We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Long Weekend”
Review of Hostal Miguel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Miguel
Ranked #8 of 31 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Long Weekend”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed with Ian & Jane from 15/11 to 18/11 with my partner & 2 friends. Had a truly wonderful time. The accommodation, hospitality & breakfasts were all historic. Cannot wait to go back. Fabulous location with superb restaurants & bars.

This place is a gem & I hesitate in making it too public!!!!

EG

Room Tip: Be guided by your hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    35
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
28
116
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenmare, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very relaxing stay in the heart of the old Nerja town. The location was superb! Few minutes from the lovely beach and right in the middle of all the beautiful restaurants and lovely shops. Very nice hosts, friendly and accurate. Nothing to complain! Easy parking as well, very close.

Room Tip: we had a quiet room at the backside, which was great, no noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hostal is situated right in the vibrant little streets of Nerja. Its within easy walking distance of everywhere you need.

From the minute we arrived we felt totally welcome. Jane and Ian are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them and they have genuinely made our holiday!!

We had a lovely twin room with a balcony where we watched life go by on the busy little street below and a little bathroom (amazing shower) and a fridge. Clean towels and crisp bed linen were changed regularly and there is a little fairy who made our beds and spruced our room every morning.

Breakfasts are amazing, we would recommend Ian's scrambled egg without doubt!

We have had a truly amazing holiday!! Ian and Jane are the most lovely people I have met in a long time and we will both be coming back for definite!!

5* for everything!!

Love from

Alison and Vicky xxxxxxxxxx


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barnesy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose Hostal Miguel for our 3-night stay in Nerja because it is located in the heart of Nerja at an extremely reasonable price. It's a 2-minute walk to the Balcon de Europa and 5 minutes to the nearest beach. Parking is available across the way, and shops and restaurants are located outside the front door. The hostel also boasts a lovely rooftop terrace and many conveniences, such as parasols to take to the beach. The host was very helpful and kind, offering excellent restaurant suggestions, reduced parking in the lot across the way, and a quiet room with an infant cot for our daughter. For a couple, this is THE place to stay, hands down. For a family, you may want to consider that the rooms are small, and the hostel does not have A/C (we stayed in September and our room was unbearably hot for our taste and affected baby's sleep), though most hostels in Nerja don't have A/C. Noise from the restaurant nextdoor could be heard until about midnight. Despite these inconveniences we would definitely stay here again - the price/value ratio can't be beat.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are available at the back of the hostel. Ask the host for restaurant recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilibug_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We found Nerja almost at random searching for a sun holiday the two things that called us were the videos on YouTube about the town and the reviews of the town and of course Hostel Miguel.

We spent a week enjoying the hospitality of Ian and Jane and found the stay absolutely delightful

We got a room in the back and felt totally isolated from the action right outside the front door. No noise issues at all. I had read about the restaurant kitchen smell, restaurants surround the hotel, smells that bothered some guests. We found the smells delightful and not at all too intense. It was almost a shock each time we left the Hostel and stepped out into the middle of the bustling tourist town centre.

Ian was very helpful with information about going out...the beach gear (paddle ball rafts towels etc...) not only made packing easier but provided more than we could have thought to pack.

Breakfast was lovely and ready as ordered. Sadly when it rains the terrace dinning is closed.

The terrace had lovely views of the "territory" as well as the sea and mountains.

Unless you are looking for AC and large suites I cannot think of a better place to stay

Room Tip: read the other reviews about rooms and then just call Ian
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irwin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We came to nerja for a relaxing beach escape. Hostal Miguel provided a perfect base, great central location, five mins walk from the balcon and nicest beach. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Our hosts couldn't do more to help make our stay perfect...especially Ian's scrambled egg breakfast yum! Great value for money too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuckooclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is absolutely amazing!!
The hostel is driven by a super nice couple, Ian and Jane. They are just wonderful, very helpful and the service was incredible. They have everything you need of maps, parasol and other beach stuff.The house is very beautiful with a roofterrasse, open all day and evening. Here breakfast is served in the morning, its just beautiful.(I recommend full English breakfast with fresh orange juice.)

But best of all was our room, double bed, refrigerator, a little nice bathroom (with hottub) and a really nice balcony. The location is also just perfect, a lot of restaurants in the street.

If you planning to visit Nerja this is without a doubt the best place to stay! I will definitely come back!
Thank you Ian and Jane for making our vacation the best ever!
Hugs from Norway, Eivind og Anine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.5 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#8 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#18 of 37 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Miguel

Property: Hostal Miguel
Address: Calle Almirante Ferrandiz 31, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal Miguel - a nine bedroom, friendly guesthouse built in a typical Andalucían style in the heart of Nerja on the south coast of Spain. Our aim is to provide you with a memorable stay by ensuring you get the most out of both the hostal and the varied activities on offer in Nerja and the surrounding area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Miguel Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing