We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nerja find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puerta del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
COLCHESTER
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nerja find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a fantastic find. We wanted to visit the caves and needed somewhere to stop overnight. We parked and walked to the Balcon, just down a side street was Puerta del Mar. Unprepossessing from the outside, but inside a real Moorish delight - beautiful little courtyards - lovely plants, helpful staff. Breakfast was delightful in a small dining room which encouraged interaction with other guests. Lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have larger windows but, of course, there will be street noise. We had a delight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    113
    29
    1
    1
See reviews for
78
296
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent a week at the Puerta del Mar in October on our first visit to Nerja. The location is perfect - right near the 'Balcon' and an array of restaurants, cafes, shops and with easy access to the beaches. We had a street view from our small balcony, which was fine - but possibly other rooms would not have a great view given the hotel's position between other buildings. The hotel was spotlessly clean and our room was spacious and well-equipped. Breakfast was OK. We loved Nerja - really pretty and a lovely atmosphere, helped by the festival which took place over 3 days during our visit (we accepted this would mean a certain amount of noise up to 5am!!). We went to the Alhambra in Granada by car which was very straightforward (just over an hour's drive) and worthwhile. We parked our hire car a few minutes' walk away from the hotel in a free carpark, as recommended to us by the hotel staff, who were always obliging and helpful. We will definitely go back to Nerja sometime soon and most likely to the Puerta del Mar - we didn't see anything that would offer better value for money and in such a good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WendyJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked our room here on the strength of tripadvisor reviews. Great little hotel. The staff are helpful, the rooms were clean and reasonably sized. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. All in all we will definately go back. Great situation for Nerja's beaches and bars etc.Well done to Javier and his staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Booked into this hotel based on the reviews from Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Staff are very friendly and always there to help. Spotlessly clean, nice room, and a great location just minutes from the Balcon, cafes, and restaurants. The buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and served upto 11 o'clock each day. It would have been nice if the hotel could supply tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms but other than that, this is an excellent hotel to pick if you are planning on visiting Nerja.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A lovely hotel, spacious room, large bathroom, daily maid service, nice breakfast and friendly staff. What more could you want! definately deserves more than 2 stars, Nerja nice and the italian restaurant Vitiliano was a lovely place to eat at night also the Coach and Horses was good for lunches.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here for 5 night recently. I found this hotel to be in a perfect location and within walking distance to all that Nerja has to offer!!! Our room was a great size and had a nice tv with loads of channels including movies!! The breakfast area was very canteen like lacking ambiance - basically a corner of the reception area, however, I really enjoyed the breakfast provided!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleleague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Enjoyed 7 nights here with my wife and agree with previous comments suggesting that 2* doesn't do it justice - if you are looking for a great location with good staff, a nice breakfast at very reasonable cost go ahead and book!

One word of warning - we arrived at midnight and in our haste parked the car overnight at the underground municipal car park just at the back of the hotel, what a mistake. Next morning we moved the car at a cost of over 21 euros, we made sure that we always found onstreet parking thereafter.

Nerja is a charming place with some great restaurants and if people watching is your thing get a seat at the Kronox bar just around the corner next to the church entrance, reasonable prices and welcoming staff.

We'll be back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YorkshirePuddingsOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 stars 1,394 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#13 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Mar

Property: Hotel Puerta del Mar
Address: Calle Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#1 Family Hotel in Nerja
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nerja 50 meters from the beaches, this small and recently renovated hotel features a saltwater POOL, Solarium, WiFi, Air/Heating, Refrigerator, Safe, TV. Includes free Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Mar Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing