We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better.”
Review of Hotel Jimesol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jimesol
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could have been better.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed at the Jimesol for 10 days. The hotel was in a good location. I was half board but i only ate in the restaurant 3 nights, the food was fine though and very varied, it's just that my daughter was staying along the road in Nerja and we ate together at night mostly. I had requested a balcony when booking which i didn't get so i was a bit annoyed about that. Rooms are basic. My only complaint about this hotel were that the staff just weren't friendly, one exception being the lady that cleaned my room every day. I would have enjoyed my stay much better if the staff realised they worked in hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bellbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    82
    91
    28
    17
See reviews for
42
137
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gibraltar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I knew that the Jimesol was not in my favourite area of the town, but was not concerned because its in walking distance of the beach and the beautiful town centre. The reason we had to book was that everywhere else was sold out. I was not expecting too much as I had read others' reviews. We booked three smoking rooms and only got one, all rooms faced onto wells. The aircon in my room did not work properly. The worst experience was the breakfast, 3 of our party of 5, arrived in the dining room at 10:20 (breakfast finished at 10:30). We were totally ignored by the waiters. We got a table outside, which had not been laid. When we went in to get breakfast, we found machine juice and coffee. The actual selection was not too bad, normal buffet and cooked breakfast. We got our food, which was OK, but when we went for more at 10:30 they were clearing all the food, despite the fact that we were still there! After they had cleared most of the buffet, the waiter came and asked if we wanted anything else, to which I said it would be difficult given that he had taken everything - he ignored this. He then came and closed the door from the terrace to the dining room we were still there eating. We went out for breakfast the next day and will not return to the Jimesol.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juana1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Centrally located hotel in nice area. Varied and tasty menu. Helpful staff, particularly Carmen on reception who booked trips and taxis and gave us a good insight into the area. Rooms clean and the couple of issues we had with the shower were dealt with quickly and efficiently. On the downside, avoid room 304 as our view was of a brick wall about 8 feet away from the window and we felt this should have been disclosed prior to booking as we had requested a balcony.
The pool is only about 12 feet long so don't expect much of a swim here.
Overall, very good value for money and we had a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Enquire about the view via email prior to booking to ensure you are not facing the brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned from Nerja, and this hotel was great for exploring the town. The rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable, and breakfast was great, with a Full English option (so unusual for Spanish hotels) as well as fresh fruit, cold meats, cheese etc.
The hotel's not in a very pretty part of town, but only a few minutes to the main square, which is very picturesque. The only problem was the noise from the street below, If you go here, request a room at the back.

Room Tip: See earlier comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotdunroaminLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Average centrally located hotel, but food not so good, my advice is, eat out!

Room Tip: Very central hotel, but don't bother with the food, eat out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hadhams78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice hotel menu bit bland and repetitive, great location.Excellent staff extremely helpful,good value for money,tea and coffee in room would have been nice.Overall not bad and you get what you pay for basically.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbbvespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Went here for a week with my partner for her birthday.
Room was okay although no tea and coffee facilities, once over that paid 20 Euros for a remote control(refundable).

Room was cleaned daily with new towels and beds changed once within that week.
Breakfast was hit and miss really...good variety with the "continental" side but as far a having a cooked breakfast you will be disappointed.

Pool terrace was surprisingly large but dated and tired looking.

We regrettably stayed while a group of 30 plus group of revellers stayed for a wedding and their behaviour and language was really unacceptable, but thats the chance you take!

The restaurant and reception staff were extremely miserable and there was certainly no rapport and no attempt at "polite" conversation

The hotel however was central and I would certainly visit this truly lovely traditional town again

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank smillsCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#9 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#15 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#18 of 38 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#6 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#17 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jimesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jimesol

Property: Hotel Jimesol
Address: Calle Chaparil 16, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jimesol 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jimesol is a 3-star family run property ideally located 300 metres from the beach at the charming village of Nerja, in Costa del Sol. Nerja is a beautiful fishing village with whitewashed houses, just 50 km from Malaga city, featuring golden sandy beaches and cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Jimesol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jimesol Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing