hurricane has a gym, riding stables, a surf school, and two swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hurricane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hurricane Hotel Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing