We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit as good as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
dublin,ireland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Second visit as good as the first”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I reviewed this hotel when I stayed here in Nov.2011. I have just returned from another stay in early March. I was delighted to find that the very high standards there have been maintained. It is still spotlessly clean and all of the staff, particularly Javier and Enrique, were exceptionally charming and helpful again.The value afforded by this hotel is exceptional. You will not find a bar or spa facilities here and the pool is very small but with so many bars and restaurants on your doorstep and several beaches within walking distance, this is not a problem. I cannot think of a negative - the plumbing can be a little on the noisy side if you are on the lower floor and a lighter sleeper - but this is because the water pressure is strong, resulting in a great shower. Well done to all in the Hotel Puerta Del Mar for continued success. Your hard work is appreciated and I hope to see you again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goggsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    131
    29
    1
    2
See reviews for
87
344
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Dont think I have stopped anywhere as clean as this little Gem. The rooms are nicely set out with a large bathroom. There is a safe in your room air conditioning / heating that is free to use. The balcony in the room is very small but there is a pretty sun roof with a splash pool, very private, and a sun trap, heaven. There are little nooks and crannies where you can sit and read. The breakfast is basic but quite adequate it suited me as I like continental. The staff are polite but not in your face. Very helpful should you need advice. We booked our return taxi through the hotel taking 50 mins from the airport to the hotel at a cost of €65. We went up to Frigilliana on the local bus for the cost of €1, beautiful little place, and our favourite Cuban tapas bar Julie's just made the holiday complete. I would not hesitate to stay here again

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peteandmaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had 5 nights here in early march 2014.The Hotel appears to attract independent travellers;singles/couples.And having only 24 rooms, the experience is personal.If you are looking for a busy, rowdy , group type social experience, this is not for you.It is quiet, polite and personal. The facilities are v good, and location is superb- being in the centre of Nerja. The staff at reception had very good english, were extremely helpful in assisting my travel plans to Malaga/Cordoba/Seville/Granada, and packed up breakfast boxes, when I was leaving early in the morning.
Muchos Gracias Javier and your team

Room Tip: Some rooms face the mountain if you like that type of vista.No rooms face the sea.I did not detect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorfolkDrummerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel was clean,comfortable with friendly but not over familiar service. It is very close to the Balcon - a fairly central location.
The room was a good size with a large well equipped bathroom.
I rarely write reviews but I would certainly use the hotel again and not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

To put it in a one word - fabulous! For the price it is terrific value - Location can't get any better, spotlessly clean, friendly staff, good breakfast for the price. Good bedrooms well kept stocked with extra pillows and duvets.Just amazed 35 Euros can get you so much.

Room Tip: All rooms were good.Ask for a higher flor overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeepakAhuja7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This place has earned its great reputation. We usually stay in the Parador but we thought we would give a new place a try. This place has a VERY competitive price and great reviews. The place was great. I missed the easy access to the beach, the fabulous grassy pool area, and the incredible breakfast at the Parador. However, this place is a close second place for me and its much cheaper in general than the Parador. Its adult oriented with a quite small pool on the roof. The breakfast is great with lots of options including pre-packaged donuts/pastries, breads, cereals, and fresh fruits. The room was crisp, bright, and clean. And our balcony had a great view overlooking an alley off the Balcony of Europe (note: the view is not of the Balcony...but close). The decor is beautiful. It felt almost Moroccan. There are bright and vibrant colors everywhere.
It was quite a trek getting our luggage from the bus stop all the way through town and finding the place wasnt the easiest. But it was worth it. And it was so easy to go out in the evenings to enjoy the town; just out our door.
A FANTASTIC VALUE. I highty recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trav3llov3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great location, although trying to find it on maps or sat nav is difficult as you cannot drive to the street it is located on. Friendly staff, pleasant basic breakfast, clean and spacious rooms with a lovely view of the church next door. Overall an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Check location and parking in advance if traveling by car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
163 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Mar

Property: Hotel Puerta del Mar
Address: Calle Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nerja
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nerja
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nerja 50 meters from the beaches, this small and recently renovated hotel features a saltwater POOL, Solarium, WiFi, Air/Heating, Refrigerator, Safe, TV. Includes free Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Mar Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing