We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Apartments” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterraneo Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mediterraneo Apartments
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor Apartments”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from Nerja where we lived at these apartments which were cold and felt damp perhaps due to the fact they get little sun. The apartments were very poorly maintained and badly in need of refurbishment. Reception was manned from 12 to 1500hrs only so when things broke down you were stuck. You were given 1 complimentary toilet roll and had to buy during the remains of your stay. You had to empty your bins and remove your own rubbish. In the 10 days we stayed we had sheets and towels changed once but no visible cleaning There was no hot water in kitchen but fortunately the shower was always hot. The "heated swimming pool" was empty. The only plus point for these apartments was the location 2 mins from beach and 15 minutes walk from Balcon de Europa. I might add that we always travel and stay at basic accomodation and are not hard to please but these were below basic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maureen689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    56
    64
    29
    32
See reviews for
46
101
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

To put this review into perspective I will point out that I only paid £19 per night for the apartment which had two beds and one sofa bed.
The apartment is 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Nerja which is a lovely resort that still retains its Spanish charm and isn't overly 'touristy'.
The apartment was dated, all the furniture, kitchen and bathroom was old looking and this wasn't helped by the apartment not looking particularly clean.
The kitchen was more like a walk in cupboard, I would not like to try and cook in there, hence we ate out every night - although all the items were there for you to cook.
The fact that you had to remove your own rubbish, buy you own toilet roll after the complimentary first and no maid service was poor.
On a positive note there is Wifi in the reception area which worked well and is free.
Although this apartment didnt ruin my holiday, with hindsight I wish I had paid an extra £10 per night and would have got a better place to stay, but if you are on a budget this apartment will do the trick.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andycotton1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nerja hotels

birmingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Ok its not the Ritz but it is clean, and in a great location. We had room 306 which had a separate twin bedded room with ample wardrobe space and safe (extra charge payable)
Bathroom had small bath and shower and perfectly adequate for a week's stay. The kitchen/living room had a sofa bed, table and chairs, tv and kitchenette. There is also a small balcony. We did not have a microwave in our room which other people have mentioned but we did not intend to do much cooking so it didnt bother us. This may be a problem if you have children though and need to self cater a bit more. Tv worked fine once hubby had sorted out the remote and found the english channels. The location is brilliant, there are plenty of bars and restaurants locally, the beach is practically on your doorstep and there are two supermarkets which stock most things you need and a small bakery for fresh bread, cakes, pasties etc. Breakfast at the jamaica bar is still 3.90 euro for full english with toast, jam, tea/coffee included excellent value, why bother cooking.
I've stayed in better apartments but never at this price and I think some people expect too much for their money. If you are getting a cheap deal then you really can't expect luxury.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank cliftonkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

we expected basic...and this hotel delivered!
pool had leak and was only fixed daybefore we left.
insufficient lighting throughout the self catering room we had as bulbs were out in all fittings except tha balcony and wall lamp, but they did put one in bathroom, necessary as otherwise it was a cave.
leg fell off table, stool fell through the middle, fridge rusting away, dirty walls, corner wall trim hanging off, tv remotes both broken even after we supplied new batteries, tv plug socket hanging out of wall, shower held up with black electrical tape, broken broom, no room service, stinky sofa not even fit to sit on.
although staff were pleasant enough my spanish was rusty, and 'compo' who manned reception when he was there! had practically no english.
shame as it could bea lovely typically spanish building.
little things but not as described in the write ups!

Room Tip: insist on balcony front facing betterstill choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here last May, got a really deal, and all we really wanted was a base to go to the beach, so we went for it. We got what we paid for, the apartments were very old fashioned, basic, and could have really done with modernising. The pool area was tiny, laughable really. But we didn't plan to use it anyway. The beach was a short walk away, and a convenience store just next door. If you plan to use the kitchen facilities be warned that it might not have everything you need. ours had 2 forks, 1 spoon, 3 plates, no tea towels... very random selection! Bars and restaurants were easily reachable, and the centre of Nerja, with the majority of restaurants a 10/ 15 minute walk away. We loved Nerja, and if you're only planning to sleep in the apartments then they're fine, a good cheap deal, but I wouldn't have wanted to have spent any substantial time there. One warning, we checked out on a Sunday, a day which they don't have a member of staff manning reception. We just had to leave our key in a box there, which would have been fine, if we hadn't have wanted to leave our suitcases there until our transfer later in the day. We were stuck with our bags for hours, not the best set up!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senorita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have enjoyed another wonderful holiday in Nerja using the Mediterraneo as our base. The apartments are basic but they deliver everything you need. No frills, but clean and tidy upon arrival with a small kitchenette - 2 electric rings, assorted pans, plates and cutlery, fridge & microwave. Small enough for you to keep tidy as you go. You get what you pay for in all walks of life and as the cost is an absolute snip dont expect 5*.
The location is brilliant for access to all the town, and no matter how many times we meander the streets we still discover more shops bistros and bars.
All amenities are on your doorstep here. Enjoy.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quiet. If you are on the front expect to hear some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellen124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

booked a cheap hoilday out of season because we just wanted a nice quiet week. Nerja is great, tapas bars everywhere and a big choice of beaches. The apartments were being renovated so the pool and bar were out of bounds, but as it was out of season we understood. Theres bars over the road and the beach is 2 mins away so it was a good location. It took ages to check in which was a bit annoying but its spain and nothing is done fast. the room was a bit tired and worn and very basic but had everything we needed. balcony was good and had a washing line which was a nice touch. The main problem was there were barely any staff. The room wasnt cleaned the whole week we were there, which ive never had even on the cheapest holidays. There was a dustpan and brush and a mop and bucket in the room but you dont really want to be cleaning on holiday. A maid dropped in some new towels (she didnt take the old ones) half way through the week but we had to buy our own toilet rolls! im not one of those people who demand fresh sheets every day when on holiday but i was suprised. Also theres only a recptionist between 10am and 3pm, a very small window to get things sorted, and awkward when check out is at 10am so theres no staff around before you go. Also, this wont be a problem for people going during the summer but the rooms are FREEZING! i know they are designed to stay cool in the hot summers but if youre open year round you have to take into account the people coming in winter. there were blankets in the wardrobe but it was honestly warmer to sit on the balcony than to sit in the room! if you go in the colder months definatly take warm pjs!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bany1781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#18 of 38 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.3 mi away
Al-Andalus Hotel
Al-Andalus Hotel
#25 of 38 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Playamaro
Hotel Playamaro
#28 of 38 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#11 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jimesol
Hotel Jimesol
#22 of 38 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nerja Princ
Hotel Nerja Princ
#9 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterraneo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Apartments

Property: Mediterraneo Apartments
Address: Calle Mediterraneo 6, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mediterraneo Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mediterraneo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Mediterraneo Nerja
Apartamentos Mediterraneo Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing