We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Africa
Ranked #5 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

this hostal was perfect. The owner only speaks Spanish but that is perfectly ok with us. Only potential problem is noise because all the rooms are based off of one spiral staircase you can hear everyone, upon check-in he asks you to please respect others. Other than that beautiful place (well beautiful as far as hostals go) and extremely budget friendly as is most of Tarifa. wonderful holiday, would go back and stay in this exact place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyGolightly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    54
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
65
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here one night, room 9, at the top of several flights of stairs (no elevator) and just off the lovely roof terrace. The room was very basic but clean and colorful. Wifi worked on the roof and in our room, probably because we were so close. The hotel is centrally located in the very appealing town of Tarifa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

The decor looks like the hostal was scrubbed and painted for our arrival. Located within the old city wall it is about a 10 minute walk from the dock, or the bus station. There are lots of steps to negotiate and our room was on the small side with a high tiny window. The terrace on the roof was amazing. We brought dinner back to eat on the roof - very Mediterranean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bily_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

The decor of the lobby and rooms was beautiful, and the room itself (a double with private bath for me and my husband) was simple but adequate. My favorite part was the roof terrace, which had a reading room with couches, outdoor tables and chairs, and a stunning view of the sea and Africa (hence the name, I guess!). The terrace was only open from 9 am to midnight so that people wouldn't party up there and disturb other guests. The staff was really nice and friendly, although they too are only available between 9 am and midnight. The hostal was in the charming old town, near many restaurants and within a short walk of the ferry and the beaches. This place is an excellent deal for the budget traveler who wants something nicer than a youth hostel but who doesn't need any frills or luxuries. Great little place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbeverb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

I stayed here on recommendation from friends and it was a lovely place and location, but... we asked for a double and they didn't have one, and me and two kids sharing two singles was not at all comfortable, the window pane was cracked, the hot water didn't work at first, the bed broke the minute we got in there and she had to bring an extra leg... I asked for an extra towel and was told it wasn't possible...

i am a hardened traveller but it just was no fun at all staying there so we moved round the corner to casa la favorita - for 20 euro more a night there was enough space to sleep, a TV. soaps in the bathroom, you know... comfortable and fun.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGOtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Great place to stay in Tarifa. We hadn't booked ahead but called the day we arrived. We were able to have a triple room although we were two people - she was nice enough to only charge us for a double. Staff was friendly and very helpful in helping us find accomodations for the remainder of our stay (as they were fully booked for the next few days). Central to shops and walking distance to the beach. Tarifa is a beautiful city and a must if in Andalucia. This place was basic, clean and had great service. Walking distance to all the little shops and cafes in Tarifa. Would stay here again. Loved it! Nice terrace too with a wonderful view of all of Tarifa and the beach. The rooms don't have AC, but as it is a costal city it is much cooler.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

My Mom and I stayed in Hostal Africa for one night in April 2010. The staff were so friendly and tolerated our terrible Spanish! The rooms were very basic, but comfortable and decorated in bright African colors. The roof terrace was really great, but when we stayed there it was so windy that we could hardly enjoy it! Tarifa is a very small place but Hostal Africa is still in a great location for shops, restaurants, and the beach. There is no parking at the hotel, but you can park on any of the streets that aren't marked with parking limits for free and there are plenty of these within a five-minute walk of the hotel. If you are looking for a very relaxed and basic place to stay while enjoying the beach, this is the place!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Tarifa Sulok
Hostel Tarifa Sulok
#4 of 52 in Tarifa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Residencia Tarifa
La Residencia Tarifa
#2 of 52 in Tarifa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Africa

Property: Hostal Africa
Address: Calle Maria Antonia Toledo 12, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Africa Hotel Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing