We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in Nerja!”
Review of Marina Turquesa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Turquesa
Ranked #13 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Nerja
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Marina Turquesa villas and apartments could not have been better for our stay. As a group of 6 girls (aged 23-32) we had been looking for ages for a villa in Nerja when we came across this complex just slightly out of town. Our villa was perfect for our needs and to a very high standard. We particularly enjoyed the fact that we were not overlooked at all and had a view back up the mountains from our own private plunge pool! We also did not want to hire a car during our short stay and so having helpful and friendly staff on site to book us taxis certainly made our whole experience a lot easier. Staff were also excellent at recommending places to eat and we had a fantastic meal at Pinocchio's in town which I would throughly recommend. The complex not only has great staff but is spotlessly clean and in a very peacecful location within walking distance to a supermarket and the beach which has some lovely lunchtime restaurants. The main town is a short taxi ride away or 30 mins walk but taxis were cheap and easy to find. I hope to return to Nerja with my partner in the future as it is such a lovely place with the friendliest people and I would definitely stay at Marina Turquesa again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lou2386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Marina Turquesa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 99 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

Booked a 5 night stay in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Marina Turquesa for myself, my partner and my best friend uncertain of what would await us when we got to Nerja (none of us had ever visited the Costa Del Sol before).

Since a flight into Gibraltar was cheaper than flying into Malaga we elected to pick up a hire car in La Linea and drive along the coast to Nerja. What an education! The stretch between Gibraltar and Malaga was one of the most unpleasant, over developed concrete jungles any of us have ever seen. Travelling further East beyond Malaga, however, development has been more sensitive and whilst Nerja cannot be described as a small quaint village, it has a traditional, comfortable feel of old-fashioned Spain, is low lying and is the perfect place to go if one is looking to avoid the horrors of the Benidorm-style resort.

As a person who spends the majority of his working life staying in four or five star hotels, I am extremely fussy about accommodation and was somewhat trepidatious about the Marina Turquesa having read some unfavourable reviews on here. In all honesty I cannot understand what the negative reviewers might have had an issue with. Perhaps they were expecting ritzy accommodation for a fraction of the price. The Marina Turquesa is in a quiet setting on the edge of Nerja but offering easy access to the town either by car or, for those who are more agile, by foot. Burriana Beach is just 5 minutes away by car or a 15 minute walk downhill (easier going down than up!). The apartments are beautifully equipped with everything one could need. Furnishing reflects modern Spanish taste, with cool tiled marble floors throughout. Central Heating and air conditioning offer excellent temperature control. The apartment is SPOTLESSLY CLEAN and the maid comes in to change towels and bed linen every 3 days. None of us had any issue with the comfort of the beds (they were firm but perfectly adequate, permitting an sound night's sleep).

The apartment complex itself is delightful. We found it extremely peaceful and it was a joy to sit on the balcony of apartment #7 at all times of day and enjoy the view over the pool up to the mountains above Nerja. The pool area is shady and (once again) immaculately maintained, with cypresses, palms and bird-of-paradise flowers surrounding it. Comfy sun loungers and parasols are provided. If it is too chilly to swin outside, a gorgeous inside pool is available for guests to make use of. The Supersol supermarket is just 5 minutes walk away offering an excellent array of Spanish, British and German products.

As one who was always extremely wary of holidaying on the Costa Del Sol, Nerja as a resort and in particular the Marina Turquesa apartments have turned me into a fan of this lovely place. If graded according to British accommodation standards, this resort would have been awarded four stars rather than the measly three that it currently has.The staff at the complex are delightful and we shall hopefully be returning next winter.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Valkyrie1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment number 10 on last week of october.On arrival problems with our door key card unable to gain access, was sorted out then but on 2 other occasions it failed.Apartment was clean and had all the electricial appliances you need.Unfortunately some maintence work is urgently required . Two electrical points were hanging out of wall with wires exposed in the bedroom. Shower mixer tap was loose which made it difficult to control the flow of water.Shower head was loose .Bathroom window was loose with just a temporary loose lock.
There is a charge for Wi Fi 10 euro but this was waivered as we were informed the signal was weak.
There is a charge for the sauna 10 euro per half hour.
The indoor pool was closed for maintence, surely summertime would be more appropriate for this work.
These apartments are quite expensive and we felt very bad value.
We love Nerja and go at least twice a year but will give this place a miss in future.

Room Tip: Apartment 10 due to its location its terrace gets no sun in autumn/ winter.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank curtainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at marina turquesa. The staff is very friendly, the appartments are spacious and the swimming pool and garden area was ideal with two small children. The distance to the appartment from the pool is even excellent within baby monitor reach so we could enjoy a little quiet time at the pool when the kids were taking their afternoon nap. The appartments are cleaned every three days and they even had a real mattrass for the baby cot. The surroundings are great, a 5 minute drive to the beach with very nice restaurants and small bars right there on the beach! And the city of Nerja is beautiful as well, not overcrowded with tourists, it had a very pleasant feel about it.
A few points of critism though: the beds are terrible, not comfortable at all, not what you would expect from appartments like these. The bathroom is in desperate need of refurbishment, it was very small and not a pleasant experience with a baby and a 2 year old.
Overall a very nice holiday but the beds and the dated bathroom will keep us from booking a second time.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground level appartment if you are travelling with children.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leontine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

have just returned from our second visit to marina turquesa and have already booked for next year. we stayed in a 3 bed villa with private plunge pool which was lovely and meant we could have a more socialable stay than in hotel rooms. its a quiet and well maintained complex. the fact that you can book a villa on a nightly basis is very rare and worked out well for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at these apartments , on arrival we were asked if we would like to upgrade to a 2 bedroomed apartment as one was available . this was great as it gave us plenty space , the apartments were of a good standard and usually we had the pool to ourselves . Everywhere in and around the complex was kept clean and tidy and the reception staff very friendly . I would definately visit here again and would recommend others to try it too

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have just returned from a four night stay at Marina Turquesa apartments and loved it. We stayed in a one bedroomed apartment with our 13 year old son and there was plenty of room for us all. The accomodation is very comfortable, clean and well equipped.The reception staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble and their recomendations for where to find the best Tapas, fish, paella etc restaurants were spot on. They will book taxi's for you, advise where to go and what to do.

The location is great as it's a little way out of town which means it's very peaceful, though if you want the beach or town it's only a twenty minute walk away. The supermarket is a few minutes away, as is a tennis complex which also has 'paddle' courts, (a mix of squash and tennis). The facilities at the Marina Turquesa are very good; indoor and outdoor pools, a gym, a pool table, Internet and small shop. The staff speak very good English. The other holiday makers were a mix of Dutch, Spanish, French, German and English and were either families with young children, couples, families with older children; it's ideal for any age.
We will book again for next year as it's a perfect base to explore a beautiful part of Spain and there is a lot to do and see in the area.
We chose not to hire a car and used buses and taxi's instead which worked well for us. The public transport is excellent and not expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyPetersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
2.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,821 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Turquesa

Address: Calle Cartama n0 2, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Nerja
Price Range: $89 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marina Turquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Turquesa Hotel Nerja
Marina Turquesa Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing