We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A high spot for us

Any experience involving wildlife is unpredictable, however FIRMM also do their research, so you... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
P3721SRchrism
via mobile
We saw Pilot Whales!!

We were had to be patient for the first 40 mins but it paid of we saw two families of Pilot... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
danceholly
,
Newcastle, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 496 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tarifa
from $169.05
More Info
from $51.75
More Info
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveler rating
339
96
37
12
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
96
37
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whales and dolphins hour trip marine mammals non profit tuna their natural habitat great trip common dolphins bottle nose dolphins great hour great boat big group these guys gibraltar strait information introduction
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 496 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2018

Booking the trip first of all was a pleasant experience. Kind staff full of good informations prior to arriving to Tarifa, great job guys! Before heading out to the Strait of Gibraltar and Atlantic, we were welcomed and given a great introduction to what to expect and to what is going on in the Strait of Gibraltar relating to the marina mammals. The dedication and the knowledge of the team and the job they do is admirable! Whale watching is going on at sea. In the nature. Hence, no guarantee that one will actually see the marine mammals, but we were fortunate to see both a few dolphins, Pilot whales, Orcas and even Fin whales. A great experience in all waysI I warmly recommend Fundacion Firmm :-) Special thanks to Bianca for the interesting and informative introduction before we went off to sea :-)

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank OlsenOfDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

I booked the trip with a possibility to see killer whales, so ended up on the 8 am tour from Tarifa. We ended up not seeing them, but saw a big group of pilot whales and a lot of dolphins along the way. Most interesting was also the explanations we got about why we probably didn’t see the orca’s, which type of marine wildlife you can see in the Strait of Gibraltar and how we still have a ot more work to do to protect the seas against plastics and other dangers. The best of all is that the animals are wild and free... I would highly recommend FIRMM and their boat tours!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Ankeroosendans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

A day before we aré excited booking the whale visión.But after 3 h of crousing We only saw birds around the boat.
THEY DO NOT RETURN THE MONEY.(cost 2.000ISK- 20 euros,by person).Only,you aré given the opcion of returning again ,with date infinitive .Or a visit to see photos of whales,(the en trance to the museum is cost 300ISK,- 3 euros).
In conclusión: If you aré very lucky ,you could see dome whale
I think,you have 1 posibility betwen 50 to see whales.
Play with you ilusions.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank luganes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliver s, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at FIRMM Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

You reviewed the wrong company. You confirmed us that you did the boat trip on the 06th of July. Firmm did not do any boat trips on that day because of the windy weather conditions. You promised to remove your comment as obviously you got confused and rated the wrong company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

We had a flexible schedule so we booked our trip 3 days before, on the day with the best weather. We took the two hour boat trip at 11am.
Picking up the tickets went perfectly, they speak several languages there, so it’s really accessible even if you don’t speak fluent English or Spanish. I heard German, French and Dutch besides English and of course Spanish.

We got a very interesting briefing on which animals we could see and a bit of background info on them (what they eat, how they migrate,...). Also got some information on how to make sure we treat our oceans and the animals in it right.

The boat tour itself was amazing. We saw two or three fin whales several times and we saw dolphins as well. Really cool and lots of photo opportunities!

Some info about the boat experience:
The boat is rather small and you’re out at sea so the waves hit the boat quite hard sometimes. I’ve been on several boats, but there’s a big difference between a big ship on quiet waters and a smallish boat out at sea. It’s not super scary or dangerous but you should be aware that it maybe a little ‘rockier’ than expected (especially for small kids or people with sensitive stomachs).

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank 241zahras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Professional and good boats. We saw pilot whales, bottlenose dolphins at play, and a megapod of smaller dolphins. I wish they had an upper viewing deck, but it was a good cruise nonetheless.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank SunnytheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews