We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ups and downs!”
Review of Hostal Abril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostal Abril
Ranked #4 of 32 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at hostel Abril in march this year and it was not quite what we were expecting!
We were put in an apartment over the road from the main block where we had to climb 32 steps to get there! We are an older couple and reasonably fit but after walking back from the centre which was uphill my husband did have trouble with his legs. The apartment was quite nice and spacious but the shower was tiny. There was a roof terrace advertised but we were told there was none and the garden was closed for refurbishment therefore there was nowhere to sit in the sun apart from a bar/cafe or the beach which was a very steep climb. The receptionists did not speak English and it was hard to make them understand. The apartment was only cleaned once in the week and we had to ask for clean towels! I did like Nerja but will not be going back to these apartments and cannot really understand why everyone like it so much!

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daphne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 191 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Making a whistle stop visit to Granada and back via Nerja to Gibraltar we stayed for one night at the Hostal Abril. The manager was welcoming and charming, advising us on the best places to park. Situated on the edge of the tourist area it provides easy access to the main places of interest, town centre beaches and Balcon de Europa.

We were looking for a simple, clean and comfortable hostal at a decent price and this was what we found. The room had tea and coffee-making facilities, which is often not the case in Spain, and does not offer food. However, Hostal Abril is not far from a mix of restaurants and bars offering both local and international food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macbroughty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here recently in Novemeber 2013, It was wonderful! The owners were extremely nice and the hotel's condition was superb! The rooms were of excellent quality and were overall very clean and well presented. The Hostal is located conveniently near to a supermarket, and the main shopping streets of Nerja, just a 3-5 minute walk to the Balcon de Europe! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank appeleyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stated here last week, end of October. Very clean hostel, staff great, rooms cleaned everyday! Good location 5 mins from center of town 2 mins from bus station. Will be staying again soon. Only very slight criticism, shower was quite small or may be I was too big!! But try this place it's excellent and great value

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mentalmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our decision to stay in Nerjas was spur of the moment as we had been on the road for about 4 weeks and needed to recharge our batteries in a low key town where there were'nt a lot of sites to see. Our decision paid off when we were able to get an apartment at Abril. Everything from he pleasant helpful staff to the nice sized apartment made the stay perfect for us.
We chose Nerja because it hasn't been over devolped like most of the southern coast of Spain and if we looked hard enough we could find tabernas that didn't offer "English" food.....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richmondfontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed for one night. Very clean, comfortable hostal with all basic amenities. Lovely room and I learned to love black tea-kettle available in room. Great location, just 5-10 mins from Balcon de Europa, so quiet. Helpful friendly staff/owners. Good recommendation for dining. Check out Meson Antonio in calle Diputacion

Room Tip: I was at the back on 2nd floor, with a balcony, but no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george642238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 6 night in June for a friends wedding. We spotted in online and the rooms looked lovely. We are not big on breakfast so no food on site did not bother us at all. the rooms are so clean and well kept as is the rest of the hotel, the hotel is very central 5-7 mins but you win out as its just far evough out that it is so quiet even if you have a street facing room. we had friends staying in the square being woken '7:30 with delivery trucks! Honestly great little hotel a gem, so clean, price was brilliant value, no pool but we beach people.
the only thing i would say is that the shower cubicle was a little small but water pressure was brill, bathroom soo clean and modern.
Will return how could we not with the prices!! for two people we paid less than some couples had paid for one person in the square!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunskihol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Abril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Abril

Address: Calle Pintada 124, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range: $34 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Abril 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New and modern hostal located at the main Street of Nerja Town. Just a few minutes walking to the Balcon de Europa and the Salón and Calahonda Beaches. The hostal has double with single use, doble bedroom or family rooms. All the rooms has completed bathroom en-suite with hair dryer, flat screem television, air conditining, central heatin, free safe deposit box. There is a terraze / solarium with sunbeds where our clients can have sun. Free Wiffi in all areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Abril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Abril Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing