We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No nonsense check ins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Benali Guesthouse Tarifa
Ranked #29 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Gibraltar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No nonsense check ins”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Have stayed here a few times, have stayed on both floors with and without a terrace and found all rooms nice and good enough for a night or two, I think perhaps if you were to stay longer you'd want larger wardrobes and a mini fridge to store some milk and water.
I personally like the door code system and collecting your key in your room, after a long drive the last thing I like to do is stand and wait to check in.
On this last stay we were given room 203 which was larger than the previous room with a large terrace which was lovely, unfortunately this time the beds were not comfortable so i suspect the mattresses in this particular room are in need of replacing and some softer pillows would make a world of difference! Staff (who never bother you) are all lovely and I like the location, as for parking, well parking is ALWAYS an issue in Tarifa no matter where you stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    14
    3
    8
See reviews for
9
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Bit confusing because this hotel is now called Benali Hotel! Loved it! Very clean, enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep despite being located in the middle of the old town. May be different in season, but speak how I find! Looking to book again for a few days in September!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarolineJH1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

had a lovely time in the Balenciaga rooms when we went to Tarifa for a wedding. Booked room with balcony overlooking the old town. Clean and tidy even if the en-suite was a little bijou. We left our English money hidden under the bed and the owners posted it back to us with no problems at all. Highly recommend. Tarifa is a beautiful spot in Old Spain not to be missed

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony to have view of old city in morning and evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneWeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hard to rate this hotel. On the one hand side you are in the right in the middle of the town, very close to the harbor and have all nice restaurants around you. On the other hand this is exactly the problem as there are so many people sitting in the restaurants at night that you hardly find a calm minute before 2 am in the morning. We couldn’t sleep with closed windows as the room itself was smelling pretty moldly which was hard to bear for us.

Beside that our room had an ok size, was equipped with TV, Wifi was excellent and bed and shower were also great.

One thing we absolutely didn’t like was the fact that the hotel has no reception. After booking the room in the internet you’ll receive an Email with a PIN Code to access the hotel. Don’t miss that otherwise you will be trapped! Inside the hotel you get your room key from the cleaning staff and also pay to them. The thing is that these people are only available between 10-14.00 . We wanted to leave early in the morning to Gibraltar and couldn’t as we had to wait for the staff for paying our room…pretty annoying to us. There is only a Spanish telephone number available but who knows how much $$$ you spend for that telephone call.

Keep in mind that parking is for free near the seaside, we didn’t have a problem to find a spot for our car there.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing to the street with all ist restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suparichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were disappointed in Balenciaga rooms: we had a tiny tiny room (202) with terras. The terras was almost bigger than the room. The room next to us (203, similar price) was a lot bigger and we were quite angry that we didn't get to stay in that one. There was no place for our suitcases and the wardrobe was very small. The room was also damp.. Weird...

The hotel is above a restaurant (which is really good) and in a street with lots of terrasses and bars. So sleepng before 2 at night is not an option due to the noise. You could also hear the neighbours loud and clear.

There is also no elevator so you have to get up 2 staircases (and that after you have managed to park your car somewhere in the very crowded steets).

If you want to go out every night this hotel is perfect, but if you want to sleep: don't go here. and stay in room 203 (with terras) or room 102, these are the biggest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rianne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarifa hotels

Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great experience - great accommodation, very clean and central and close to port and shops and restaurants ! Couldn't believe how lovely it was for the price we paid! Highly recommend this to anyone visiting Tarifa. You will not be sorry :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliwanttodoistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Balenciaga Rooms exceeded all our expectations: spacious, clean, tasteful simple design, very well maintained, working high speed wireless internet, strong hot shower... Excellent location, less than 5 min walk to ferry to Morocco and/or main square. What else one may want for a room at such price? We arrived after working hours and checked out early. We did not meet any of staff in person. All communication has been done by email, simple, timely and with clear instructions, easy to follow. Public parking is close, next to ferry. If we return to Tarifa, we will make sure to stay at the same place. I doubt that one can get better value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkknightsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa de la Favorita
La Casa de la Favorita
#8 of 49 in Tarifa
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Estrella de Tarifa
La Estrella de Tarifa
#26 of 49 in Tarifa
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Tarifa
Room Tarifa
#5 of 34 in Tarifa
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
SurfersResidence
SurfersResidence
#7 of 49 in Tarifa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benali Guesthouse Tarifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benali Guesthouse Tarifa

Property: Benali Guesthouse Tarifa
Address: Calle Guzman El Bueno 5, 11380 Tarifa, Spain (Formerly Balenciaga Rooms)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Benali Guesthouse Tarifa 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benali Guesthouse has 8 double rooms with each one an en-suite bathroom. At the first floor we have 5 double rooms and at the second floor there are 3 double rooms with a private terrace each, where you can enjoy fantastic views of the historic Town of Tarifa. All rooms have air conditioning, heating, ADSL, Wi-Fi and a 32"flat screen LED TV. It's strategic location ,in the center of downtown, allow our guests to feel embraced by the historical character of the city. In addition to this privileged cultural site , we share space in the quarter with the best "tapas" bars and restaurants of the area. The location is quiet and perfect to relax and sure you will feel at home and enjoy the sympathy and kindness of the locals, just open the door. Single rooms, double and double with terrace. Air conditioned and heating. Flat screen LED TV 32". ADSL WI-F Tea and Coffe free. 24 hour reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Benali Guesthouse Tarifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing