We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best gourmet restaurant in town”

Sollun Restaurante - Pintada 23
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $62
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“best gourmet restaurant in town”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you really want to eat great (not just "good") food in Nerja, then Sollun is the best place to go. We were there several times and Juan Quintanilla is a great Chef with great dishes and variations of food. As well the wines are great. We loved the local "Bodegas Betomiz" wines a lot. Very friendly, nice ambiente. All dishes are explained in details.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank senormisti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    30
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of few classy places to eat in Nerja”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There are many restaurants in Nerja to choose from but if you like something special with a bit of style then your choice is limited. Sollun is one of those rare special restaurants in Nerja.
We arrived quite late in the evening so some of the dishes had finished (demonstrating that Juan uses fresh daily supplies unlike many restaurants) but he offered delicious alternatives designed for our own personal taste which made it even better. He even recommended an alternative wine to our initial selection which was fantastic and actually cheaper than the one we had selected.
Overall a fantastic experience and we will certainly return next year.
P.s Really good that no children's menu - too nice to have kids running around.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent staff”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I had our last meal in Nerja at Sollun after being unable to get a table at Oliva and but we were very impressed on all counts. The food was exceptional, the staff very attentive so we could relax and enjoy our meal. The food was finely presented by Juan and the wine glasses were never empty! Overall, a great experience. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A place for true foodies”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were recommended here by friends who advised us to ask for the tasting menu. This small restaurant is owned by Juan who obviously has a huge passion for the food he creates.
A previous reviewer had complained about the lack of kids menu. How ridiculous! This is food for grown ups. A special meal to be savoured over and enjoyed. We were specifically looking for this and it was exactly what we got.
We started with a delicious glass of chilled cream sherry while Juan asked us our likes and dislikes so he could create a meal for us. We then had six courses of exquisite food, served to us by him personally, describing exactly what each dish was. We finished with a glass of chilled red dessert wine which complemented our chocolate dessert perfectly.
Our wine was served by an attentive waitress at exactly the right intervals.
The evening was perfect and finished off our holiday. I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant but would say book a table inside. It is quieter and air conditioned as opposed to eating outside on the busy street.
Not a cheap option at €50 per person plus wine but worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fifi090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Should be best in Nerja”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

While Oliva is good, this place has better food. Worst thing is the location!
The owner puts his heart and soul into his food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sollun Restaurante - Pintada 23 also viewed

 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing