We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food worth waiting for....”
Review of Bakus

Bakus
Ranked #8 of 395 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“food worth waiting for....”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very well positioned in a pedestrianised street and with sea view from the terrace, Bakhus certainly creates a good first impression. Service was a bit dozy, but our drinks eventually arrived whilst we scoured through the varied modern menu. Starters of mozzarella salad and duck salad took an age to arrive but were really very good, fresh and well presented.

After a further wait mains proved a triumph. My loin of cod on a bed of white beans showed a great concentration of flavour, the fish dense and very fresh. A superb, simple plate of food! My desert a bit of a disappointment. Overall I would describe this as a very good food experience; had we been under any sort of time pressure we would have had a different view. The kitchen clearly works to high standards; I wonder if they need more hands?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christopher e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    157
    43
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having heard good reports we made a visit but unfortunately I cannot concur. The service was almost non existant and not welcoming having to wait 55 mins for our starters on what was not a busy night
The main course eventually arrived and was average at best and although apologies were given for the delay the damage was done
At no time did we see anyone other than the waiter and having expressed our views to him discreetly felt that senior staff would have enquired as to our dissatisfaction
We are regular diners in Nerja over many years and do hope that management take these views into account

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wtg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick, ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent new addition to Nerja's restaurants!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had an evening meal (2 couples) to celebrate my 40th birthday (which they remembered from booking and sang happy birthday in Spanish to me........lovely surprise!). Everything was perfect for our evening from the appetiser to desserts the food was amazing. The staff very friendly and courteous (never failed to wave at us everytime we passed by). Top class food and the price was amazing for the full menu with 2 bottles of delicious Rioja, an Irish coffee and dessert wines.......€150 incredible! Cannot recommend it highly enough, we loved it so much that we returned for lunch a couple of days later.....mussels, haddock, lambs liver, ox burger....all of it mouth-watering, followed by amazing desserts! Will definitely be returning in the future!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourdon, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“THIS CHEF CAN DO NO WRONG. SUPERB.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We waited eagerly to see where this 'masterchef' and his staff would re-emerge following their departure from Calabaza. How delighted we were to find they had totally revamped this old bar into yet another first class restaurant. Food, either lunchtime or evening is first class, presented by courteous professional staff, and prices are very reasonable. Our winter stays in Nerja could well see us eating here on a weekly basis.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viperaberus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top food with great service.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

If you want to experience great food with a friendly professional service look no further. The choice of both food a wines are impressive with great specials and good enough to make us visit twice in our short four day stay! Defiantly one to visit, see you in August.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakus also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Bakus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing