We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“to far out for us”
Review of Nerja Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nerja Club
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“to far out for us”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

arrived at the hotel on Thursday 19th September and on first reflection very disappointed!! the room and bathroom allocated was ok with no visible problems however the view from the room was poor and the tiny balcony a waste of time part of the enjoyment of our holiday is to sit out on the balcony in the evenings you could not do that in this room but we do understand that's sods law which rooms you are lucky or on our occasion unlucky enough to be allocated? food was ok but might not suit everyone!! for us to far away from attractions with the lengths of the hills by far too steep and long to walk up and down for two weeks in hot weather the hotel will either suites you or not? people return their year after year so it shows that you can have a good holiday at this hotel but I am afraid not for us

Room Tip: there are a few rooms overlooking pool and (sea some distance away) but most are side views with not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank idwal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Customer,

We deeply regret not being able to have assigned your requested room. For reasons of availability is not always possible for us to respond to the request of our guests, we hope you understand it. The location of our hotel looks very clearly on our website, a perfect location for conducting walking and enjoying nature. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    434
    189
    76
    47
See reviews for
125
683
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I visited this hotel with my husband last month and apart from the very steep hill it is located on we loved this hotel. The hotel is very clean and friendly, I was surprised there was no hairdrier in our refurbished room, I went to reception and was offered one and an iron for the whole of our 1 0 day stay. The hotel is in a nice residential area, although a huge supermarket is being built next door, the views from the lovely terrace overlook villas down to the sea. There was entertainment every night and happy hour each evening but not always enough bar staff. We found the drinks prices very reasonable and the food was varied and plentiful too.I do not think this hotel is suitable for the less mobile or older children as there was not a childrens pool or play area and although it is quite a pleasant downhill walk to the beach the hike back up the hill when it is very hot is a strain.We can understand why this hotel has so many returning customers because it is so friendly and the whole service fromThompsons was great.

Room Tip: As a large supermarket is being built next door do not accept a side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldham3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks for your comments about Hotel Nerja Club. We are pleased that despite some drawbacks you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to hear that our guests enjoy a deserved descanso. We hope to see you at our hotel and invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Visited for a week in August, booked through Thompsons and got a good deal on this as a package for £425 each from Glasgow which was pretty good value for half board Oh and I must mention that the Thompsons flight was great lots of space on the aircraft and very pleasant staff, however the transfer was very long and this really was a drag if going again i would not be prepared to sit on a bus that long waiting for other travellers then round a whole lot of hotels took nearly two hours
I can see why people return to this hotel as its very clean, rooms really small but nicely decorated and you only sleep in them so for a week its fine. The only thing I found was that the beds are very very hard so not great for my back or neck.

Usually I go for big hotels but it was really nice to be in a small hotel, it was very friendly and really relaxing, not too many kids about which i appreciated, the pool was warm and inviting although very deep at most parts but ample for the guests staying there.

The food was of a good at breakfast and lunch no complaints and the dining room was civilised not the loud crashing around that you get sometimes in larger hotels which was nice. The chef was a really happy guy who obviously took great pride in his work and the buffet stations were tidy at all times and the food display was attractive and fresh at all times

There was some form of entertainment at nights some ok some not so good but it was there if you wanted it and not intrusive at all if you just wanted to sit by the pool and have. Quiet drink.
The pool area itself was lovely lots of seating and shaded areas and a nice bit to sit and have lunch which we did most days as the food was good, on hindsight its worth paying for full board as our lunches each day did add up and while not expensive not cheap either. Drinks are quite expensive but its a hotel and your on holiday.

The hotel is a good bit away from the centre which i knew before booking and this didn't really bother us but if you wanted to go out most nights it would mount up in taxis up and down.

All in all i liked this hotel and would most defiantly return, for a three star this hotel is really good a lot of times you got to a four or five and can be disappointed but i think the Nerja club surprises just how good it is for a three star and its a pleasant surprise at that

Thanks to all the lovely staff at this well run hotel for a really nice relaxing holiday

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KIMMc067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations. The satisfaction of our customers is paramount to us. We like to offer a friendly and close to our guests to feel like they are at home. We will take note of all your suggestions to continue offering excellent value for money. We would love to welcome you back again in our facilities. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hello again I thought I would share my second visit to Club Nerja (last week of Sept 2013).
The hotel was as usual clean and the staff welcoming. The rooms had not changed and could do with a lick of paint but not that poor. Cleaners in every day which was nice to see and very friendly and helpful. EG I had a very hard pillow which was changed within minutes.

The evening entertainment had not changed same acts as 18 months ago.

The food was quite varied and very good for the money. What had changed was the Chef Jose. He was found each evening at the grill plate serving up some lovely food. One evening he grilled some squid. I have to say it was lovely and tender. In Fact I enjoyed all the meats etc that Jose prepared. You can't miss him he is a very friendly person and even though he speaks little English he remains helpful and always has a smile. This is in contrast to the Head Waiter. I think if he smiled his face would crack. He is far too serious.

Jose =Thumbs up
Headwaiter = Thumbs down

The only other thing that I was not pleased with was the poor measures of alcoholic drinks and there prices. The measures did not reflect the price. You can get an G&T in the main town for the same price and the measure is a lot more generous.

I think this is a balanced and fair assessment of this hotel. I do recall complaining about the drinks last time! Maybe this may get addressed this time round.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms, but note they are a little smaller but have double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williamsfamily503933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your recommendation and loyalty :) We are pleased that once again has chosen our hotel for your holiday in Nerja. We will take note of your comments and we'll drive your suggestions the appropriate departments. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Nerja Club in early September and found it suited us for a relaxing quiet break. The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was a little limited but on the whole very good and we enjoyed it. We opted for full-board and sometimes we were the only people in the restaurant for lunch but there was still plenty to eat.

There was no reserving sunbeds as they were chained up until 9.30am which isnt a bad thing as it stopped people reserving them at about 5 am!

There is a happy hour in the bar from but service during this time is extremely slow so it is best to get a couple of drinks in while you are up there.

The rooms are basic but clean and have 3 beds. There are no tea-making facilities so take your own and also safes and fridges have to be paid for. We found this a little strange as you have to order a fridge from reception and it is installed the next day in your room. There are also no hairdryers in the rooms which was a little disappointing as most hotels have hairdryers these days. They can however be borrowed free of charge from reception. Also the shower gels/soaps are restricted and had to ask for a small bar of soap and shower gel to be replaced although we left the empty basket in view for the maid to see.

It is a pleasant 20-30 min walk into town which is ok to do once or twice. A taxi back costs 7 euros which is not cheap if it is a regular expense. It is a long way from the beach and if you want to walk back it is a very slow and long walk up "cardiac hill" which is an absolute killer!

There is entertainment every night which is not too bad - had certainly seen worse.

There is a supermarket across the road which is handy for food/drink and a new one being built next door (building work was in progress during our stay but did not spoil our holiday).

On the whole I would recommend this hotel but may not return because of the distance out of town. I would also not recommend it for children as there is nothing for them to do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill-and-Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. It is very important for us to communicate with our customers to further improve. We will take note of all your suggestions and comments. We hope to have you with us on another visit to Nerja.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

stayed at this hotel between august,september had a lovely relaxed holiday friendly staff good food restaurant staff were really nice head chef jose luis Delgado was top nice room take a kettle a/c could do with upgrading noisy supermarket across road for all your needs market on Tuesdays and sundays try the spa nice and relaxing would go back big thanks to all staff happy hols

Room Tip: stayed in room 252 larger balcony refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scafface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are delighted that you enjoyed with us a wonderful holiday. We are pleased that you enjoyed our food. We hope to see you with us soon and invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

i have written several reviews about the Nerja Club Hotels over the years and in my opinion this is probably the friendliest hotel I've stayed in. OK there are 4 & 5 star hotels with better facilities that I've stayed at that have the highest standard of finish with restaurants that have the most amazing cuisine (all at a price best paid for by the company), but what they lack is what makes the Nerja Club different, they lack the personal touch, the character and the "family feel". For me the hotel is the ideal place to stay, just far enough out of town for it to be quiet but central enough to reach the town and beach within a comfortable stroll. As I've mentioned before in reviews, the staff do really make the difference.
The noise issue has been raised a few times (building work next door) but in 3.5 weeks I've had no problems, the management have been working with the builders to try and minimise any inconvenience by the building works and they have succeeded.

Room Tip: I prefer the "older" 200 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Tony,

First we want to thank you for your loyalty. It is a pleasure for us to meet the expectations of our customers and make your holiday a wonderful experience. We are pleased that you value the effort we are making to our customers to enjoy their break. We look forward to having you with us for many years.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#8 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#6 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nerja Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nerja Club

Property: Nerja Club
Address: Nacional 340 Carretera de Malaga Almeria, Km 293 | Frente a El Capistrano, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nerja Club 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is ideal for couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We have large Sun Terraces where you can enjoy glourious sunshine nearly all year round.Our staff have many years experience and will ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay.You can enjoy some memorable evenings at the Nerja Club Hotel. After a nice freshly prepared dinner in the Buffet Restaurant, you can have one of your favorite beverages in our Bar Cocktail, whilst appreciating the live music which is on offer every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nerja Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Club Hotel Nerja
Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing