We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in a lovely Spanish town”
Review of Hotel Plaza Cavana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location in a lovely Spanish town”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This is the third time we have stayed in the Hotel Plaza Cavana & find it meets our needs in a lovely Spanish town that we return to year after year although varying the accommodation depending on availability & value for money.
We always upgrade to a superior room as we like to be over looking the plaza, as there is something to see & feel part of, in the tree-lined square with a range of alfresco cafes. This time we were on the first floor & did find we had to have the windows & shutters closed at night to keep the street noises out!
The rooms are simply furnished & colour co-ordinated, spotlessly clean with a good sized bathroom, with both shower & bath. A nice touch is the fridge in the room & wall mounted TV - with English TV channels - you need to read the hotel information folder to see how to access them.
Breakfast is adequate - fresh fruit, cereals, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs & tomatoes. All was self service & able to make your own toast & lots of hot coffee - which was enough for us.
We only have stayed B&B as there are plenty of nice restaurants close to the hotel, our favourites included Meson Antonio, Restaurant 34, Bistro 39 & Bella Roma. We always called in for a nightcap & a coffee at the Plaza Cavana Cafeteria, a bar also frequented by locals, just at the entrance to the Plaza coming off the Balcon.
We spent very little time in the hotel, choosing usually to go to Burianna beach about a 20min walk away. On the couple of occasions we used the rooftop sun terrace & pool area, it was quiet with a number of free sunbeds, we missed the fact that the rooftop bar or chill-out music was not available during this stay.
Reception staff were very helpful & offered & provided a packed breakfast to take with us when we left for our early morning flight home.
Once again we really enjoyed our time in Nerja & at the Hotel Plaza Cavana & hope to be back for another holiday soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    164
    52
    14
    8
See reviews for
60
236
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I was also given a room (216) with a view of the wall like an earlier review. However changed it there and then, maybe I was lucky rooms were available but the staff could not have been more helpful

Next room was fine, clean and tidy. The location is the main attraction in the square and around the corner from the balcon de europa

Overall not bad at all and worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Just come back from here. Had a great holiday. We have two children 7 and 3 both were catered for and the staff were friendly.
The hotel is very clean, has everything you need. Nice little pool on the roof. Nice little bar area.
But the best part of the hotel is its location. Right in the heart of the town by the church and on the plaza square. You can sit in your room and people watch all day.. Not noisy though.

My advice to anyone would be to ask for a room on the front of the hotel so you can look at the square. Also we were on the back and the street behind at night was noisy with deliveries and cars etc.

Also the parking is 10Euros per day and parking in Nerja can be limited so bear this in mind if you have a car.

On the whole a very good hotel for young and old. less than 5 mins to the beach and right where you would want to be.

Gareth

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garethandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We booked the Plaza Cavana as part of a flight/hotel package. The hotel is right at the heart of the attractive resort of Nerja, being a couple of minutes walk from the Balcon de Europa and the nearest beach. The whole area is packed with restaurants, cafes and bars, so one doesn't have to go far to find a decent evening meal. The hotel is small and has smallish rooms with twin beds which are comfortable enough, but hot due to the plastic undersheets. Everything was clean and tidy, though some of the bathroom fittings could do with an update. Breakfast was typical serve yourself continental style with fresh and tinned fruit, juices, hot drinks, meat, cheese, tomatoes, cerals, yoghurts, bread rolls etc.
The room choice is either that of overlooking the plaza, which can be noisy late at night and early morning, or overlooking a small inner courtyard - uninteresting but quiet except for birdsong. I didn't expect 5 star luxury for this price, but it was better and cleaner than a supposedly superior hotel in the town that we stayed at a few years ago.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireElgordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Manga Spain
Level Contributor
299 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Very difficult to find and park, breakfast just awful and the rooms very basic with uncomfortable beds, we didn't stay a second night..........

Room Tip: do they have one??
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

The hotel is approx 1 hour away from the airport (malaga airport), this is if you get a coach, we decided to get the bus as it was a lot cheaper which took approx 2 hours, but it felt like more of an adventure. It took quite a while though to get there, having to wait for buses etc, we done it to save money but we would get the coach next time. The hotel is in a great location, by all the bars and restaurants and balcon de europe, was really close to everywere. We went in january though so it was really quiet, was a great location but you would benefit from this more in the summer months as a lot of places were closed. The staff were really friendly, always smiled at us, we felt really welcome. The hotel was very quiet though as it was january so the staff were abit bored by the look of it, think we were the only guests. The hotel was lovely, very clean, no dirt anywere. There were lifts in the hotel, which was good for our heavy bags. The room was very cosy, small, was enough for the two of us. The room was quite old fashioned though, could do with modernizing, and our view was rubbish it was of some trees and nothing else in a court yard so we didnt have a view of the front which i wish we had. The beds were very comfortable, couldnt get up sometimes, always had a nice sleep. We asked for a double bed but it was two single beds put together so sometimes you fall down the middle, not sure why they do that. There was no iron in the room, so we had to buy a cheap one for while we were there, they have a laundry service but its quite expensive and you dont get you clothes back for at least 24 hours which was no good for us. There was a two pools in the hotel, an outside one and a inside one. The outside pool is only open in the summer, it looked small but adequate. We would stay here again, it was friendly and good for what we paid and in an excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrine1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Got away to here late Feb early March to celebrate a significant birthday & take a winter break.
Re- previous coments about the breakfast's. This is a continental hotel where you find a perfectly adequate continental breakfast. From memory, here's what's available - 3 different tinned fruits, fresh fruit (kiwis, bananas, apples),yoghurt, cheese( sliced), ham, salami, tomatoes, hard boiled egg,coffee from an urn or instant, tea ( 3 types) , hot & cold milk, croissants + 4 types of other bread ( & a large toaster if required), butter, jams, cereals ( muesli or cornflakes ( sugared or not). What else could you want? (if its a "full English" then please stay at a full English hotel ! An added bonus is that breakfast is served intil 10.45 a.m. - hence offering the possibility of a very welcome lie-in for late risers.
The hotel restaurant was closed while we were there, but was no way missed - there are so many great places within walking distance ( a quick search on here will find them).
Re the noise issue, then I would concur with previous comments, in view of which I emailed the hotel & requested a back room, but got one at the side, which, with passing traffic in the narrow street below wasn't much better than the front & worse if there happens to be an amplified humpy thump going on a the town hall plaza (a block away).
Re parking. Unless you really need to park in the hotel car park, use the free & large car park 5-10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#8 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#6 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Cavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Cavana

Property: Hotel Plaza Cavana
Address: Plaza Cavana 10, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nerja
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Cavana 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza Cavana is a small and friendly 3 star hotel boasting a wonderful location in the heart of Nerja , beside the famous Balcony of Europe and the shopping & leisure center of town, nearby the main beaches and coves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Cavana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Cavana Hotel
Plaza Cavana Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing