We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor water quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Burriana Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nerja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burriana Beach
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Poor water quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I Have been visiting Nerja for twenty years and there is definitely a problem with sewage in the sea ( treatment plant still not built). We only go in the sea when the water looks visibly clear and the muck clearing boats are not out. I have seen a lot of sewage in the sea ( basically everything you could imagine appearing out of a sewage pipe). It seems that it is tide related, but that is only my best guess. They need to get this sorted ASAP. This year we saw lots of people running to the sea and then stopping at the last minute because of the obvious unpleasant water quality. On other days the water looked ok and we felt comfortable swimming.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank dbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    3
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent two weeks here, every day at Buriana beach. After a few days I picked up an ear infection which I assume is down to the quality of the sea water. We noticed that every day a boat would travel the length of the beach with nets on either side. I found out later that this is to collect the scum floating on the surface. Im guessing they never got around to building the sewage system for Nerja they have been talking about for years and are pumping raw sewage into the sea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank gormanpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nerja hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Pros

-Beach is not as crowded during the week
-It is regularly cleaned.
-It has a good accessibility.

Cons
-Poor quality of the water (raw sewage in the sea) - I saw it every day
-People are afraid of swimming there after such incidents

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lukas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one week, July this year. Nice appartments, but overprized. No routines for cleaning during the week, rubbish weren't taken away. Surrondings ; situated by the very crowded Burriana beach, restaurant/souvenirshops at first floor. Because of that , noisy, especially at evening time. Short walk into Nerja, 10-15 minutes. Burriana beach, not for people preferring quiet holidays..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hilde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We loved the look of the beach of burriana and the bars and the tapas bars that run along side the beach but what no one tells you is that the sea on most days well when i was there 1st 2weeks in sep 2012 is that there is raw sewaga in the sea and that a boat has to come along to scoop it out every day this really should be sorted out so dissapointing

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank mort8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in Capistrano Playa in a wonderful villa, booked with flights separate. Wonderful pool for residents. Had a great time in the waves in the sea first couple of days and first week. Second week, lines of dirty brown stuff started appearing in the sea, accompanied by the retreat of a lot of swimmers.

Last few days, the various contents of what you would normally see in the bin by the toilet started appearing in the sea plastic bags, personal hygiene stuff etc.

Our family got back to UK with daughter suffering bad diarrhea. Myself and daughter both had slightly odd feeling tummies after first week and now we suspect we know why.

Having Googled "Burriana Beach pollution", we've now seen quite a few comments.
We booked our holiday partly because Nerja was supposed to have some sort of 'blue flag' beaches or equivalent.

What a mockery that the Spanish "Q" rating has been given to the beach.

If you go, make sure your hotel or whatever has a great pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank bobrally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Have a drink on the far end, but say no to Ayo's restaurant. Mixed beach of locals and tourists, very full, lots of umbrellas, chairs, etc obstructing true enjoyment of the beach but lovely none the less. Lots of good waves if the water is warm enough to enter. Topless is acceptable!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiquiHerrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Mar
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#18 of 38 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jose Cruz Hotel
Jose Cruz Hotel
#34 of 38 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playamaro
Hotel Playamaro
#29 of 38 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burriana Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burriana Beach

Property: Burriana Beach
Address: urbanizacion El Litoral 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Burriana Beach Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing