We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doing a good job”
Review of Nerja Donkey Sanctuary - CLOSED

Nerja Donkey Sanctuary
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“Doing a good job”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very small Donkey Sanctuary on the outskirts of Nerja, about a 15 minute walk from the Balcon area. The sanctuary is situated next to a builders yard on quite a small plot. There are a few Horses, a couple of Mules, several Donkeys, pot bellied pigs and a couple of dogs. It looks like they will attempt to house anything that comes their way. We visited on a Sunday and it was quite busy, as such we did not get to speak to any of the staff, who mainly appeared to be volunteers.
All the animals were in good condition, but as visitors are encouraged to feed the animals (apart from a few that had Do Not Feed signs up), the animals are quite food orientated.
If you like animals, it is good to visit and support a local charity, they do not charge an admission, so please give a donation. It was pleasing to see, both on going and leaving, locals and visitors carrying food donations to the sanctuary.
It is a shame that we visited at a busy time as I would have liked to have found out how they get the animals and how they rehome them, which I assume they do.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    99
    20
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A must for animal lovers. Take the children for some fun.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have visited the Donkey Sanctuary a few times. Always a fun visit.

The volunteers do a brilliant job with the donkeys, horses, pot bellied pigs and wild boar.

Children love feeding the donkeys. And where else can you feed big pigs? One other poster was right however in suggesting that you wear your old jeans. It is comical to be followed around and get nudged on the legs or bum by hungry pigs looking for more.

Take a big bag of carrots and your stale bread to feed the donkeys. And do take some money as a contribution towards the running costs. It is great to be able to get in free but any contribution is really appreciated. You can also buy T shirts and fridge magnets.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AvrilNerja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Animals are nice”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The animals look to be well cared for and the volunteers do a good job, but generally we found the staff miserable and quite unfriendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rayoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit if you are an animal lover like me...”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We visit the sanctuary a couple of times a year.. The staff do an amazing job of looking after all kinds of animals, not just donkeys and horses. We always take a big bag of carrots and some bread. They dont charge anything to get in, but I urge everyone with a heart to donate as much as they can spare. They couldnt run this fantastic charity without our help. Its a great way to spend a couple of hours and the animals are so friendly. But you will want to take them all home...Keep up the excellent work. See you again in August... :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton on Sea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Do go!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Only a little place but a nice visit and great fun. Don't wear pale clothes as the Pigs do nudge the back of your legs to make you give them more food!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iloverod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nerja Donkey Sanctuary also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing