We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos Pepe Mesa
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

What a hidden gem, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, always greeting you with a smile and an ¡Hola!
After a very speedy check in, we were taken upstairs and were greeted by a very pleasant surprise indeed. Behind the hotel's small Andalucian facade, was an incredible myriad of corridors and staircases all decorated in typical white and blue tiles finished off with plant pots containing Geraniums, Petunias and other plants making it look absolutely stunning. On entering the apartment there was a small bedroom to the left containing two single beds and a large built in wardrobe with plenty of hangers and space. In front of the entrance was a small but adequate bathroom and to the right was a long lounge area with sofa bed, easy chair, coffee table and tv unit with a small LCD HD tv on which you could receive all the Engish channels. As you enter the lounge, to the left there was a kitchenette, decorated in red and white tiles and a breakfast bar with 3 high stools. The kitchenette is very well appointed with a toaster, microwave, 4 plate hob and fridge/freezer and lots of cutlery, mugs, plates and utensils. There was no kettle at the time but after i asked for one, one was provided straight away, no problem.
As you come out of the apartment and go upstairs to the next level, you find two sun terraces, which are absolute sun traps, complete with sunbeds and pads, the front terrace overlooks the sea and also has a plunge pool for cooling off which is an absolute godsend in the usual high tempratures.
The hotel also has a restaurant but at the time of our stay it seemed to be closed although the owner has opened up a new restaurant down at the beach.
Please be aware that there is no lift so it would not suit anyone with walking difficulties.
It is ten minutes walk to Burriana beach and 5 minutes walk into town.
The hotel was an absolute pleasure to stay at and we will definately be staying there again, as i said at the start it is a gem of a place !!

Tips

Burriana beach (short cut) - turn left out of the hotel, walk down to the fountain, cross over and walk past the Parador hotel on your right, go down the passageway and this takes you down to the beach.


Good food

Bar Uno - only open until 3:00pm, turn right out of hotel and it is just past Sinatra's on the corner.(good breakfast and snacks)

Mirasol - bottom of Calle Castilla Perez (try the pork skewer, unbelievable),
The Codfather - on Calle Mediterraneo (great fish and chips),
La Tahona - (tapas),
The Dragon - on Calle Diputación (good Chinese with a budget menu),
Coach and Horses - centre of town on Almirante Ferrandiz or Post Office street, to find this, turn right out of the hotel, just after Sinatra's bar turn left, follow it round through the narrow alley and keep walking past the Haveli Indian Restaurant and the Coach and Horses is on your right just past the ice cream bar.(good home cooked food with generous portions, the ribs on a Wednesday are absolutely amazing and would fill anyone)
Ayo's - If you want authentic paella cooked in front of you then you have to go to Ayo's on Burriana beach. When you reach the beach, head to the frontline row of restaurants and walk all the way to the last one that has a white pyramid on top with the name Ayo on it. Here you can watch them cook the paella, from scratch, in large pans over a wood fuelled fire. The paella is delicious, i think it is 6 Euros a plate but that also includes seconds if you want it. Please note it is only open until about 5:00pm.

Good bars

Sarah and Manolo's on Calle Mediterraneo (friendly bar open til late),
El Bosque on Calle Castilla Perez (shows all the sports),
Los Barilles on Calle Carabeo in centre of town (quaint little spanish bar serves a free tapas with each drink and you must try the Chorizo al Infierno, small chorizo sausages cooked in a little terracotta pig - very tasty and only 2 Euros.

There are lots and lots of good bars all over Nerja, too many to mention and not enough space.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Ian0859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
78
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was comfy and quite spacious.It only cost us £180 for a week. There is always nice hot water for a shower. Be aware you are not allowed to put toilet paper down the loo! (like Greece ). Our room was only cleaned once while we were there which wouldn't normally bother us, but the bathroom bin should have been emptied daily because of the reason mentioned above. The towels were changed once during the week. We didn't hire a car, but if you do you need to be aware that on-street parking is very limited. There is a local car park, but we believe this is expensive. You are only a short walk to town and the many great restaurants. There are also some restaurants in the same street as Pepe, 2 being just opposite. We had a room which overlooked the back street, with no balcony. I don't think any rooms had balconies. The beautiful Balcon De Europa and beaches are all within easy walking distance. All in all we had a great time in Nerja and the Pepe Mesa was cheap and convenient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra_case
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, N Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed in a lovely one bedroom apartment at Pepe Mesa and really enjoyed it. The location is fantastic and if we ever return to Nerja again, we will definitely stay here again. You are right in the middle of the main attractions and everything is within easy walking distance. The only down side is that the pool is very small but we didn't mind this at all.

Room Tip: The best rooms seem to be on the top terrace, which have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurieD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

we rented 2 studios in August and went with some friends for 4 nights. The owners are friendly, rates are very reasonable and the apartments are clean and spacious. its in a great location, just a short walk to main area with bars, restaurants and the balcon de europa, yet very peaceful on a night. There are some great places to eat and drink nearby and pop over the road to the restaurant with the terrace outside - the staff are very friendly, it became our early evening G&T visit!!! We will be back!

Room Tip: there are 3 lovely apartments on the roof terrace opposite the small plunge pool which are great as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Found Pepe Mesa by accident and what a result! Came here November 2009 looking for wedding venues with the future bride's mum, as my son and future daughter-in-law wanted a Spanish wedding and they asked the mothers to find one for them as they live in Australia (don't ask!!!). We mums liked Pepe Mesa so much we recommended it to the rellies as a place to stay when they came to the wedding. The outcome was the wedding was to take place in a lovely little church in the village of Maro just outside Nerja. Well, August 2010 soon rolled round and we plus 20 of the rellies descended upon the Pepe Mesa for 9 days. We were welcomed warmly by Pepe and his family (it is a family business) and were shown to beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean rooms. The building itself is lovely, typically Spanish with white walls, tiled floors and lots of pots of pretty plants on the stairways, again all spotlessly clean. It was 37 degrees but we soon cooled off in the air conditioned apartments which all had a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. However, we did not make use of the kitchen as there were so many cafes, restaurants and bars within walking distance, all reasonably priced. We eat in the restaurant at the Pepe Mesa called the Old Cellar, and the food was excellent, not the cheapest in town , but worth the money for the quality of food and service. The sun worshipers amongst us spent most of the day on the sun terrace. Personally I preferred to dip in the pool with my two little grandchildren. The pool isn't huge but was a great place to splash about with a couple of 2 year olds. I would certainly come back to Pepe Mesa again. All in all the Pepe Mesa is a good value, clean and relaxing place to stay. I would say though, that Nerja is probably not for older children, as there didn't seem to be much for 7-16 year olds.

Jan & Chris from Cambridge

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank janbaylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We had a couple of nights free in Nerja having stayed for a week in an apartment . We walked round and checked out various hotels and hostels and found the Pepe Mesa apartments offered excellent value for money. They are on the Parador side of town (definately the best part) but are quite quietly located. A distinctive building with a nice restaurant on the ground floor and a slight Morroccan feel as you go up to the rooms.
On offer are 1 bed apartments at E70 per night or studios at E62,. as the studios have air conditioning and the 1 beds dont, they are the ones to go for- plenty of room for two.
Very, very clean, reasonably well furnished, nice bathroom with plenty of hot water and comfortable beds. The roof is available for sun bathing and has lovely views to the sea on one side and the mountains on the other. It doesnt have shade, except for umbrellas, but you can always dip in the pool which is much bigger than a plunge pool, just about big enough for a very short swim. Very close to the beach if you prefer to go there and the main part of town is just a few minutes walk.
We also recommend the restaurant below - ate there on our last night and found it very good.
Accommodation in Nerja is getting increasingly expensive - Pepe Mesa is recommended for a comfortable convenient stay that wont break the bank.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and value for money.
  • Disliked — Need aircon in the 1 bed apartments.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WatfordWelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2005

We booked this last minute through Magic of Spain. The bedroom was pretty basic with a bed, wardrobe & one of those noisy light fitted air conditioners, the view was on to the stairs. The living area was spacious with a well appointed kitchen and good sized seating area.
The pool is very disappointing, it is plunge pool size and the seating is another short flight of stairs up on the roof. There was no shade and it just wasn't a great area for relaxing.
The location was off the main Balcon D'Europa area, nice because we could do a bit of walking but slightly less scenic than the main touristy bit.
Pepe Mesa appartments do the job but not in a lot of style and were extremely hot due to lack of proper air con.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank joaniebinedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,766 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
557 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Pepe Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Pepe Mesa

Property: Apartamentos Pepe Mesa
Address: Calle Huertos 33, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Pepe Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Apartamentos Pepe Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepe Mesa Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing