We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous relaxing break in lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Wow! What a great hotel. Booked a short break in Nerja. This hotel is sooo central. Believe everything you read in previous reviews about the staff, they are all really helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Room was clean with towels changed every day and a fantastically powerful shower. Breakfast is continental but don't let this make you think you will be hungry, yoghurt, fruit, cereals, cold meats, croissants, , toast, tea, coffee, fruit juice, shall I go on? Lovely sun terraces,a rooftop pool, for the price you could not fault it.

It's difficult to see why this isn't a three star hotel. I would think this is because there is no proper restaurant or bar and the pool is very small. There are bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel so you will always find somewhere to eat and drink.

If I could find any negative features about the hotel then all I could say is that the pool is very small so people who want a proper swim would be disappointed, and the water was very cold, but this is a minor point.

If you are planning a trip to Nerja this really is the place to stay, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 573 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

A beautiful compact hotel in the heart of Nerja. Just around the corner from the Balcon De Europe. Great facilities, including a roof top pool and sun lounge area, so so pretty! well presented and a fabulous breakfast! Excellent value too!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Not knowing Nerja or the surrounding area at all, we were very pleased with our choice of hotel. It is in a superb location - 10 seconds from the front door you are at the Balcon de Europa with fab views of the sea, lots of bars and coffee shops and places to eat.

The rooms are spacious and clean; in fact the hotel is spotless. Lovely terrace with a pool. Very friendly staff. Simple but adequate breakfast. There is no parking but there is a paying car park a convenient 5 minute walk away - this does add to your outgoings however there are lots of side streets where you could try to find a free spot.

Overall I would definitely recommend and would definitely return if staying in Nerja.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PER1PAT1C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked this soley on TripAdvisor rating and foundit was superbly located, good quality accomodation, attentive staff, smashinmg rooftop with pool and views, and all for a very competitive price. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Denis_McQuade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I are just back from a weeks break in Nerja. This hotel was great in every sense. Location, staff, cleanliness, swimming pool, sun terrace. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Nerja.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lightblue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We echo all that has already been said about this delightful hotel. It is excellent in terms of comfort, cleanliness and location. We had a lovely two week stay and found the staff so helpful and kind. As it is quite small, there was great attention to detail. For part of our stay the Feria was on, so it was a bonus to see the beautiful procession and also people in traditional dress enjoying the fabulous weather we were blessed with. We recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to move away from the (sometimes) soulless chains to somewhere with character and charm.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LANCASHIRELASSIE52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were met on check in by a very nice man called Javier . All the Staff were very friendly and did their upmost for a great stay. The rooms are spotlessly clean and we had fresh towels everyday.Rooms had hairdryers, minibar and air conditioning The Breakfast was continental buffet and there was everything from Cereals, cold meats, pastries, yogurts etc. We drove from Malaga to Nerja and at first parked in the underground car park which is a few minutes walk to the hotel. The cost was 23 euros per day so when we checked in Javier advised us about the Free Parking that was available approx. a 10-15 min walk from the hotel. The hotel has a very lovely Pool Terrace which is very quiet and relaxing, you get used to the church bells !!!
The hotel is right in the centre of Nerja where all the Restaurants and Tapas Bars are. There are a number of shops to browse at. The beach is no more than a five minute walk where you have a number of steps to reach it, a restaurant on he beach that serves lunches and drinks. Sunbeds are available at a cost of 8 euros ( 2 beds and an umbrella).
We were there for the October Festival which is every year so in general Nerja was very busy.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and Nerja as either a short break or a weeks holiday.
Thank you Javier and all the Staff for a fantastic stay see you soon !!!!

Room Tip: We had a very nice room with double bed and balcony (211).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank digirlcruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,066 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Mar

Address: Calle Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#1 Family Hotel in Nerja
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: $68 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nerja 50 meters from the beaches, this small and recently renovated hotel features a saltwater POOL, Solarium, WiFi, Air/Heating, Refrigerator, Safe, TV. Includes free Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Mar Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing