We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little hostel right in the centre of the old town-pool a bonus!”
Review of Hostal Lorca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Lorca
Ranked #26 of 33 Nerja B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This was the second time my husband and I have visited Nerja-we also came last year for our wedding anniverary and stayed at the Hostal Bbronce down the road but we decided to give the Lorca a try as we'd seen it in passing the previous year.

The fact that the Lorca has a tiny pool was definatley a bonus-you just don't get that in old Nerja town and there's no way we'd ever stay in one of the more commercial hotels near the Balcon or worse still, at the other end of town in the more touristy parts. The pool is very small-two or three strokes and you've done a length of it but its great for a refreshing afternoon dip and lovely from around 1pm when the yard gets the sun and you can lie beside it on the grass. Such a lovely peaceful garden area is like heaven compared to the hustle and bustle of the beaches. Its bursting with bright pink bourganvillea and tropical plants and best of all there's a courtyard area from the shared kitchen where you can eat your meals in the shade of the terrace umbrella.

The owners of Lorca-a Dutch couple named Rick and Femma seemed absolutely lovely-welcoming and spoke very good English which is a bonus as our Spainish is typical touristic (although we do try!) and our Dutch is non existent bar the odd phrase. They were out when we arrived slightly later than the planned time due to public transport issues and the typical laid back Spanish attitude to getting things done, but they had kindly left us a note on how to access the hostel and our room.

Our room was Competa (al the rooms at the hostel are named seemingly after Andalucian towns such as Frigiliana etc) which overlooked the garden at the back of the hostel-as I'd requested via email beforehand. It was basic but comfortable with twin beds and (brilliantly!) quilts on them rather than the sheets and blanket combo which I so hate-I like to be warm and cosy at night! I requested another pillow after a few rather uncomfortable nights though, but this was delivered promptly whilst we were out for the day and I slept very well thereonin. The only things I felt required attention were: the bathroom, which gets quite smelly due to poor ventilation and the toilet/drain smells woke me up in the night if we left the bathroom door open. The lack of a mirror in the room-seems minor but it helps us ladies dry our hair/apply makeup/dress more effectively and there's only so much you can do with a cosmetic mirror. Finally the ceiling fan which was rather tempramental. We also found that on a particulalrly overcast and chilly day we had no hot water to shower and were therefore forced to take a very cold, sharp shower. We mentioned this to Femma later that day and she apologised and assured us that this was due to the water heating not being put on-its not her usual job. No harm done though.

If you are at the front of the hostel, you do get noise from the street, however not as much as further down the street where we'd stayed beforehand. Nerja's old town seems to have a complicated one way street system which is frequented by noisy and increasingly annoying mopeds at all hours. The main road sixty yards up the street doesn't seem to bring any further noise however. We were glad to have a room at the back of the hostel, but could still hear the odd 'midnight moped' or loud Spanish argument from the street now and again. This is just old town Nerja for you though and of course it adds character to this lovley little town.

The towels were changed for us almost daily, even though we were quite happy to reuse them as per the notices in the room re them being changed every three days. I think the bedding was changed once in the week in which we stayed but can't be entirely sure.

My husband and I would certainly stay here again. This hostel is charming with the added perk of the pool and lovely garden and shared kitchen/terrace area. 3 minutes walk to the bus stops/station, 10 minutes from the old town bars/restaurants, 12 minutes from the town centre beaches and approx 20 minutes walk to Burriana beach.

Room Tip: Request Frigiliana or Competa for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 74 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2011

We spent a week over the Christmas holidays at the Lorca. Everything was great: location, our room, the back garden and especially the price. Hotelier Femma bent over backwards to be accommodating.( There's a communal kitchen area so you can make your own meals and from there you can access the hotel's wifi. No TVs in the rooms but apparently you can request one.

Too bad it was too cool to use the pool :

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThisCatsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This hostal on a quiet street but in the historic centre of Nerja is perfect for exploring the town and taking the bus to neighbouring areas. The backyard pool is an added bonus for hot summer days and the courtyard and common area a nice place to chat with other guests. A fridge and microwave in the common area, and wifi in the rooms, make it a "home away from home". Rick and Femma were always ready with tips on places to visit. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jud92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Lovely hostal, with a fantastic little pool in the back, perfect for when the beach is just too hot. Located near the bus stop and one of the supermarkets. Run by a lovely couple who are very helpful.
Will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

I'm enthusiastic about this place. There is a very positive and warm welcome. You feel the ambiance of friendliness. The owners are extremely helpful ; after a couple of days I felt they were old friends ! The place is spotlessly clean. The small lounge enables you to prepare your own breakfast and light meals. I felt very much at home there.
It's well-placed in the town, near shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalbenque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We have been staying in Hostal Lorca for the last 6 years so it really is a home from home. Rick and Femma who own the Hostal could not be more helfpul and everyone is made to feel very welcome. The Hostal is very clean and has everything you need: a good bed, shower, bathroom and kitchen if you feel like making yourself a snack. Rates are very reasonable at all times of year. It's in an ideal location, very close to the Mercadona supermarket and has a small grocery shop owned by a colourful character called Pepe. Cafe Duque just around the corner on Calle Pintada does a great breakfast for 3 euro 50 and a 5-10 minute walk will have you at the 'breath taking' Balcon de Europa. There are many fantastic tapas bars close to the Hostal, one of the best being 'La Taberna del Pescador' on Calle Almirante Ferrandiz owned by Miguel and his wife Mercedes. Rick and Femma will be able to tell you of many more fine establishments as there are too many to mention. Hostal Lorca has definitely been THE BEST FIND I HAVE EVER MADE on the 'world wide web'. We'll be back again this year for the New Year and possibly even during the summer.

GO ON! GIVE IT A TRY, YOU KNOW YOU REALLY WANT TO!! YOU WON'T REGRET IT

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryg528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed in Hostal Lorca in october. Nice place in the middle of Nerja, great place to relax. Rick and Femma were very friendly and helpful. We will be back in this hostal later this year!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErwinHarmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Andalucia
Hostal Andalucia
#19 of 37 in Nerja
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Don Peque
Hostal Don Peque
#15 of 37 in Nerja
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Abril
Hostal Abril
#4 of 33 in Nerja
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal San Miguel
Hostal San Miguel
#13 of 33 in Nerja
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Azahara
Hostal Azahara
#7 of 57 in Nerja
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Marissal
Hostal Marissal
#6 of 33 in Nerja
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Lorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Lorca

Address: Calle Mendez Nunez 20, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range: $37 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Lorca 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostal is a beautifull place to stay at in Nerja for a reasonable price, a small hotel with swimmingpool and garden in the center of nerja, 600 metres from beach. It is possible to make your own breakfast or lunch in the bar. Cold drinks are available on the honoursystem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal Lorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing