We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we will be back!”
Review of Hotel Carabeo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Carabeo
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Fantastic hotel with a beautiful seaside view. With a beautiful pool, garden and seaside view, it makes you want to stay there all day long. Rooms clean and spacious and at a very affordable price.

Very nice staff. WIFI was a little slow.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank P0ntNeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 309 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Carabeo at the beginning of our holiday in Andalucia and things hadn't gone so well - British Airways managed to leave my husband's bag at Gatwick so after a couple of hours wrangling in pigeon Spanish at Malaga airport and a long taxi road up the coast to Nerja, it is safe to say we were not at our best! As soon as we arrived at the Carabeo, that all changed. As it was past midnight we were whisked straight up to our suite and reassured that we could do the paperwork in the morning, we were however encouraged to go via the bar, a most welcome invitation after the stressful evening we'd had!

The next morning we breakfasted like Kings on the gorgeous terrace by the pool and the thorny issue of the missing luggage was firmly and efficiently dealt with by Jose - the bag was with us by late afternoon.

That night we ate at the hotel's Restaurant 34, there's an extensive menu and you eat by the pretty pool under a bower of fragrant jasmine. We even had a flamenco guitarist serenading us while we ate. Suffice to say, the lost luggage and travel stress was long forgotten by the time we left the following day.

The staff here are charming, extremely helpful and the food is great, we had tapas for lunch and loved it! The hotel sits perched overlooking the Med, the rooms are quirky and comfortable and we adored our terrace. Next time we'll stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The food was very good, but the service was impersonal. Moreover, they charged us for bread and water that we did not order. We cannot value a restaurant where the service is dishonest.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
7  Thank francib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I booked Hotel Carabeo after reading reviews here and it certainly lived up to promise
Location excellent, rooms clean very comfortable and if you are lucky enough to be at the front of the house wonderful views and private terrace
Nothing is too much trouble, reception staff very welcoming
Restaurant is everything you hope it will be (after all the praise/reviews) and more
Impossible to fault this hotel
Hope to return again & again

Room Tip: Request if possible room at the front with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dovxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Some people like glitz, others prefer bling, but for the diserning traveller, ambiance is where it is at and The Carabeo has it in Spades......Think best to stay here in honeymood mode if possible, two has got to be the perfect number and the small streets of Old Town which surround it are perfect for walking hand in hand, no cars allowed on Balcon de Europa. The fun Tapas bar close by is El Pulguilla which is for eating late under the stars. To change 1 item, it would have to be the 'bath robe', perfect
for size 8 only. Like T-Shirts best always to supply oversize bath robes, too big are fun, too small are "infuriating".

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WOOLFHOUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We usually stay in the Hotel Carabeo which is wonderful but they were fully booked as a wedding was going on so we went for apartment 41 the stairs are a bit steep but the hotel staff carried our cases up and down for us it was very hot as it was July but no problem as their was air con in the living area and fans in the dining area and both bedrooms which worked wery well ate most nights in the hotel carabeo opposite which is first class also lunch times they do tapas outside try the chicken piri piri more than enough for lunch and at 10euros very good value stayed in one evening and watched the TV which has every channel you could want found the apartment very clean and the staff could not do enough for us also having two bedrooms upstairs was like being at home as it is much cheaper than the hotel we had lots of money to go shopping with great .have booked for next year cant wait

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benji008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This was a last minute booking and we took the only remaining room which we were told was street facing and fairly small. We were delighted to find it was well equipped with decent a/c and a ceiling fan - it had everything you could have hoped for and was good value for money

Graham & Sarah North Somerset

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarespez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#11 of 37 in Nerja
427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,864 reviews
0.5 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carabeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carabeo

Address: Calle Hernando de Carabeo 34, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#4 Family Hotel in Nerja
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: $98 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carabeo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Carabeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carabeo And Restaurant 34
Carabeo Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing