We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good views”
Review of Hostal Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Africa
Ranked #5 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value, good views”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Brightly painted rooms offer good value, as well as the boisterous welcome from staff and easy reservation service via email. The terrace is a winner as well. If I could have a special starring system for terraces, 5 stars. "I an see Africa from here". The rooms arent huge but clean and nicely done. Easy walk from the bus station through a medina-esque gate and a quick right and you are there. Big ups for Hostal Africa.

Room Tip: Terrace doesnt open until 9am and watch your head on door frame going outside. Not for people over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elmo463670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    54
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
67
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malaga
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night 21st Oct. Best value for money in Tarifa, i have stayed at various other hotels and hostals in Tarifa, and this is the cheapest - and far superior to others, its an old house which has been turned into a hostal, so you get chance to see what the big old houses really looked like, with the central patio by light, beautiful old floor tiles, arched doorways etc etc . Situated in a quiet street in the old town, you can drive to it to unload your luggage, then park elsewhere, easy to find.
Very clean rooms, some small, some big, basic but attractive finishing touches, you can have en suite or shared bathroom.
The best bit is the roof terrace, from which you can see Africa, and a big covered chill out area with lots of couches, very peaceful and relaxing, free wifi from this terrace. No kitchen, but you can bring your own food in and eat it on the terrace.- this closes at midnight, which is good, as it means no noisy groups sat out there talking half the night.
The owner is a lady from Bilbao, and she speaks very good English, - someone commented the owners dont speak english, - maybe her husband doesnt, - but she does, so no problem communicating. Very friendly and helpful, will definitly stay here next time in Tarifa.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms - from the peep we had - seem bigger, and no one above, which is good, as they are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizaMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wonderful room, wonderful location, great staff and laundry service! Pretty much everything we could have wanted. The lounge upstairs on the roof was especially nice but it would be nice to have wifi everywhere rather than just up there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brettohland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed for a few days in Hostal Africa in Tarifa. The beauty of the place stunned me.
The colours in my room and its tasteful furniture just enchanted me and created a lovely
energy. Not to mention the gorgeous view out of my window. What a place!!
I felt like in a dream. The lady of the house was very nice and helpful. Though she did not
speak English and I had no Spanish but my wee dictionary, we got on so well.
A gem in the middle of the old town of Tarifa, unforgettable!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsmailIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for places to sleep and I was surprised to see that in Tarifa all the prices are a little higher than in the rest of Andalusia, we found this hostel for a good price and I have to say that for us was very ok, the room was clean and nice, everything worked well except for a water shortage which affected us for some time. No air conditioning was available but we didn't need it, the temperature was nice for us, they have a nice chill out terrace where you have some nice views of the city.
Actually the place is very nice and not so expensive as many of the others in the city so I can recommend it for people who don't want to pay more than 70 € for a double room; of course, forget the luxury.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_the_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is a great place, with very smart-equipped rooms, clean, great views, very helpful and friendly owners (even though they don not speak English). Just great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kajtimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

this hostal was perfect. The owner only speaks Spanish but that is perfectly ok with us. Only potential problem is noise because all the rooms are based off of one spiral staircase you can hear everyone, upon check-in he asks you to please respect others. Other than that beautiful place (well beautiful as far as hostals go) and extremely budget friendly as is most of Tarifa. wonderful holiday, would go back and stay in this exact place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyGolightly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Tarifa Sulok
Hostel Tarifa Sulok
#4 of 52 in Tarifa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Residencia Tarifa
La Residencia Tarifa
#2 of 52 in Tarifa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Africa

Property: Hostal Africa
Address: Calle Maria Antonia Toledo 12, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Africa Hotel Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing