We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people and enviroment”
Review of Hostal Lorca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Lorca
Ranked #21 of 32 Nerja B&B and Inns
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great people and enviroment”
Reviewed March 14, 2009

Very nice Hostel, very at ease enviroment, great people. The scenery and admosphere, so great yoe want to suck it all up and hold on to it. Rik and Femma, thank you for a great time, im looking forward to come back.

greets, Roy

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i_am_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hellendoorn
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Very good hostel, located in the city centre. Lovely people, they make you will feel very welcome. Rooms are clean and there is a nice litle private garden (with swimming pool). Also a very good place to go to when you are with a group of people.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerjaganger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

well situated in nerja, next to parking (free), bars, tapas, restaurant and beaches.
Owners really nice

The place is nice, because there is a garden, with a little pool, some tables, a kitchen with microwave, fridge at disposal ( as if you are at home), but our room was really not perfect.

Not that small but not AC, no TV, and approx no air, or light... we were in a patio, and it was like if we were living with our next doorss neighbors... way to close from the other room.
The night was quite a nightmare, and it is really not pssible to stay in the room and relax during the day - way to hot etc - .

I am sure that other rooms are better such as Sevilla one....

  • Liked — the surroundings, the garden with the pool, the kitchen etc
  • Disliked — our room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Catcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed in this cosy, nice, little Hostal for about a week. The room was ok. Everything you needed was there. There was no breakfast but you could used the kitchen with fridge and microwave anytime you like. So we made our own coffee or tea in the morning and drink it outside in the garden. Although it was januari! The owners Femma and Rick were friendly, helpfully and gave you the feeling of being home. They even invited us to join them to have tapas and drink in a restaurant at New Year's Eve. We celebrated the turn of the year at the Balcony of Europe in the middle of the town with lots of drinks, fireworks and music. The whole crowd looked like one big happy family! So if you look for a nice Hostal in Nerja or surroundings you know where to go.

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — No idea
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

I really wanted to like this place, and I did, at first. It's cute, it's small, it's near the restaurants, it's inexpensive, you could bring in your own food, the owners were helpful and friendly... good! ...until the nighttime.

The noise. My god, the noise. It is NOT a quiet place to sleep, Rick Steves et al. must have had heavy duty earplugs. Four of the rooms face the street, and there is absolutely no soundproofing. I could hear a person walking along the sidewalk at 3 am as if they were walking beside my bed. The Vespas, the cars, the people walking by, the garbage truck, construction trucks, at all hours of the night...it's as if I was in the middle of the street. I did not sleep at all. Perhaps one of the 3 rooms that overlook the backyard are quieter? Better make sure you ask for one of those.

You get one very scratch towel each, and you can't take them to the beach, and I wouldn't want to take it outside to the little pool. Towels are 12 Euro to buy in town, so don't forget to bring your own... wish I'd known.

The beds don't have sheets, they have a thin quilt. It wasn't that hot out in May, but I found it too hot for the quilt, and there was no option to just have a sheet cover me. The ceiling fan is very noisy, I can't imagine trying to sleep while that is running. No air condidtioning, so in the hotter months it must be terribly hot in there.

It's a cute place, but I seriously could not sleep at all due to the noise.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mp2006mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

This hotel is a great value for the price. It has a decent location, within walking distance to beachs, restaurants & shopping, as well as free parking fairly nearby. The owners were very friendly and accommodating and the room was clean. The towels were definitely scratchy and they do not provide beach towels. The backyard with pool was very cute (although we didn't use the pool), and it was pretty quiet. For the price, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Value and great price
  • Disliked — They did not provide beach towels
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank islachica13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
952523426, dueño at Hostal Lorca, responded to this review, February 19, 2010
We provide every day new towels if you put them on the floor/ in the bath. Otherwise you get new ones every 3 days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

This was a nice little B&B style place. We found it to be very inexpensive, well located and clean. It has a nice little pool in the backyard and is cool at night. We didn´t find the owner to be as friendly as other reviews have mentioned, but overall it was a good place to stay. We would likely stay here again if we return to the area.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank westenders_vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.2 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Abril
Hostal Abril
#3 of 32 in Nerja
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Azahara
Hostal Azahara
#6 of 55 in Nerja
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Dianes
Hostal Dianes
#10 of 32 in Nerja
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Easy Nerja Hostel
Easy Nerja Hostel
#17 of 32 in Nerja
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Restaurante la Ermita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Lorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Lorca

Property: Hostal Lorca
Address: Calle Mendez Nunez 20, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Lorca 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostal is a beautifull place to stay at in Nerja for a reasonable price, a small hotel with swimmingpool and garden in the center of nerja, 600 metres from beach. It is possible to make your own breakfast or lunch in the bar. Cold drinks are available on the honoursystem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Lorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing