We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it as well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Plaza Cantarero
Ranked #3 of 31 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nerja, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Loved it as well”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We usually sat in an apartment when visiting Nerja however this trip was only for 8 nights so we came across this wonderful clean Hostal whilst walking pass last trip and went and had a look.

As others have said it is better than some 3 star Hotels and everything was perfect.

We hired a car and parked it in the streets nearby, no problem.

The owners and staff were so friendly and offer help if need be.

The room was quiet, the occasional door slammed however not in the middle of night.

The wifi is perfect, TV channels good, tea,coffee,biscuits and kettle was a nice touch.

Have safe in rooms not that I think there would be a problem as the Hostal is locked when they are not at the desk. Huge wardrobe so you don't have anything hanging around and a large clean bathroom. Good air conditioning when required.

Room cleaned everyday.

Definitively would recommend to all travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jockeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
82
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frigiliana, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

couldnt fault the hostal. from the begining when we were welcomed by tanya who was lovely right through to our last day when we said our goodbyes. for the price the hostal is amazing. its better than alot of three star hotels ive stayed in.we were on the second floor in i think room 306 it faced the enternal courtyard so no real view but it was very quiet. i had asked for a room with a view of the street but tanya said the rooms on the second floor were nicer so we had not problem with that. and you can see that our room is one that is used on her website. the rooms are decorated in a nice fashion and were of a very good size with huge wardrobes and they and the bathroom were spotless. brand new mattresses and tv that had BBC 1,2 and ITV channels which is a real bonus as you tend to get sick of watching cnn and the other news channels. a kettle in the room was great aswell as having a safe and aircon/heating and Wifi that worked in your room even on just a mobile phone. everything you would need was provided at a great price.

the roof terrace was gorgeous with a lovely covered seating area and sunbeds. lovely plants were dotted about. you can tell tanya and her family take great pride in their hotel as everything is done to a high level and they should be very proud. there was a large shared fridge freezer at the entrance to the roof terrace and as there wasnt many guests where we were there there was always room for your milk etc

i really cant fault this hostal at all. for the price of 27 euro per night it was simply amazing. and i cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThewanderingLoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Hi we tried to cancel our booking for this hotel nearly six months before our intended stay and although we were told there was a 0 % cancellation charge, we were charged 47 euro. It turns out this was a prepayment for the first nights stay that we misinterpreted due to the cancellation policy.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tramore_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Couldn't fault this. We were prepared for more basic accommodation than this actually was and didn't realise what a fabulous location it would be in. Approx 5-10 mins from a beach next to the Balcon D'Europe. Lovely shops to look at on the road down to the beach. Hostal was lovely and clean and air conditioned. Would definitely go back to both the hostal and the resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linsrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

very clean room and bathroom,always a good start.make sure you check out the terrace on the roof,very pleasant,and somewhere to dry beach towels etc.We took our morning cuppa up there. Would ask for a room with a balcony next time.

Room Tip: ask for street facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Just back from a week in Nerja. Hadn't stayed in a hostal before but very pleasantly surprised. Very nice couple run the hostal, helpful but also leave you to your own devices if help not required. The room, whilst not huge was more than adequate. Spotlessly clean and serviced each day. New mattresses throughout while we were there. Plenty of wardrobe space, TV , aircon. Really pleasant roof-top terrace. Free wi-fi too
If you can manage without a pool I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisymae9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Cracking little hostal in a great location, the position is ideal its central so you can easily walk to the Balcon, Burriana beach or to Tutti Fruitti. The lovely lady Tania who runs the hostel is very helpful, if you need any local info she is more than happy to help.She has just had a brand new water system fitted so gallons of lovely hot water with no fear of it running out, brilliant. We went to do the tapas trails to get a true taste of the typical spanish local food which is given when you purchase a drink, that was a great way to experience new tastes.
As its in the old town you will find some really authentic tapas bars, we were made very welcome by the locals and never once felt uneasy or as if we were intruding, that was lovely.
Go to the caves if you get a chance, fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayqueen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,010 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#7 of 37 in Nerja
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Plaza Cantarero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Plaza Cantarero

Property: Hostal Plaza Cantarero
Address: Calle Pintada 117, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Plaza Cantarero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Plaza Cantarero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing