We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the place and the British owners”
Review of Hostal Miguel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Miguel
Ranked #9 of 31 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love the place and the British owners”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I love the place and the British owners. Clean and nice. In the center. Nice preakfast on the terrace. And they were so helpful. Highly recommended. ... No more words neede..........................:-)

Room Tip: Ask for a calm room if you like - I did and got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Åke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
euroblade, Owner at Hostal Miguel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thankyou for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards - Ian & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    35
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
29
116
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Exceptionally well situated close to shops, bus station, bars and restaurants serving the finest locally sourced food.
Family run - very friendly and helpful (nothing is too much trouble). A typical Spanish building, very clean and well presented with an added bonus of a roof terrace to enjoy the sun. We loved our holiday and will definitely be going back. Dawn

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angusbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal M, Propietario at Hostal Miguel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thankyou for your kind comments - We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us - hopefully we may see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This review has been edited following a strongly worded personal email from the hostel owners demanding our previous review's removal on the basis that it was too personal. Having read through other reviews, it would seem that many guests to this hostal who have posted negative reviews are corrected and at fault for whatever problem was experienced, which is perhaps more telling than the reviews themselves. However, we feel that this repost of our review is fair and addresses both the many pros and the one con of our stay. We hope that we will not be blamed or made to feel guilty for our own feelings on the matter and that this review will be treated as personal opinion - as tripadvisor is intended.

We booked a stay in Hostal Miguel for 7 nights, as a final getaway before our first baby will be born. The rooms were very clean, towels changed daily (which was nice if not necessary!), location was fantastic. We were offered one of the front rooms instead of the back, which although a little noisy (the garbage truck goes past at 4-5 am and it sounds like someone is rolling barrels full of empty bottles down the hill) but we got the morning sun which was exactly what we were after. Both Ian and Jane were very helpful and we were pointed in multiple directions towards nice bars, restaurants, beaches and other sights.

The only downside of our trip was when it came to paying. We decided to volunteer at a Marbella animal shelter (Where our dog came from) for the final day of our trip, and gave Ian and Jane plenty (a couple of days I think) warning that we would not be staying the final night and they assured us that this was no problem and there was no mention of contracts or official policies that would suggest that this was an issue. Even when traveling in the poorest of Asian countries we have found that hostel staff have always understood that travelers change their plans and prior bookings change, and given both of our many years of traveling we have never had an issue with this before. This was not the case at Hostal Miguel, and we were charged for the final night despite not staying there - being told that a 'Spanish hostel would have charged up front' (which is odd logic, but so it is). To be fair (and as the hostel owners reminded in their email to us - a 'gesture of goodwill') the price was rounded down 12€, but we still payed 30€ for nothing. Regardless of whatever official policy may exist, our own 'gesture of goodwill' in giving advance notice, and given that there were empty rooms in the hostel so they were clearly not missing out on making other bookings for this night, we felt this was pretty stingy. Given that we struggled to afford this trip as it was, we felt this left a sour end to our otherwise enjoyable stay.

For that reason alone, perhaps next time we will stay at a Spanish hostel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed with Ian & Jane from 15/11 to 18/11 with my partner & 2 friends. Had a truly wonderful time. The accommodation, hospitality & breakfasts were all historic. Cannot wait to go back. Fabulous location with superb restaurants & bars.

This place is a gem & I hesitate in making it too public!!!!

EG

Room Tip: Be guided by your hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very relaxing stay in the heart of the old Nerja town. The location was superb! Few minutes from the lovely beach and right in the middle of all the beautiful restaurants and lovely shops. Very nice hosts, friendly and accurate. Nothing to complain! Easy parking as well, very close.

Room Tip: we had a quiet room at the backside, which was great, no noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hostal is situated right in the vibrant little streets of Nerja. Its within easy walking distance of everywhere you need.

From the minute we arrived we felt totally welcome. Jane and Ian are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and they have genuinely made our holiday!!

We had a lovely twin room with a balcony where we watched life go by on the busy little street below and a little bathroom (amazing shower) and a fridge. Clean towels and crisp bed linen were changed regularly and there is a little fairy who made our beds and spruced our room every morning.

Breakfasts are amazing, we would recommend Ian's scrambled egg without doubt!

We have had a truly amazing holiday!! Ian and Jane are the most lovely people I have met in a long time and we will both be coming back for definite!!

5* for everything!!

Love from

Alison and Vicky xxxxxxxxxx


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barnesy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose Hostal Miguel for our 3-night stay in Nerja because it is located in the heart of Nerja at an extremely reasonable price. It's a 2-minute walk to the Balcon de Europa and 5 minutes to the nearest beach. Parking is available across the way, and shops and restaurants are located outside the front door. The hostel also boasts a lovely rooftop terrace and many conveniences, such as parasols to take to the beach. The host was very helpful and kind, offering excellent restaurant suggestions, reduced parking in the lot across the way, and a quiet room with an infant cot for our daughter. For a couple, this is THE place to stay, hands down. For a family, you may want to consider that the rooms are small, and the hostel does not have A/C (we stayed in September and our room was unbearably hot for our taste and affected baby's sleep), though most hostels in Nerja don't have A/C. Noise from the restaurant nextdoor could be heard until about midnight. Despite these inconveniences we would definitely stay here again - the price/value ratio can't be beat.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are available at the back of the hostel. Ask the host for restaurant recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilibug_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#7 of 37 in Nerja
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Don Peque
Hostal Don Peque
#13 of 37 in Nerja
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#17 of 37 in Nerja
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Miguel

Property: Hostal Miguel
Address: Calle Almirante Ferrandiz 31, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal Miguel - a nine bedroom, friendly guesthouse built in a typical Andalucían style in the heart of Nerja on the south coast of Spain. Our aim is to provide you with a memorable stay by ensuring you get the most out of both the hostal and the varied activities on offer in Nerja and the surrounding area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Miguel Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing