We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Nerja Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nerja Club
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
stirling
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Criticising the Nerja Club hotel is like helping an elderly aunt across the road and letting her get hit by a bus. We found the staff at the hotel to be very pleasant and helpful unfortunately the rooms and facilities at the hotel do not match the staff enthusiasm. We stayed in room No.328 which is in the section of hotel that is yet to be refurbished the room is very tired with only 2 lights from 5 working there were numerous cracks on toilet walls and floor. The food on half board basis was average to say the least given the local produce available to kitchen within a half hours drive this was a disappointment with most dishes lacking seasoning and all done in "slow cooker style" . The chef on the griddle did his best and worked very hard to accommodate your palate. Entertainment on offer on the main was satisfactory with nothing on offer on Tuesdays and Thursdays. We came across many guests who returned to the hotel frequently and the ambiance from guests and staff alike was a high spot of our visit if the hotel could channel the facilities to match this they would be on to a sure fire winner.

Room Tip: The outer east wing of hotel has yet to be refurbished. rooms overlooking pool whilst catch night ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21laurelgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion to help us improve. We take note about suggestions of the facilities. We like to know that the treatment of our staff was to your liking. Hope to see you around here again when visiting Nerja.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    442
    195
    76
    48
See reviews for
131
696
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Room cleaned and serviced every day to a very good standard.
Staff excellent. I am on a gluten free diet and the chef took me round
the whole food display and told me what I could have, 80 to 95 % of
choice, every time. Fantastic.

Room Tip: Most rooms at the rear over look the pool and have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on the Nerja Club through TripAdvisor. We like to know you enjoyed our hotel and the food was adjusted to your needs. We hope to see you around here again when visiting Nerja. You can follow our latest news through our Facebook.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My mother, little sister and I returned from a weeks stay at the Nerja Club on the 14th April 2013. After a weeks stay there we did not want to leave! It was such a lovely, relaxing holiday with lovely staff, great food and brilliant rooms.

We are used to staying in 4* hotels and usually go to places such as Tenerife or Benidorm, but decided on something a little cheaper this year. From the reviews we didn't expect much, and knew it was "in the middle of nowhere", however upon arriving we were pleasantly surprised.. We met some lovely people, and although we didn't venture from the hotel much, we had a fun and calming holiday which we are looking to repeat later on this year.

We wouldn't recommend this holiday for families with younger children really, there weren't many children that we saw, there didn't seem to be a playground or any children's activities and it is a walk to the beach and town. However my sister and I are 14 and 19 and loved the holiday, so I suppose it's all down to individual preference.

Overall; brilliant holiday, looking at prices to return again in August as we speak!

Laura. C

Room Tip: We had a family room (302), overlooking some trees with a partial sea view. All the family rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know you enjoyed your holiday in Nerja Club and you could rest. Hope to see you here again when visiting Nerja. You can follow our news on our Facebook.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Not stayed here but we used it for checking our email on a daily basis for a month while living in Nerja . The staff are very hard working and polite. With so many nationalities staying with little or no Spanish this must present a challenge. The coffee is good and location is convenient for the SuperSol supermarket across the street. If you're here sround the festival of St Isidro you can do no better than bag a table on the road side terrace snd watch the wagons roll by in comfort.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion about the Hotel Nerja Club through Tripadvisor. We like to know that you enjoyed the treatment of staff and our coffee. Hope to see you around here again when visiting Nerja. You can follow our news on our Facebook.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel deserves praise not adverse negative comments, some of which are very unfair. The writers must have other gripes !

Check In... We arrived ( my wife and I ) late at night ( 23.00 hrs on 7th April for 7 nights) but this went quickly and smoothly. We were allocated a room overlooking the pool area which I had requested by email direct to the hotel.

Room ( 209)_ was standard for this type of hotel. Very clean, nice bathroom, TV in sleeping area. A good balcony on which to enjoy the fantastic views of Burranica beach. It was cleaned daily. We experienced no noise from guests or entertainment. It was a very relaxing room.

Pool Area. A really good pool area relaxing and plenty of sunbeds. No endless backgroung music played throughout which is a great plus. Did not use the pools but other guest did comment it was cold.

Meals. Although we were full board we ate out most evenings. When we did eat for breakfast, lunch or evening meal we were not disappointed.

Breakfast. Hot and cold options well prepared and presented. No complaints.
Lunch. Buffett style. Cold salads plus hot meal options (3 or 4) plus veg etc.
Dinner. Buffett style Soup, salads, Hot meals. Usual menu for holiday hotels.

Nerja hasd some really good eating places some with great tradition Spanish fayre.

Entertainment. We were out most nights not returning say till 23.00 hrs. Entertainment finished about 23.30 hrs. what we had we enjoyed.

Staff. All staff very helpful and friendly. In particuilar reception staff who I found very helpful and professional.

This was one of our best holidays. The hotel is clean and relaxing but it is a great place to meet new friends. We met several, great couples from West Brom, Kirby Moorside, Hull and Redcar. This hotel lends itself to this since most relax around the pool and it's a great meeting place. Thanks to all who we met .

Finally the beach is very relaxing. Sunbeds 4 euro each full day with a big fat custion to lie on. For lunch go to Ayo, last one on beach but does paelle for 6 euro with has many returns for more that you wish.

These are the positives.

Negatives. Dinning area needs a refurb, it would be great if it had outdoor seating at lunch time.

I will not list location as a negative since hotel website and holiday website/brochure clearly indicate that it is not in the centre of the town or close to any of the beaches. But we walked in and back most nights. Getting to the beach is easy. Getting back you have to select the best route. The direct route is up a very steep bank.

Would I return. You bet we would. It's great value. Remember it is a 3 star with very good holiday rates. Book it you will not be disappointed. Those who have listed negative reviews should stay at the Rui hotel or the more expensive or move down the coast ! This hotel offers a great value for money.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Not stayed there but used a lot for a beer or coffee. Situated on outskirts of town so a VERY steep walk back from beach. Small pool apparently very cold! Inside there are quite pleasant areas to sit. Pool balcony and lanai. Staff pleasant. Not the Ritz but nothing offensive at all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProblemPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We needed to add a couple of days stay to our trip to Nerja and having looked around we tried the Nerja Club.
The staff are really friendly and the room we had was clean and modern although the view lacked a little.
The food was fairly typical for hotels and whilst not al a carte was fairly good.
For the price and if you are looking for a couple of days this is good however I think longer could have been more of an issue.
I would use this again

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear costumer,
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Nerja Club. Thanks for sharing your opinion. Hope to see you around here again when visiting Nerja. You can follow our news through our Facebook.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#7 of 37 in Nerja
506 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nerja Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nerja Club

Property: Nerja Club
Address: Nacional 340 Carretera de Malaga Almeria, Km 293 | Frente a El Capistrano, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nerja Club 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is ideal for couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We have large Sun Terraces where you can enjoy glourious sunshine nearly all year round.Our staff have many years experience and will ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay.You can enjoy some memorable evenings at the Nerja Club Hotel. After a nice freshly prepared dinner in the Buffet Restaurant, you can have one of your favorite beverages in our Bar Cocktail, whilst appreciating the live music which is on offer every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nerja Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Club Hotel Nerja
Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing