We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Visit”
Review of Chiringuito de Ayo

Chiringuito de Ayo
Ranked #92 of 395 Restaurants in Nerja
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have visited Ayo before when I was in Nerja with friends. I was now here with the family and wanted them to experience this lovely restaurant.

Firstly the location, it sits on the beach at Playa Burriana in Nerja. Basically it is at the end of a long line of restaurants and cafes at the further point from the access road.

The paella, the speciality I suppose, is cooked in front of the restaurant in huge circular pans on an open wood fire. Paella is 6.50 euros for an adult portion and you can make return trips. They also have an extensive menu of other main courses and plenty of salads and side dishes however I have only had the paella. The rice is well cooked and theres plenty of chicken, massive prawns and clams etc.

We visited on a Sunday and got there just before 1pm when it was about 3/4 full. Ten minutes later there was a massive queue with customers waiting for a table to become free. My wife found this a bit irritating but It didn't really bother me. I don't think you can fault a restaurant where they are queueing out the door!!

We had 3 x adult portions of paella, 2 x childrens portions plus drinks, bread, tax and tip for 44 euros and we were all stuffed! Not bad really. The only downside is because it is very busy service is a bit chaotic. We didn't have to wait long for anything as there is plenty of staff but they were rushing all over the place which made it seem a bit disorganised, although I'm sure there's a system there really!

As we left we walked along the beach passing all the other restaurants and cafes. Lunch service was well on the way but Ayo was the only full restaurant, none of the others even came close (there were a couple that were half full). I guess that speaks volumes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blue7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    427
    281
    121
    112
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Freshly cooked paella and you can eat as much as you want. Other meals are good value and the portions can be rather large. Service is excellent. They could teach us Brits a thing or two about how to run an efficient restaurant.
Can get busy with the locals, so must be good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
568 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Still the only place to eat Paella in Nerja”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

After The Balcon, Ayo's is the iconic image of Nerja. Located at the eastern end of Burriana Beach the sight of Ayo complete with shin guards and pony tail bent over his bubbling metre wide paella pan draws tourists with cameras as well as those with hunger.
Eat as much paella as you can for a few euros, wash it down with beer or sangria and enjoy the bustling atmosphere. If you want to be sure of a table, get there before 1.00pm and earlier on a Sunday.
No visit to Nerja is ever complete without at least one lunchtime at Ayo's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgsnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best paella in Spain”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay in Nerja and had paella both times. It is cooked over a wood fire on the beach and tastes amazing. It is all you can eat for 6.50 euros. They usually only serve paella at lunch but once a week in the summer they have a special paella and flamenco show on Wednesday nights. The menu stays the same but there is great entertainment for several hours (Spanish guitar and 4 dancers). It is best to reserve ahead for the evening shows. This is not a fancy restaurant, but if you want the best paella in a beach setting, this is THE place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tara_m04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good paella right on the beach!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went back to Ayo several times over a week for lunch. It was super convenient from the beach and the Paella was really. It wasn't the best I ate in Spain but it was worth going back for (especially since it is a quick beach lunch and you can go back for a second plate for free). The Swordfish was also very good as was the house salad. Prices are reasonable and service is super fast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ridermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiringuito de Ayo also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Chiringuito de Ayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing