We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Experience - Ian and Jane were Incredible Hosts!”
Review of Hostal Miguel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Miguel
Ranked #9 of 33 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed at Hostal Miguel for three nights in mid August and couldn't have been happier with the accommodations, locale, and hospitality. We couldn't get enough of the stunning rooftop terrace (evenings with beers, books, and sunsets) and our charming street loaded with great tapas bars and restaurants. The five minute walk to the beach was convenient for our low key planning and perfect in case we needed to run back to our room to pick something up. The thing that stood out most was when Jane first introduced herself and brought us up to the terrace and offered us beverages and a quick tutorial of the town and its neighborhood gems. Thanks for everything Jane and Ian! Best of luck to you both.

Cameron and Sara

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cameronbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 241 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

My sister and I recently stayed at Hostal Miguel in Nerja - had planned for only 1 night but stayed for 3. The accommodation is right in the middle of town, close to shops, restaurants and 2 of the several beaches are only 5 mins stroll away. Jan and Ian, the owners, welcomed us like long lost friends and couldn't do enough to help us. They pride themselves in providing a personal and comfortable stay. The room was quite simple but elegently furnished, the bed comfy and hot water in abundant supply! There is a gorgeous little roof top terrace overlooking the town where Ian will cook you a sumptious and beautifully presented breakfast for a small charge. I would highly recommend this quaint and personal hostal and hope to visit again some time in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

this place felt like home. the hosts were wonderful and if u were going to the beach, they would provide u with the towels, toys, and blow-up rafts to have a wonderful time. i would 100% recommend this hostal because it is way better than a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I first learned of Hostal Miguel from Rick Steves' travel guide. I selected this place to stay after reading many of the reviews on Trip Advisor. As mentioned many times before in other reviews, this place is a gem. The location is great and there is nearby parking. The greatest thing about this place is the the owners, Ian and Jane. They were so friendly and helpful. My wife and I traveled with our 8 year old daughter, and Jane went the extra mile to make our daughter feel welcome and enjoy her time there. The breakfasts were great, and eating them on the rooftop terrace provided an excellent start to our days. The room was very clean. There wasn't a TV, but that was no big deal since we didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyway. They did provide a small refridgerator so we could keep cold drinks handy. They also had plenty of books, magazines, and board games available to borrow. My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Hostal Miguel!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

After travelling to Nerja for the past 15 years, this is the little gem I have missed......until now! If you want the pampering of a 5 star hotel, with their fancy pools (who needs that with those glorious beaches!) restaurants (who needs those with a thousand to choose from!) then Hostal Miguel is not for you.
But if you want a quality place to stay, right in the centre, with ALL the amenities from home, then this is the ONLY place in the whole of Nerja.
I've stayed in villa's, rented apartments, hotels and private houses in Nerja and without a doubt, Hostal Miguel beats them all hands down!
And when you look at the unbeatable prices.......just dont go anywhere else.
Ian and Jane made us sooooooo welcome from the beginning, and made our 11 day stay with them a pleasure that is not counted in euros, pounds, yen or any other currency you can mention! There was not a single aspect of our stay there that I could fault. Although the 5am dustbinmen did wake us up, but only if you were at the front of the property. But hey, Ian mentioned this when I made the booking and it was MY choice to have a beautiful front room with a delightful Juliet balcony!!!
But beware!!!
Ian and Jane are people of the world and do NOT suffer fools gladly. But if you want great, honest, straight talking hosts, who will help you any way they can, this is the place for you.
My fiancee and I hope to get married in Nerja next year and we will gladly, happily, choose Hostal Miguel for our honeymoon stay.
We couldnt choose a better place.
Please feel free to e.mail me on mralanjardine@gmail.com if you want any more info.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyguyBojnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We recently stayed with Ian and Jane while in Nerja. They were wonderful hosts, the hotel is centrally located, within a 5 min walk to the Balcony of Europe and numerous beaches. They had lovely restaurant suggestions, and we would love to return next time we're in S. Spain.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bolkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We recently stayed with Ian and Jane while in Nerja for a friend's wedding. It was just perfect as we needed somewhere cheap and cheerful, central and easy.

Hostal Miguel ticked all the boxes. Ian and Jane are incredibly friendly and were just lovely and so helpful. Ian gave us a map on arrival and marked all the good restaurants and bars along the way :)
Breakfast is pre-ordered and we would certainly recommend the scrambled eggs, not to mention the delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. The guesthouse is filled with lovely art, local crafts, and has a beautiful rooftop terrace for breakfast or relaxing on in the evening.

Nothing was too much for Ian and Jane and they even emailed us to see if we had arrived home same and sound. Would definitely recommend it and we'd stay there again without doubt :)
Thanks Ian and Jane for a lovely stay. Best wishes, Karen & Mark :)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenbackoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#11 of 37 in Nerja
421 reviews
0.5 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#20 of 37 in Nerja
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Miguel

Address: Calle Almirante Ferrandiz 31, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range: $48 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal Miguel - a nine bedroom, friendly guesthouse built in a typical Andalucían style in the heart of Nerja on the south coast of Spain. Our aim is to provide you with a memorable stay by ensuring you get the most out of both the hostal and the varied activities on offer in Nerja and the surrounding area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Miguel Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing