We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nerja Club & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Los Arcos(Nerja)
$124
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$158
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Toboso apar-turis Apartamentos(Nerja)
$181
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,190)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveler rating
360
486
210
82
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
486
210
82
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourpool areafriendly hotelentertainment every nightevening mealhalf boardburriana beachtennis clubstar hoteldown hillnearest beachmost nightssun decktiny balconyplenty of choicetown centrerooms overlooking
Filter
Updating list...
741 - 746 of 1,190 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have read some of the other reviews on this hotel and I can only think that some people have expectations beyond their budget or have not read the description of the hotel.
I went there March into April with Thomsons. It was not very expensive and i can say that it matched my expectations. Not brilliant, but not terrible either.
I had a room overlooking the tennis club opposite. I found out that there are larger rooms available and if you want one you should ask for 205 206 305 or 306. My room was quite small and the bed was brick hard- the pillows too were awful.The room was clean and quite bright though.
The hotel is quite a bit out of the town but this is stated on their website, and there is always Google maps.t took about 20 minutes on foot to reach the old town.
The pool area was clean and thankfully free of tacky music or over enthusiastic games leaders.
The food was at best average and quite often below this standard. I would have hoped for some more spanish food or some decent orange juice at breakfast. The kia ora dispensed from the machine is awful. The food was very repetitive and uninspiring.
Drinks at the hotel are a bit dearer than local bars but are still decently priced. The service at the bar is quite poor as often there is only one very hard working barman on duty.

As said in the title you get what you pay for.I have been in far better places but have also paid a whole lot more. Nerja itself is fantastic and retains authentic spanish charm. Most bars are frequented by locals and tourists meaning that prices are pitched for the locals.

I would go back to Nerja but would look for an apartment or pay extra for a better situated hotel with better standards.

Room Tip: ask for a room above the spa centre
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJBaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thanks for sharing your opinion, which helps us improve. We regret that you could not enjoy the food at our hotel that offers a variety of dishes to suit all tastes. We take note of your suggestions on the comfort of the beds. We hope you will give another opportunity to Nerja Club the next time you visit Nerja.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I felt the need to give a review of this fantastic friendly hotel after reading the last
review, i think that some people just like to complain, it obviously makes them feel
superior.
My husband and i stayed here for 1 month february to march this year, we were actually
booked fo a 2 week stay, but extended it to a month, yes it is that good!!! staff work very
hard keeping the rooms and corridors clean, always greeting you with a smile.
ALL staff go out of their way to help you anyway they can, the lady receptionist was a
credit to the hotel, maybe if the previous person/persons (beckyboo85) had the
attitude of treating people as they wish to be treat themselves, they would get a lot more
out of people.

The restaurant serves excellent food, plenty of choice, well cooked, with staff that take pride
in their work.

We have stayed at all different types/classes of hotels, but I rate my views on honest, caring
attitude to guests, and this hotel is a fine example of how it should be done.

The only thing left for me to say is:- go and stay there for yourselves, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: we had a family room, very spacious, and quiet,sun on balcony in the afternoons
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stocksfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thank you for share your opinion of the Hotel Nerja Club. We like to know that you has liked our hotel. We wait to return to see you soon. You can follow our innovations in our Facebook
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a week at the nerja club hotel, the hotel is quite a way out of the centre and a steep climb from the beach, not for the infirm. Thomson's brochure pictures must be airbrushed because the hotel doesn't look as nice when you get there. Check in at hotel was smooth and we were shown the way to our room on the 3rdfloor which had been refurbished as requested, room wasn't spotless as some reviews on here say, my sheet was ripped and bedding wasn't changed all week, the rip ended up huge, floors weren't swept properly and the tv table was thick with dust, view of main road was bad and really noisy you can hear everything!! requested a room move as soon as we got there but was told all the other rooms were full! In march I struggle to believe that. We booked full board,lunch was the best meal of the day set menu which you could pick up to 3 courses made to order. Breakfast was ok plenty of cereal toast and continental choices, cooked stuff was ok we stuck to the eggs. Evening meal was disappointing we only ate there twice went out the rest of the week as the restaurants menu del Dias range from 8-15 euros for 3 courses you couldn't moan the places we went to were all fantastic Los arcos hotel up the road has a gourmet tapas restaurant next to it go there for a fantastic meal best thing about this hotel is how close it is to this restaurant!!! Entertainment was geared towards the British it was tacky at best one guy was completely tone deaf, drink prices weren't too bad though. The staff were ok not overly helpful or nice unless you were a repeat guest then they couldn't do enough, the female receptionist was extremely rude and patronising and should be sacked for the way she talks to people and how I kept my temper with her is beyond me, I have never been treated so rudely by anyone in a service role and if I was the manager at this hotel I would be investing in some serious staff training in customer service! The pool was dirty every day and no one went in the whole week we were there, for what we paid for our holiday we weren't expecting the ritz but we did expect 3 star standards which this hotel wasn't. The villa flamenca is nicer and was only £40 more wish we would of stayed there instead. If I were you I would go to nerja it's a beautiful place I've been 3 times and will go back but will pay the extra and stay at a different hotel without a mini hitler female receptionist and a pool that's cleaned properly.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyboo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Director General at Nerja Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear costumer:

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We deeply regret we have not reached your expectations. We assigned as you requested a reformed room, though unfortunately we could not facilitate you one with a view to the sea or the swimming pool because all rooms was completed (even being March) because 80 % of our clients requests this type of room us.

The cleanliness in our hotel is a priority for us, and our clients testify it h their good comments. The swimming pool is cleaned of habitual form, though when it rains or is windy it is possible that it looks like that has not been cleaned. As for the service of the dinner, every day we receive congratulations for the quality and variety


In relation to our receptionist, she goes many years working with us and there has been no problem with her ever. We are sorry very much if you believed that she was attending to you badly. It was sure that it was not her intention. I would like that you consider that sometimes her work is not not easy at all.

We are lucky to have many clients who visit us every year, and from many years, they are saying us at their arrival: " This is our second home!". They are a part of our family and we are very proud of it . Nerja is a place really favoured to enjoy a holidays, we wish you continue coming to this beautiful village. We wait that you could give us a new opportunity and you visits the Hotel Nerja Club again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 1 week in March 2013, and we found the hotel to be clean and tidy, and well run. The hotel itself is a little basic in some areas, with some rooms recently refurbished. We stayed in room 321, on the 1st floor, with a good sized balcony with sea views. There were a couple of issues with our room, one being noise from the entertainments which was quite intrusive up until 23.30, when the entertainment stopped. Sleeping during this time was impossible, but to be fair we had requested a room with a balcony sea view, and I’m sure that if we requested a move, every effort would be made to accommodate us, as Hotel staff makes every effort to make sure your stay in a good one. The other issue was that the room smelt damp, though the room was cleaned every day by the attentive staff. There is a small TV in the room, with satellite channels in English French German, and Spanish, there is no fridge or kettle etc. in the room, but apparently these can be rented from reception.
The other major issue with the Hotel was its location, being a good 25 minute walk from the town centre, with the walk back being uphill all the way. The Hotel is set in a residential area, with no bars restaurants or bars in the vicinity. So if you need to be close to the action/interests then perhaps this Hotel is not for you. There is a large supermarket across the road which is open 6 days a week, so shopping is sorted.
Hotel food is what you would expect, buffet style with a good overall choice available. Freshly cooked meats, omelettes etc. are always available. If needed special requests can be made to the staffs who again try their best to make sure your stay is a good one. A varied drinks menu is available, with cost in line with bars etc., and not at all extortionate.
The hotel is of a good 3 star standard, family run, with attentive staff, who try to make your stay a good one. I probably would not stay there again, but this is solely due to the Hotel location, and not for any other reason.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank br00ke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear costumer,
Thank you very much for you opinion. The Nerja Club Hotel & Spa is aimed at customers looking for a quiet stay but close to the town of Nerja. As you could see, our staff gladly serves all requests. We're glad you enjoyed the meal. We hope to see you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Spent 8 wonderful nights in the Nerja club hotel. We were with a walking club who had been visiting this hotel for twenty years so that speaks volumes on how good everything is. It was our first visit but hopefully we will return next year as the hotel hospitality was so very good the staff the food all top class especially at such reasonable prices! We climbed the mountains behind Nerja the scenery is beautiful and the walks are well mapped out. We visited the caves which should be classed as a wonder of the world they
are amazing and only discovered in1959 by local boys whilst out playing - fascinating!

Room Tip: rooms at the rear of hotel have more sunshine if you want to sit on the verranda
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hi Christine,

We are glad to know that we have fulfilled many expectations and your running time, will be happy to have you back with us. Hotel Nerja Club is a great hotel for hikers. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews