We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2009

This hotel is only rated 2 star but I think it could easily be 3 star. It was excellent value for money and included continental breakfast. It is a small hotel right in the centre of Nerja. The rooms were lovely, very clean and had everything you needed including soaps, shampoo and hairdryer. There is a roof terrace with sunbeds and a small pool. The staff were very friendly and the reception and breakfast area were kept very clean. When we were there, the road at the front of the hotel was closed for repair. We had to park a few minutes walk away but it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trebor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 580 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2009

Great location but this place is tucked on a side street so a tad hard to find.
nothing fancy here but very clean and adequate. The staff was very friendly and helpful. B-fast was not to great. Nice rooftop deck with a tiny pool don't really know why you would use it with the Mediterranean so close by! The plus about this hotel is the location. Note - the staff can give you tips on what part of town to cruise for free parking.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CO_travel_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We loved this hotel. It was small, only about 24 rooms, and recently redone. There was a pool on the roof, and a nice breakfast served each morning. I loved the hospitality; every desk clerk around the clock was more than helpful in drawing maps and suggesting places for us to eat, drink, dance, or visit. The hotel is centrally located, within a two minute walk from the coast and the square. We never used our car and parked, as suggested by the desk clerk, for 3-days in a free parking lot. I can't say enough good things and the value was awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Great two star hotel, when my friend booked it I had reservations that as it was a two star hotel what would we expect, however we had a great stay, six friends in two quadruple rooms, the rooms were spacious and clean, rooms cleaned and towels changed every day. Pool on roof small but adequate, breakfast served until 11 am so plenty of time to get up. The staff where very friendly and the whole atmosphere of the hotel was relaxed. Hotel central, right next to the church and square. I cant recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khannah0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We have just arrived home from a 3 night break in Nerja and stayed at this little jewel in the centre of Nerja. We asked for a room with a balcony as the wife is a smoker, unfortunately there was none available, but the receptionist offered to show us a room. This was a plus, because normally you have to ask to see a room. On each floor there are patios with tables and chairs for smokers a 30 step walk from the room, ideal.
The Hotel is immaculate, spotlessly clean. Always plenty of hot water, TV in the rooms. The roof terrace doesn't have the best of views but is adequate. Breakfast was advertised as continental, but in my view was a little better than that. If you wanted a cooked breakfast than there are plenty of cafe's within a 1min walk.
If you arrive by car then park in the underground car park nearby to transfer your luggage but then move it to the free onstreet parking a 4 min walk away. The underground is a rip-off €36 per day.
The Hotel is central to all the bars, restaurants, beaches and other amenities, but still an oasis of quiet. I would reccomend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panda_in_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

A good location for the beach and all restaurants with a lovely roof top terrace and pool. Staff are friendly, breakfast is average.
If you are driving then access to the hotel is restricted to a pedestrian area, but there is an expensive car park next to the hotel. there is another free car park within 5 mins walk.

the only downside to this hotel is that the rooms are poorly insulated and you can hear all the noises in the hotel, chairs moving, the lift going up and down. It was ok with the use of ear plugs!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windiburrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We have just returned from a week's stay in the puerta del mar hotel in nerja to arrange for our wedding in 2010. Our reason for picking this hotel was based primarily on reviews we had seen on trip advisor which has served us well over the last few years. The hotel is a two star but in reality it is a very good 3 star hotel. The rate we were quoted was excellant value. The hotel is very clean, modern and was cleaned daily. Our room had two small balconies (no sea view which we had known about), well decorated, and has everything you would expect for the room rate. Some of the reviews on trip advisor had said that breakfast was available at the next door Hotel (Plaza Cavana) as well as use of their pool facilities but when we arrived we were told that breakfast would be served on the ground floor and that their was a small pool and terrace on the roof which turned out to be fantastic!!! To summarise, I would highly recommend the hotel for the brillant location on the main square/church area of nerja just a stone's throw from the balcon of europe!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eamo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,149 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Mar

Address: Calle Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: $71 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nerja 50 meters from the beaches, this small and recently renovated hotel features a saltwater POOL, Solarium, WiFi, Air/Heating, Refrigerator, Safe, TV. Includes free Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Mar Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing