We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
186
38
15
2
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
38
15
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracebars and restaurantscentral locationeach morninglocation is greatcouple of nightsjanehostsbeachesearplugsbalconies
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 249 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We came to nerja for a relaxing beach escape. Hostal Miguel provided a perfect base, great central location, five mins walk from the balcon and nicest beach. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Our hosts couldn't do more to help make our stay perfect...especially Ian's scrambled egg breakfast yum! Great value for money too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuckooclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is absolutely amazing!!
The hostel is driven by a super nice couple, Ian and Jane. They are just wonderful, very helpful and the service was incredible. They have everything you need of maps, parasol and other beach stuff.The house is very beautiful with a roofterrasse, open all day and evening. Here breakfast is served in the morning, its just beautiful.(I recommend full English breakfast with fresh orange juice.)

But best of all was our room, double bed, refrigerator, a little nice bathroom (with hottub) and a really nice balcony. The location is also just perfect, a lot of restaurants in the street.

If you planning to visit Nerja this is without a doubt the best place to stay! I will definitely come back!
Thank you Ian and Jane for making our vacation the best ever!
Hugs from Norway, Eivind og Anine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have been to Nerja several times and have always wanted to stay in Hostal Miguel but has never had any availability, this year we were in luck.

We were greeted by the lovely Jane and Ian on the day of our arrival and were provided with everything we needed; beach umbrella, beach towels, beach mats, bat and ball, lilo, hair dryer and books, the list goes on! All free of charge :)

The hostal is cleaned everyday and towels and bedding changed every other day. Jane and Ian are fantastic host and are very welcoming but not over bearing (well they are from Sheffield!!).
Their roof top terrace is fabulous and they're more than happy for you to enjoy a bottle of wine or even a take away up there till late evening.

Would recommend to anyone staying in Nerja and wants to be in the heart of the Old Town.

Thanks again for a lovely holiday!

Room Tip: 101 very quite a night but so central when you walk out the front door.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Pros
Cleanness + daily cleaning service
Room not as hot although no A/C
Furniture adequate to price
Renters let me stay until 8PM of the last day (under the condition that I'll have me bag packed, so if anyone shows up they will put it elsewhere).

Cons
Poor WiFi coverage
Horrible fumes from nearby restaurants (around dinner/lunch time) - exhausts are very close to the room 202 and terrace
Neighboring rooms can see to each other's room when the balcony or window in the toilet is open
The quality of the nearby beaches is poor due to lack of sewage treatment facility

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
euroblade, Owner at Pension Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to submit a review of our hostal. We would like to respond to a few of the comments. We let this guest keep the room as we were not expecting other guests that day though they themselves suggested they would pack up their belongings in case we had the opportunity to sell the room. I think that their reference to this act of goodwill comes across as flippant but perhaps it may be a language interpretation. The wifi coverage was explained at check-in and it is available in most rooms and public places. With regard to the fumes mentioned, we are in the centre of town surrounded by restaurants and it is inevitable that some food smells are apparent at some point - we did question guests in adjoining rooms regarding this guest´s comments but no-one else had concerns. If it had caused so much discomfort we would have gladly done our best to relocate this guest if only they had come to us at the time of their stay. With regard to seeing in other guest´s rooms - the room this guest was in has a small bathroom window which is opposite the balcony of another room across an atrium - it is difficult to see into that other room. However, we are glad that on the whole this guest enjoyed their stay with us although disappointed concerns were not voiced during that stay - we are very approachable and would have dealt with any problems timeously and professionally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed 11 nights June 2013. Location of the hostal is right in the heart of Nerja life as most reviewers state. We stayed in room 102 at the back of the hostal which has a lovely atmosphere as soon as you enter. Our room was quiet and cool - although we did use ceiling fan provided when needed - because of the typical old Spanish building design and a window onto an open space filled with plants. Room was plainly furnished with pops of colour, fridge - such a bonus - and the bathroom had constant hot water and a good shower. We were also given a kettle, teabags and milk to use as we love our cuppas. Jane and Ian were perfect hosts - attentive but unobtrusive. Nothing was too much trouble. All the little extras - beach brolly, beach towel, mosquito spray were offered without hesitation and out of a desire to make us feel as if we were staying as a guest in their own home. We used the terrace most nights for a beer or glass of wine and every morning taking our own continental breakfast bought from local shops with us. Lovely library of books and travel guides were perfect for me as I'm an avid reader. Would I recommend Hostal Miguel? In a heartbeat. We will definitely be back and use Nerja as a base. Recommend to visit Frigiliana. We were lucky enough to be there on a feast day so enjoyed the full spanish cultural experience. Also there are a number of beaches - big and small - but at this time of year were not busy. Lots of places to eat and drink and ice creams to die for.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the street with bars and shops so are noisier till late but are right in the centre of things if that's what you like.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatSClarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews