We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Time!”
Review of Casa Charlotte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nerja
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Charlotte
Ranked #10 of 32 Nerja B&B and Inns
Lochristi, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality Time!”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Very hospitable reception by Frans and Nuttee, who do everything to offer their guests a perfect holiday. Very nice and quiet town, still very authentic. The flat is fully equipped and offers a lot of quality (satellite tv, airco, etc.). Books, beach chairs, towels are (freely) available. A lot of restaurants, bakers and grocers nearby. The beach is within walking distance (5 minutes). Situated in a quiet street while the very touristic part of Nerja (balcony of Europe etc) is only a few minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Calkri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We come to Casa Charlotte every Easter and have been doing so for 8 years. It is so superior to the apartment we used to rent and the location suits us being close to all our favourite tapas bars. The quality of the apartment and everything in it is exceptional. The bedding is more like what you would expect in a hotel! Frans and Nuttee are very welcoming and always update us on what has changed in the town since last year and Nuttee always keeps the apartment spotlessly clean. The kitchen has all the things you would need to cook any type of meal and glasses for every type of drink. It is also very useful having a washing machine and drying space on the terrace.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank IanParkes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed upstairs in the 2BR flat. If you want a great mix of comfort, charm, weather, value and great food, this is the place! Aside from the many charms of Nerja itself, Casa Charlotte is a real find. Frans and Nuttee are very dedicated to making sure their guests are well-informed, comfortable and taken care of. The apartment is roomy, VERY well-appointed (even the kitchen...I could cook pretty much everything, and there's a wonderful grocery down the street (out the front door, to the right, then right again). If you want only quiet and the sounds of the waves, it's not a match. If you like staying in a neighborhood, hearing the sounds of local children playing while you cook dinner, and wandering through narrow streets...if you like walking for 1-2 minutes and sitting with the locals watching a football game and sipping a beer... if you like beautiful weather, and sitting outside eating paella and sipping a beautiful wine, then come HERE! Big pluses: Rooftop BBQ (tho we never tried it), kitchen/eating area, bright and sunny, good TV choices, easy walk from the bus/no car needed, family neighborhood, good grocery and locals bars. Downsides (minor): a slight (VERY slight, but I have a super-sensitive nose) mustiness if the windows are closed, second bedroom was a little primitive (clip-on light for top bunk bed and little decoration, but FINE for kids) and the hood over the stove not too efficient, so can't cook things too smelly! See...MINOR!! Stay here...you won't regret it! Pretty much a luxury place at a bargain price!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghalsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed in the ground floor apartment which was spacious and well laid out and had every appliance that you could possible want including a great hifi system with a good selection of cd's. Satellite tv was also available with BBC, ITV and an excellent range of other English stations. we fully agrre with and endorse all the comments made by George Demeter on 21 Feb so there is no point in repeating them. The couch in the living room converts into a bed and was uncomfortable to sit on as the cushions kept sliding away from the back of the couch, and that is our only criticsm of this wonderful apartment. The apartment has been designed to suit a wheelchair user and would be excellent for this purpose. It was nice to feel part of the local community wit a bakery, a small convenience store and a restaurant/tapas bar within 25 metres of your front door.

Restaurants we enjoyed included La Taberna de Pepe around the corner on C / H Oria (Prawn coctails like they should be made & Prawns Pil Pil), Joanny's Cafeteria in Plaza de Olvido(Prawn salad with 9 different types of fresh fruits-delicious & refreshing and a wonderful fish stew for 2 that has to be ordered in advance) and Restaurant Sabor for tasty tapas (1.5 for a tapas and a glass of wine at the bar). Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David'snews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My wife and I spent 7 weeks at the beautiful Casa Charlotte in December 2010-January 2011. The apartment is wonderfully located within easy walking distance of everything beautiful in Nerja. In less than 10 minutes you can be at intimate Buriana Beach with its restaurants cooking paella on the beach - or meandering through narrow streets of downtown and making a decision where to have fabulous tapas and a great glass of wine. There are terrific restaurants and Tapas bars virtually a minute away from the apartment. In the morning - fresh croissants and take home cafe con leche only a minute away. Roof top garden of Casa Charlotte offers truly magnificent views in all directions. This is a very civilized and most wonderful way to spend your holidays. Most importantly, the apartment is excquisitly outfitted - even if you still manage to find something you absolutely need and don't find in the apartment - your hosts Frans and Nuttee will get it for you in no time. The apartment and the building are absolutely clean, beds in our apartment were terrific. In addition, the hosts Frans and Nuttee both have great sense of humour and are terrific conversionalists. Frans will also introduce Nerja to you and his recommendations are priceless. Friend recommended this spot to us and we want to recommend it to you! It is one terrific place to spend winter!!!!.
George and Kata Demeter
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeDemeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2011

There are lots of hotels and pensions in Nerja, but I am sure I did a correct choice.
The owner, Frans is so kind and helpful. I was alone in Nerja, but did not feel lonly, beause he taught me how to enjoy Nerja. His wife, Nuttee is very kind lady.
The room including shower room is very clean, bed is comfortable. I really want to stay again there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asuka_tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vught
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

On our first visit to Spain, Nerja proved the perfect choice. The great blue sunny sky above Nerja was one huge smile accompanying us everywhere during our nine day stay. Casa Charlotte really was part of that big smile, providing us as a family of four with an ideal base on a very nice street within the cosy historical town centre. Frans, the Belgian owner of the property, was very helpful from the moment of our first enquiry about the Casa. He was there to meet us at the bus station and then proudly showed us around our holiday home on the second floor of the Casa. As we found out during our stay, he and his wife Nuttee keep the home in perfect form as to cleanliness and household amenities. His little hall downstairs provides so much tourist information that it is a mini tourist office in itself. Frans was exactly the right host for us, very ably guessing the amount of attention we like best, and providing us with what proved to be a very nice selection of not-to-be missed activities in Nerja. Especially the late night Flamenco dance show at Burro Blanco bar was unforgettable.
We found Nerja to be exactly the easy-going beach resort we were hoping for. Leaving the cold and rainy Netherlands of late October behind, we found ourselves sitting on the sunny Nerja beaches in no time (we liked the small ones near the town centre most) and to our amazement we could even swim in the sea! There still were plenty of tourists around on the streets at night, most of them undoubtedly staying at the hotels and holiday villages strewn about Nerja and its surroundings. But Casa Charlotte is right within the old part of town, in one of those picturesque Mediterranean streets were the local atmosphere is still intact. Staying there gave us that extra bit of ‘Spain’ we certainly would not want to have missed. The sun, the beach, the picturesque streets of the town centre with Casa Charlotte neatly sitting in the middle: for us it was One Big Smile of a stay!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul54Vught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.7 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#14 of 37 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.9 mi away
Welcome Inn Nerja
Welcome Inn Nerja
#2 of 32 in Nerja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos HC Burriana Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Charlotte

Property: Casa Charlotte
Address: Calle San Pedro 16, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this typical Andalusian house there are three independent and luxurious apartments with free WiFi Internet. All apartments have English TV cahnnels including BBC1,2,3,4,ITV, Channel 4 and so forth. W can also prive through IPTV all English and Irish Sky channels, but for that there is an extra cost.The Parterre ( ground floor...And for Anglo Saxons the first floor) is equipped for guests using a wheelchair.The middle floor has two bedrooms of which one with a bunk bed.The upper floor has one bedroom and a lovely private terrace.Above the upper floor there is an unique sun terrace with Ocean- and mountain views and with a "Winter solarium".With the year around blooming geraniums and begonias is CASA CHARLOTTE a real "flower house."The reservations can be paid with Master- and Visa cards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing