We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very reasonably priced hotel close to the hills”
Review of Nerja Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nerja Club
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is my sixth visit to the hotel and it seems to get better all the time. It is very close to a range of hills offering a variety of walks. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotlessly clean. A buffet breakfast and dinner with a wide selection catering for both vegetarians and meat eaters alike. It is about 20 minutes walk to the centre of town, buses are available and are very cheap. The caves are well worth a visit. There is usually entertainment on every night, mainly singers but also flamenco dancing.

Room Tip: I loved my room overlooking the pool, but find generally that I spend very little time in my room, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corgorauuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your faithfulness :) We are proud to have spent another wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you again in our facilities.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Nerja and we were not disappointed. The hotel itself is clean and all staff extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was clean but basic and the bathroom was in need of complete overhall but everything worked and there was as much hot water as we needed. The outdoor swimming pool was not heated and so was not used. My partner did make use of the spa but found both the indoor pool and jaccuzi to be tepid and was disappointed that no specific treatments such as massage were available. The food in the hotel was excellent. We stayed on a half board basis and found the buffet breakfast fantastic as was the evening meal with huge choice available beautifully presented and in plentiful supply.
If your able bodied the hotel is in a wonderful location being 800m from beach (down a very steep incline) and 2k from town centre. Places of interest (caves etc) easily accessible by public transport (bus stop over the road) or taxi. Our stay was marred by torrential rain so we only ventured into town twice but found it to be very interesting with lots of winding streets and little Tapas bars and restaurants in plentiful supply. I would certainly recommend this hotel and resort for more able bodied mature holiday makers

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hi Christopher,

Thank you very much for your recommendation. We are glad that we were right during your stay. We hope to see you again very soon ;) We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Good: The hotel is clean & the staff are friendly & helpful ,the chef was a real joy to meet always happy. They have lots of useful information about the area & if they dont know they will try find out for you, the rooms are nice with good views.There is a large supermarket over the road for water & buy cheap drinks, snacks etc. The village hoppa bus is great & takes you all over the village for 1.00 euro . The village & beaches are lovely & the local people are friendly. I felt it was a safe place to walk around . Also across the road is a sports bar that lots went to & said it was good. The management were always polite, keen to help out & answer any questions.
Bad: Far out from the town & beaches would not suit for anyone with walking difficulties. The spa as said before you can onlu use twice per stay the pool is very small & there was far too much!! chlorine in the jacuzzi. The rooms are tiny and hard to walk around as is the balcony & the beds & pillows are so hard & uncomfortable. Even though the chef tried hard with the tools he had, the food was not good & drinks in the hotel are very expensive even at happy hour 17.30 to 18.30pm the entertainment was ok but the guy who was on on Saturday night 9th March was dreadful a lot of people walked out. lots of homeless & beggars hanging about nr the supermarket in fact on an evening you can see them raiding the bins

Room Tip: Use the tourist bus, visit the nearby town villages & beaches, some excellent walks nearby. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonakasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear customer,

We sincerely believe that our property valuation is not fair. We regret not meeting your expectations but Nerja Club Hotel offers great value tough. If you have any problems with your pillow could talk to the receiving department. Some comments on Nerja anecdotes are very rare and minority. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have prevented him enjoying his stay.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated for a wide variety of walks in the nearby hills and many more challenging walks if you have transport. The hotel has a selection of leaflets describing a number of options.
The hotel itself is excellent value for money with friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean and spacious and there is always a good selection of food in the self service restaurant

Room Tip: South facing rooms have sunny balaconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Stephen,

Graciar for recommending our accommodation for users of Tripadvisor. For us the satisfaction of our guests is paramount. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and the beautiful landscapes offered Nerja. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is on the edge of town so was ideal for us going walking in the surrounding hills. It is about half a mile from the beach but seems much longer back up the hill. Not the best choice for a beach holiday.
The food was much better than expected. Breakfast & dinner were buffets so the food was plentiful. The standard was very good but there was not much variety in the puddings.
The hotel was very clean & the staff were all very helpful.
The pool is small but that does not matter in the winter.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for trusting Nerja Club Hotel for your holidays. We are pleased to have exceeded your expectations during your stay. We work hard so that everything is comfortable for our guests. As comets our hotel has a perfect location to experience the natural beauty of the surrounding mountains of Nerja. There are plenty of trails and charming. Still Nerja Club Hotel is a good hotel to enjoy the beaches of Nerja with excellent value. We hope to see you back with us.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We knew from reviews what to expect and so it proved. The hotel is pleasant enough with nice views from the hotel terrace over the rooftops to the sea (with seating). There is a small pool. Inside there is a nice conservatory and lounge to sit in in winter with an open aspect and lots of natural light. This is good for happy hour (5.30 - 6.30pm) when drinks are half price - glass of wine = 1€! Food is satisfactory. There is always something you can choose even if it is a bit repetitive and limited. The salads are always quite good. Queues for hot and cold drinks at breakfast are frequent. The machine coffee is poor. There is the usual English breakfast fare. Bacon isn't too bad. There are self-service toasters.Pastries are available but the sort you would expect when you haven't paid much. Our room was fine. Towels are changed as you want them to be. A tiny soap and 2 tiny shampoos were there on arrival We ran out of shampoo on the third day and it was not replaced. There is a bus service outside the hotel. This can take you to Maro which is a 30 minute walk following the road. Maro is pleasant enough and worth a visit. Much more attractive is Frigiliana up the hill (7 Km) which is a lovely visit but beware the extortionate prices at the bar terrace in Frigiliana, which has a great view but doesn't warrant the mark up. The bus to Malaga is only7.60€ return! The Picasso museum is worth it. Don't forget your passport if you want to get a pensioner's discount. When in Malaga, get off the bus at the PORT as it is nearer the centre and the sights and there is a tourist Office opposite where the bus stops to get your map etc.The bus station is one stop further on so you have to walk back to the port area anyway. There is no tourist advice at the bus station that I could see, but we were ok because I speak Spanish. The seafront of Malaga has been redeveloped and it is very pleasant to stroll there. Nerja itself is pleasant to amble around. We discovered Little Italy in Carabeo Street - not far from the famous Balcón de Europa. This is highly recommended. The decor inside leaves much to be desired but the food is very good (all Italian style) and it is AMAZINGLY cheap.Locals go there and it is often full. All drinks (inc coffee and beer) = 80c - is this real? I had the seafood linguini and you get a full plateful with lots of the key ingredients - something I haven't always had in Italian posh restaurants! The pizzas were all good (3.50€ !!) and large. They don't mind you sharing one.We used MARBENJO car hire and they were excellent. (£42 for a week's hire in Feb !!). They meet you at the airport exit and tell you the way to the minibus (About 100M). The minibus took us straight away to the office (a 4/5 min drive) just off the airport and they gave us a good map and explanation of how to get to where we were going.The car was fine and full- full system - so no extra costs at the end. There are plenty of filling stations very near the office. I did try Malagacarhire.co.uk but they didn't have a car. However I got the impression that this was a good outfit and there was no cars because they had the best deals and so were popular. (beware a car hire firm with a similar name - I'm not saying the other one was dubious, but it seemed to me that malagacarhire had better deals and used full-full system). So for car hire I would suggest these two. Our room was pleasant enough and spacious. The bathroom was very good and large. We looked out (Room 203) on a corner of shrubs and trees and the back of a building. We had evening light but you couldn't really use the small balcony. Go to the Alhambra but try looking up information on the normal buses as the tour operator trips are all expensive.Spanish buses tend to be very good and punctual. The roads were all excellent and very quiet in February - so easy driving. Watch speed restrictions, especially in tunnels ( and don't forget your lights in tunnels as they fine you). There were lots of random police stops at roundabouts that I saw, so make sure you have your car hire documents in the boot. Don't assume the chances of being stopped are minimal- they aren't. Don't visit Almunecar dross place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DKGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,

Gracias por su completa reseña sobre su viaje a Nerja. seguro que muchos viajeros la encuentran muy útil. Nos alegra que disfrutaras de tu viaje y que la estancia en Hotel Nerja Club fuera de tu agrado. Esperamos volver a verte de nuevo en nuestras instalaciones. Te invitamos a seguirnos en nuestra página de Facebook.

Un cordial saludo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hi there fellow travellers, I'm about to leave this hotel and return to base as it were.
Thanks for the reviews you all wrote, it was pretty accurate. This hotel may just have the edge on the villa flamenca for me personally.
I've had a week here with my wife. The weather was brill for the time of year.
I booked the break through thomsons on line, and chose the full board option with a web saving of about £200. I'm glad I did this as the lunch meal is cooked to order between 12 to 3. And it dosnt dissapoint with a good choice.
The hotel isn't much to look at from the front view, but when you enter and walk through the lounge you just know you made the right choice. our room was 128 which is at the back left corner above the restaraunt. The room was spotlessly clean and the decor too was clean and fresh looking. The bath however needs replacing or re-coating with enamel. The matresses arnt very good too. I ended up putting a blanket underneeth for support.
Service at this hotel is very good, and the food also is good too for what we paid. Entertainment was ok too but not great every evening. The bar service was good.
Overall I'm very happy with our week here and I'm going home refreshed and not wanting to return to work. Nothing changed there then eh.....Thanks very much hotel nerja club......

Room Tip: I'm not sure if you can choose you room, but 128 is ok for me if the matress is changed for a ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear customer,

Thanks for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor users. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are delighted that values ​​our meals. We have made many efforts to get about the standard of quality required by our customers thereof. We hope to see you soon at our facilities. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
219 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,845 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#9 of 37 in Nerja
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nerja Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nerja Club

Address: Nacional 340 Carretera de Malaga Almeria, Km 293 | Frente a El Capistrano, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: $45 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nerja Club 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is ideal for couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We have large Sun Terraces where you can enjoy glourious sunshine nearly all year round.Our staff have many years experience and will ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay.You can enjoy some memorable evenings at the Nerja Club Hotel. After a nice freshly prepared dinner in the Buffet Restaurant, you can have one of your favorite beverages in our Bar Cocktail, whilst appreciating the live music which is on offer every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nerja Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Club Hotel Nerja
Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing