We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer holiday”
Review of Nerja Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nerja Club
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We'd been recommended Nerja for a summer holiday and the hotel decision was "4 star on the beach" or "3 star 20 minutes walk inland". What a good decision it was to go inland to the Nerja Club. The (expensive) 4 star was huge, impersonal and loud around the pool - you have to have a walk to see what you didn't book, don't you! The (very reasonable) Nerja Club was exactly the opposite. It was much smaller, quiet and relaxing. The food and drink were good and the staff very helpful.
Both the beach and the town centre were about 15 minutes downhill (and 20 minutes back!), and therefore comfortably within reach if you fancy a change of scenery.
Excellent value and we'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: High rooms overlooking the Med had good views and bigger balconies. We had a room at the front above...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel. Hope to see you here again soon. You can follow our news on Facebook.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
There are newer reviews for Nerja Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

We visited Nerja in August 2014 and looked for a hotel that we could use as a base both for exploring the sights of Andalusia and having one or two quieter days by the pool. Nerja Club met our requirements perfectly. From the moment we checked in at reception to the moment we checked out we found the staff to be, without exception, both polite and helpful. On a couple of occasions we had early starts on day trips to Cordoba and Granada and, as long as we asked the day before, the hotel were happy to provide us with an early continental breakfast. From the hotel it was a 15-20 minute walk into Nerja to the balcon de europa and 45 minutes in the opposite direction to the Nerja caves. Our room was spotless and was serviced daily. Our only disappointment was that the balcony looked out directly onto the supermarket across the road however, as we were out most of the time, for us this was a minor point. The pool area was well presented. Every morning there was the 9.30 scramble for a sunbed which were padlocked overnight so if sunbathing your thing you need to be quick off the mark! Breakfast was a combination of the usual continental fayre complemented by an attempt at a full English cooked option. The fried eggs, tomatoes and beans were fine but the sausages and bacon were disappointing. The three course dinner was a buffet affair with a wide selection to suit most tastes. All in all if you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel for a stay in the Nerja area then Nerja Club ticks most of the boxes.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms starting with a 1 eg 125. This is actually the lower ground floor and you'l...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed here for 1 week from the 17th August 2014. We wanted a relaxing week in the sun and this is exactly what we got. The hotel is spotless, with staff that are helpful and friendly. Our room although small accommodated 2 adults plus our 6ft 14yr old, the air conditioning was fab so too was the fridge that we hired. With 2 supermarkets a stones throw from the hotel it was easy to keep the fridge stocked with coca cola and local beers & wines, oh don't forget the Milka chocolate bars. We took the full board option and always found the food great, with a good choice. The hotel description was accurate, yes it was in a quiet location but it was only a pleasant 15 min walk to the centre and 5 mins to the beach, the walk back is hilly but it didn't bother us. The hotel has evening entertainment if you didn't fancy venturing out .
The pool was lovely and we never had problems getting a sun bed although I do think the hotel could invest in a few more sun shades. It would have been nice to have either table tennis or pool table as extra entertainment for older teens but with free wifi I did see a lot of tablets/phones in use during the evenings. Overall I would recommend this hotel to couples and families alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and not under the sun bathing deck
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thereza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel is lovely. It's in a quiet spot, but across the road from a large supermarket (great wine selection). No stress getting a sunbed as they are not put out until 9.30 so the annoyance of beds with towels and no people is avoided. We stayed full board, the choice of food and the quality of food was excellent. All the staff were friendly and efficient but good to remember that bar staff are a bit pushed as they have a front outside eating area and pool area to cater for so be patient! The pool is quiet and clean but not much of a shallow end for little kids. We loved it and have already recommended to family. Thank you so much Nerja club, this was my first holiday abroad alone with my daughter and it's given me the confidence to do it all again next year. X

Room Tip: We had a refurbished room (303) which was huge! tiny balcony but I think the rooms overlooking the p...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Love this hotel,the staff are great,they can not do enough for you.my dad wanted to hire a disabled sooter and they tried their best to get one for him.when they had no luck with it being a bank holiday.one of the receptionist offered to loan him a wheelchair.this is just how accommodating they are.lovely.11/10 great.
This is the third time at the hotel and not my last.

Room Tip: We had a great view over the pool and med.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Shelley,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We love to receive year after year so great customers like you. Come back soon. Remember you can book on our website with the best price.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We visited this hotel for two weeks last week of July first week of August 2014 and what a good time we had.
The hotel was lovely,the staff were friendly and we had the best of both worlds because even though your not in the buzz of nightlife there was entertainment in the hotel every night but it was also just a walk away from the town where there was lots going on and well worth the walk.
The hotel offered anything a holiday maker could need, an indoor pool, jacuzzi and a lovely outdoor pool which was cleaned every day. The sunbeds by the pool were often taken up by the early worms but it didn't matter to us as we had a lovely large balcony overlooking the pool and sunbeds came with the room.
The food was buffet style and you could try as many of the dishes as you liked,there was something for everyone every night and a chef on hand to freshly prepare and cook that evenings "specialty" in front of you and as you like it.
The waiting staff spoke many languages,were efficient and friendly,
The reception staff again spoke many languages and were friendly and helpful I even witnessed a family of holidaymakers wanting to book in without a reservation but as the Nerja club was full the receptionist found them an alternative hotel.
The rooms have to be vacated by 12 pm but a luggage room is provided along with shower facilities if like us your flight is an evening/late one.
Our room was large with very welcomed air conditioning a very large balcony and wonderful views,we could see the sea in the distance and the neighbourhood was very quiet.The room was cleaned daily by a lovely lady who always had a smile and greeting. The hotel has a very reasonable approach to changing the towels and beds, if you wanted the towels changed you left them in the bath same with sheets or you could just ask the maid and it was done.
There was a happy hour in the bar from 5.30pm until 6.30pm but be aware that the bar measures are not the same as the UK.
We didn't go on any excursions as we found exploring Nerja and the surrounding area such as Frigliana and Maro enough for our first visit.
All in all we had a lovely holiday filled with everything we wanted and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 314holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thanks for your feedback. We like to know that you enjoyed our hotel and that you plan to return. Do not forget follow our latest news through our Facebook.

A greeting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from our second visit and must say parts of the hotel were better than last year. The room was spotless air con was quiet and the room was recently refurbished the bar staff in the main we're very good with just the odd bad day but we all get them the breakfast was ok so you wouldn't starve but I have had better but the evening meals were very good cooked by a chef that obviously loves his job and takes great pride in cooking. The distance from the beach and town is how it is so deal with it as you can't move either of them but it isn't as bad as some reviewers state but burriana beach cannot be walked to if you are disabled so you would need a cab. Happy hour clearly needs an extra barman as it upsets people waiting a long time for drinks so I would suggest the extra help or ditch the happy hour as it can be pretty unhappy. All in all a very good holiday with a few niggles but will definitely be a third visit

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Stevethesweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
206 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,819 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nerja Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nerja Club

Address: Nacional 340 Carretera de Malaga Almeria, Km 293 | Frente a El Capistrano, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nerja
#12 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: $45 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nerja Club 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is ideal for couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We have large Sun Terraces where you can enjoy glourious sunshine nearly all year round.Our staff have many years experience and will ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay.You can enjoy some memorable evenings at the Nerja Club Hotel. After a nice freshly prepared dinner in the Buffet Restaurant, you can have one of your favorite beverages in our Bar Cocktail, whilst appreciating the live music which is on offer every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nerja Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Club Hotel Nerja
Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing