We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Windy Pot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Melting Pot Hostel Tarifa
Ranked #11 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Windy Pot”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I was probably there at a strange time as there were really strong winds, so there was no surfing/kitesurfing and no ferries to Morocco. Most people were stopping in Tarifa to go to Morocco, so the vibe was a bit dull as everyone was disappointed. However the hostel is fine, nothing special to be honest, but OK. Annoyingly though I didn't have a shower for two days as there was no hot water. And hand held showers? Really? The beds were fine, particularly if you're a fan of your Gran's bedspreads and blankets. The communal area and bar is actually really nice and a good place to hang with the hippies, I mean fellow travellers. Staff were very helpful too, though failed to tell me the ferries to Morocco were cancelled when I checked in and booked two nights specifically to go there for the day. All in all, average my friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IronManTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    37
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
4
21
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I was here with a group of friends in the beginning of December. We were on a road trip through the south of Spain. I really enjoyed staying in this hostel. It felt like one big family. There were a lot of surfers in the hostel which only made it nicer. It has a hippy kind of feeling. The dorms are not that special but it is a very cozy hostel. The kitchen was a bit small but ok. We had one bathroom in a dorm for 8 people so it took a long time. But the bathroom was nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewii_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The directions from the bus station were good. The hostel staff were helpful and friendly. I had booked a room to myself, and it was fine. There were lots of cafes, restaurants, bars, independent shops within a few hundred yards. I was going to Morocco, and was very happy that the ferry port was just a few minutes' walk down the street. The ferries from Tarifa take you into Tangier itself, not to the port which is called Tanger Med; so it's better to go from Tarifa than from Algeciras; so, in every way, The Melting Pot at Tarifa was an excellent choice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phllnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Having booked a trip last minute to Tarifa, the melting pot seemed like an ideal place to stay having seen the photos of the building and the location.

The booking process was quick and easy and the directions from the main bus station were plain and simple.

It is not a hotel it is a hostel so with this in mind the rooms were fine for a night or two. I was welcomed by the staff who took an interest in what I was up to. They helped with my onward plans and told me about places to eat in the town which would not be full of tourists.

The beds were comfortable and the rooms were in a good condition. It is quite a small 'cosy' hostel and as has been mentioned, there are limited shower facilities. I, however did not have to queue for the shower, I didnt have to share it and it produced hot running water, pretty much what a shower should do, I suggest.

It is not the cheapest of hostels but seemed to be friendly, clean and reliable and would happily use it again.

I stayed in the dorm room so can not comment on the private bedrooms but the fun of a hostel is the dorm I guess, I would use a hotel if I needed a private room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonOnleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed at Melting Pot, Tarifa for 2 nights and it was great choice. The hostel is located near the town centre, 5 mins to the coast.
Comfortable and clean rooms, spacious living room and kitchen, breakfast, lockers, internet access - that's what you get for really reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kspr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
161 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Spent 2 nights in this hostel whilst visiting Tarifa. I booked online with hostelworld, something I wouldn't normally do as I'm totally against the idea of paying to make a reservation. But as it's the only real hostel in town and it was the weekend I thought I'd better do so. Also I think 20 Euros is a lot for a dorm bed but I guess that's the result of the monopoly they have. Upon arrival I saw my name written on a board outside welcoming me which was a nice touch.

The girl on reception who greeted me was friendly and welcoming as were almost all the other staff I met. All apart from an older man who I assume was the owner.

The dorm on the ground floor was a little cramped with 6 beds but ok. There were individual lockers and an en suite bathroom. The rest of the hostel was agreeable with a nice lounge, kitchen (bread and spreads breakfast included in the price) and a small terrace upstairs with a partial view of Morocco across the water. Th wi fi connection was pretty good throughout. On a security note there was often nobody at the front desk and anyone could have walked in off the street. This combined with the fact that often people did not lock the dorm could be a concern.

The hostel location is good, just outside the old town, between it and the beach. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

One evening around 00.30 I wanted to sit quietly and read a book but found that the upstairs terrace was locked, I went to sit in the lounge only to be told by the owner that that was off limits too after midnight. So bear in mind that if you want to stay up late you have to go out. But I suppose this prevents the drunken party which has kept me awake late into the night in many other hostels.

Overall I would recommend this hostel. It was refeshingly laid back after the more commercial and regulated hostels further north.

A further word of warning: I did a day trip to Tangier organised though a local travel agency. Whilst I don't regret it as I got to see a glimpse of North Africa I was a bit disappointed. The tour is very much geared towards leading you around shops where you will be pressued to buy carpets, spices etc. I had read about a beautiful palace located within the Medina but we did not see it and our guide stated it wasn't worth seeing, I later google imaged it and would indeed have liked to have visited it rather than the shops I was taken to. We also did a camel 'ride' (in a small circle in a car park) and had lunch in a restaurant with live music, belly dancing and good food.

Just so you know what you can expect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Nice and friendly staff. the italian men working there is really gentile:) thank u. i had the 5 dorms room on the top. The green room. Was a bit too small..but anyway fine. The is a little terrace from where if u are lucky u can see Marocco:) The place is clean and the brakfast is really well prepared with love and italian hand:)) Closed to the beach and centre. A bit far from the bus station..but u can take a walk..heheh

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valepazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
5.7 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
438 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#7 of 19 in Tarifa
179 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#9 of 19 in Tarifa
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
South Hostel Tarifa
South Hostel Tarifa
#1 of 48 in Tarifa
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melting Pot Hostel Tarifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melting Pot Hostel Tarifa

Property: The Melting Pot Hostel Tarifa
Address: Calle Turriano Gracil 5, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location:The hostel is located in the center, very close to the famous and beautiful Tarifa beach, with its views to Africa, its white sand dunes, and turquoise waters, a true wonder… The hostel:We have completely renovated a typical Andalusian chalet, to make it as practical and comfortable for the traveler: a large fully fitted kitchen, computers for guest's use, WIFI throughout the place, nice terraces (and one of them overlooking the strait and Morocco), large living room, etc… We’ve got a place where you can keep your bags on check-out day. Breakfast and sheets are also included in the price. In addition, we also have free maps of the city, board games, and the best information and recommendations on Tarifa and its surroundings.Rooms:Our rooms are spacious, with 5, 6, or 8 beds. The beds are new and comfortable, and there are individual lockers for security. Cleanliness is an important issue for us. We have hair dryers and reading lights should you need these.Activities:W collaborate with various companies in the town so that you can take advantage of the best prices if you want to try activities like kitesurf, windsurf, scuba diving, mountain excursions, horse riding, parachuting, etc…Staff:In addition to Spanish are staff speak various languages, some better than others… we can help you in English, French, and Italian. You’ll find a member of our staff 24 hours a day for any need you may have. See you soon in Tarifa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Melting Pot Hostel Tarifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing