We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great until the bill...”
Review of Hostal Miguel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Miguel
Ranked #9 of 32 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great until the bill...”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This review has been edited following a strongly worded personal email from the hostel owners demanding our previous review's removal on the basis that it was too personal. Having read through other reviews, it would seem that many guests to this hostal who have posted negative reviews are corrected and at fault for whatever problem was experienced, which is perhaps more telling than the reviews themselves. However, we feel that this repost of our review is fair and addresses both the many pros and the one con of our stay. We hope that we will not be blamed or made to feel guilty for our own feelings on the matter and that this review will be treated as personal opinion - as tripadvisor is intended.

We booked a stay in Hostal Miguel for 7 nights, as a final getaway before our first baby will be born. The rooms were very clean, towels changed daily (which was nice if not necessary!), location was fantastic. We were offered one of the front rooms instead of the back, which although a little noisy (the garbage truck goes past at 4-5 am and it sounds like someone is rolling barrels full of empty bottles down the hill) but we got the morning sun which was exactly what we were after. Both Ian and Jane were very helpful and we were pointed in multiple directions towards nice bars, restaurants, beaches and other sights.

The only downside of our trip was when it came to paying. We decided to volunteer at a Marbella animal shelter (Where our dog came from) for the final day of our trip, and gave Ian and Jane plenty (a couple of days I think) warning that we would not be staying the final night and they assured us that this was no problem and there was no mention of contracts or official policies that would suggest that this was an issue. Even when traveling in the poorest of Asian countries we have found that hostel staff have always understood that travelers change their plans and prior bookings change, and given both of our many years of traveling we have never had an issue with this before. This was not the case at Hostal Miguel, and we were charged for the final night despite not staying there - being told that a 'Spanish hostel would have charged up front' (which is odd logic, but so it is). To be fair (and as the hostel owners reminded in their email to us - a 'gesture of goodwill') the price was rounded down 12€, but we still payed 30€ for nothing. Regardless of whatever official policy may exist, our own 'gesture of goodwill' in giving advance notice, and given that there were empty rooms in the hostel so they were clearly not missing out on making other bookings for this night, we felt this was pretty stingy. Given that we struggled to afford this trip as it was, we felt this left a sour end to our otherwise enjoyable stay.

For that reason alone, perhaps next time we will stay at a Spanish hostel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    36
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
30
119
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed with Ian & Jane from 15/11 to 18/11 with my partner & 2 friends. Had a truly wonderful time. The accommodation, hospitality & breakfasts were all historic. Cannot wait to go back. Fabulous location with superb restaurants & bars.

This place is a gem & I hesitate in making it too public!!!!

EG

Room Tip: Be guided by your hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Kerry, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very relaxing stay in the heart of the old Nerja town. The location was superb! Few minutes from the lovely beach and right in the middle of all the beautiful restaurants and lovely shops. Very nice hosts, friendly and accurate. Nothing to complain! Easy parking as well, very close.

Room Tip: we had a quiet room at the backside, which was great, no noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hostal is situated right in the vibrant little streets of Nerja. Its within easy walking distance of everywhere you need.

From the minute we arrived we felt totally welcome. Jane and Ian are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and they have genuinely made our holiday!!

We had a lovely twin room with a balcony where we watched life go by on the busy little street below and a little bathroom (amazing shower) and a fridge. Clean towels and crisp bed linen were changed regularly and there is a little fairy who made our beds and spruced our room every morning.

Breakfasts are amazing, we would recommend Ian's scrambled egg without doubt!

We have had a truly amazing holiday!! Ian and Jane are the most lovely people I have met in a long time and we will both be coming back for definite!!

5* for everything!!

Love from

Alison and Vicky xxxxxxxxxx


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barnesy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose Hostal Miguel for our 3-night stay in Nerja because it is located in the heart of Nerja at an extremely reasonable price. It's a 2-minute walk to the Balcon de Europa and 5 minutes to the nearest beach. Parking is available across the way, and shops and restaurants are located outside the front door. The hostel also boasts a lovely rooftop terrace and many conveniences, such as parasols to take to the beach. The host was very helpful and kind, offering excellent restaurant suggestions, reduced parking in the lot across the way, and a quiet room with an infant cot for our daughter. For a couple, this is THE place to stay, hands down. For a family, you may want to consider that the rooms are small, and the hostel does not have A/C (we stayed in September and our room was unbearably hot for our taste and affected baby's sleep), though most hostels in Nerja don't have A/C. Noise from the restaurant nextdoor could be heard until about midnight. Despite these inconveniences we would definitely stay here again - the price/value ratio can't be beat.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are available at the back of the hostel. Ask the host for restaurant recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilibug_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We found Nerja almost at random searching for a sun holiday the two things that called us were the videos on YouTube about the town and the reviews of the town and of course Hostel Miguel.

We spent a week enjoying the hospitality of Ian and Jane and found the stay absolutely delightful

We got a room in the back and felt totally isolated from the action right outside the front door. No noise issues at all. I had read about the restaurant kitchen smell, restaurants surround the hotel, smells that bothered some guests. We found the smells delightful and not at all too intense. It was almost a shock each time we left the Hostel and stepped out into the middle of the bustling tourist town centre.

Ian was very helpful with information about going out...the beach gear (paddle ball rafts towels etc...) not only made packing easier but provided more than we could have thought to pack.

Breakfast was lovely and ready as ordered. Sadly when it rains the terrace dinning is closed.

The terrace had lovely views of the "territory" as well as the sea and mountains.

Unless you are looking for AC and large suites I cannot think of a better place to stay

Room Tip: read the other reviews about rooms and then just call Ian
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irwin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We came to nerja for a relaxing beach escape. Hostal Miguel provided a perfect base, great central location, five mins walk from the balcon and nicest beach. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Our hosts couldn't do more to help make our stay perfect...especially Ian's scrambled egg breakfast yum! Great value for money too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuckooclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
214 reviews
1.8 mi away
Al-Andalus Hotel
Al-Andalus Hotel
#27 of 37 in Nerja
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Miguel

Property: Hostal Miguel
Address: Calle Almirante Ferrandiz 31, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal Miguel - a nine bedroom, friendly guesthouse built in a typical Andalucían style in the heart of Nerja on the south coast of Spain. Our aim is to provide you with a memorable stay by ensuring you get the most out of both the hostal and the varied activities on offer in Nerja and the surrounding area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Miguel Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing