We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cortijo El Pozuelo
Nearby Hotels
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Meson de Sancho(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Torre(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cortijo las Pinas(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$59
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hostal Alameda(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$49
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Blanco(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$78
$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Tarifa(Tarifa)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
89
22
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
22
5
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 116 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

If you are looking for somewhere to get away from it all and relax this is the place for you.

We received a very warm welcome from Irena and were shown to our room which had a lovely separate sitting area and was cool in temperature. The traditional cortijo had ample parking and several areas to sit in the garden.

Breakfast was served outside because the weather was nice and the freshly arranged flowers were in abundance.

We were advised on how to get to the beach (10 minutes) and into Tarifa by walking (35 minutes) along a lovely boardwalk. The beach was stunning although quite windy. The restaurants that were recommended to us in the town were superb. We also ate at the restaurant across the road which is spanish run and the staff were lovely.

All in all we had an excellent relaxing weekend with lots of lovely strolls along the beach.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room which was a little bigger and benefited from the separate living area.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This cozy family owned hotel was absolutely surprising. Well decorated rooms with Andalusian flair, friendly owner and gorgeous location. I think, we fell in love with Tarifa and one of the reasons was this hotel.
Ask the owner for the restaurant recommendation - everything what was recommended were just perfect. Do not miss the restaurant on the another side of the street, they have really great steaks!
Already planing our vacation in Tarifa and Cortijo El Pozuelo will be our accommodation for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a great time in this typical Spanish cortijo. We were warmly welcomed by Irena who is a very sweet host. She gave us tips on where to eat, to shop and how to find the best beaches.

The house is surrounded by a huge garden where you can relax after a long day on the beach. The breakfast is also served in the garden (patio), if the wind allows it that is. The breakfast offers something for everyone: different sorts of bread, pastries, cheese, coffee, tea, yoghurt, fresh fruits etc. A very nice start of the day.

The house is almost on the Los Lances beach which for us was one of the most beautiful beaches in Tarifa: the whitest sand, clear blue water, lots of privacy (when we were there, we saw 1 or 2 people walking along the beach and that was it). Cows and horses stroll freely along the side of the beach.

In 1 minute you're in the town of Tarifa (by car). You can also use the mountainbikes from the Cortijo which will lead you along the beachside to Tarifa (15 minutes maybe). Recommended!

We had a superior room (huge!) with a separate living area. We were in the middle season (early june) and paid 100 euros per night (including breakfast) which was very reasonable. We also went to a hotel in Tarifa town, which is fun if you want to go out late, but we were so sad that we didn't stay in the cortijo for the entire time we were in Tarifa.

The only thing is that it was quite hard to find (no signs) so we passed it a couple of times before we actually found it.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra to stay in the superior rooms, they have a huge sitting area with couch, chair and extra bed/couch which will make your stay even more relaxed. They also have a microwave and a small fridge.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rianne25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Cortijo El Pozuelo was a wonderful stop during our tour of Spain. Manuel and Irene were so helpful and accomadating. Our daughter loved there dogs Maya, Flaca and Juanillo. We loved the breakfast spread and talking with other travelers. I did not take any pictures, however the washroom was beautiful. A very pleasent stay! We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a small hotel near the town of Tarifa, in the south of Spain. It's within walking distance of a wide and long beach facing the Atlantic ocean, and near the beaches of Bolonia and Punta Paloma, among others. The hotel offers charming, comfortable, and rustic accomodations, where one feels pretty much at home. The personnel are warm and friendly, in addition to being helpful. Breakfast is served in the patio (weather permitting!), where you can meet other travelers and feel almost as if you were part of a small community. I will be sure to visit the place again, whether alone or in good company! Really enjoyed the place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ditas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews