We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well deserved rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Well deserved rating”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights in Nerja, Oct 31st - 5th Nov - in this excellent little hotel. We enjoyed wonderful weather for the first couple of days and then endured torrential rain for the others. The Puerta del Mar came up trumps for both situations, providing a sun umbrella and beach towels initially and then tea and sympathy and a haven from the rain for the others. (The t.v. and pleasant room were greatly appreciated during some of the downpours and the location made it possible to pop in and out to bars and cafes easily despite the rain) This hotel is a perfect example of why we always prefer a small hotel to a large impersonal one. We were greeted with a smile and an Hola every time we came in the door. Their restaurant recommendations were great and they were hugely helpful in printing off our boarding passes. Thank you to the two lovely gentlemen on reception. Great bread and good coffee gets the morning off to a good start - we brought in a little of our own fruit to ring the changes once or twice. The room was kept beautifully during our stay - thank you to housekeeping.I have no hesitation in encouraging people to visit and keep this hotel in it's no. 1 spot on T.A.s hotels in Nerja (and hope that you are luckier with the weather than we were!)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goggsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    123
    29
    1
    2
See reviews for
84
329
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
britishinspain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Right on the Balcon in the centre of Nerja - you'll never need the car once you get here! Lovely rooms, clean, well decorated, english tv, english speaking reception, small pool and roof terrace. Perfect situation, central to everything and reasonably quiet given the location!

Room Tip: request a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marrieddec09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I came here for 4 days with my mum in the middle of october. this is one of the best hotels (as a poor penniless traveller) i have stayed in. It's very basic, however that is expected from the price. The rooms are spotless, the public areas of the hotel are constantly kept clean and tidy. Centrally located within in a minute walk of the balcon de europa and Nerja's main square and church. breakfast is included in the price, a simple continental style, however when the temperature is 28 degrees, thats all you need. Has a beautiful small plunge pool and roof terrace, that is open from 10am to 9pm. would highly recommend this hotel as a good base for exploring the city. if your wanting to stay in the hotel for your entire holiday, this isn't for you, however for exploring, hiking and sight seeing its perfect! (also the reception lends you beach towels, very handy as the beach is a 2 minute walk and fabulous!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauramaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Though close to the restaurants, shops and beaches of Nerja, this little hotel is quiet and and very pleasant. We found our rooms impeccably clean and nicely furnished. They not only included tv, a fridge, a safe, a hair dryer, soap, shampoos etc, but also offered free wifi. A rooftop terrace with a small swimming pool and a nice courtyard with bistro like tables and chairs gave the hotel an extra friendly touch. Considering that breakfast was included in the price (not luxurious but generous with a good choice of juices, bread, ham, cheese, jam, pastries, cereals and yoghurt), this hotel is excellent value for money. We cannot imagine a better place in Nerja.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at Puerta del Mar for 5 nights in early October. It was excellent in every respect. The hotel has recently been beautifully refurbished. It is attractively designed throughout with a very fresh and clean appearance enhanced by stunning nature photos and some lovely indoor plants. The rooftop sun terrace with its little pool and fantastic views is perfect for spending a quiet couple of hours each day away from the busy streets below. The location must be hard to beat, within one minute of the Balcon de Europa and just 5 minutes of the pretty and not too busy Salon beach. The staff were at all times friendly and helpful, explaining where to find free car parking on arrival, and providing early breakfast when we left. The room was comfortable and would have been surprisingly quiet considering the location had we not been staying during the Feria. It meant we had to close windows at night and rely on the air con which was OK, if slightly noisy. Free wi-fi worked fine in our room and for British travellers suffering TV withdrawal symptoms, there are all the main BBC and ITV channels. Breakfasts were fine with really lovely fresh bread, although we would have welcomed a little more variety, particularly some fresh fruit. But this is a minor quibble. We recommend it highly. You could spend far more money on bigger more prestigious establishments for no greater level of comfort and certainly less charm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

stayed at the Hotel Puerta del Mar for 5 nights Fantastic room on the 1st floor the hotel is
immaculate, the staff were friendly and helpful.literally on the doorstep of some lovely bars and cafes and the Balcon de Europe where you can people watch and relax over a drink and tapas minutes away as are beaches and shops, just a short stroll away. we will return next year

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank benjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed at the Puerta Del Mar Hotel 6th / 13th October.Our flight was early landing so got to hotel well before the check in time,and surprise surprise our room was ready.Fantastic room on the second floor overlooking The Plaza de Espania and mountains,good sized bedroom and bathroom with all the little extras that have been mentioned in so many other reviews.The hotel really should be more than a 2 star going by the helpfulness of all the staff and the cleanleness of the public areas as well as the bedrooms.It is in an ideal spot just off The Balcon and only acouple of minutes walk to the nearest beach.The breakfast is very much continental style but even as a vegetarian i didn,t go hungry.Would we stay at The Puerta Del Mar Hotel again?You bet we would ,cant wait.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suechell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#9 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#6 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Mar

Property: Hotel Puerta del Mar
Address: Calle Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nerja
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nerja 50 meters from the beaches, this small and recently renovated hotel features a saltwater POOL, Solarium, WiFi, Air/Heating, Refrigerator, Safe, TV. Includes free Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Mar Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing