We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Nerja Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nerja Club
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
S.W. Wales
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We just returned from a weeks holiday at the Nerja Club. We were a little warey about some of the reviews but believe me it was a good week. I had emailed the hotel a couple of weeks before we went to request a refurbed room on a high floor and that is exactly what we got. The room itself is basic but has everthing you need. Short on drawer space but I find that to be typical of Spanish Hotels. The room and bathroom were very clean. Unfortunately a problem arose with the room which meant we had to move but Antonio the manager gave us another room just 2 doors down which was just as good and which we were more than happy with. We also had an excellent view over the lovely white houses and out to sea and we had the sun all afternoon The room was on the side of the hotel so we had no noise either from the bar area or the road. The only down side with the room was that it had no real balcony to speak of but at this time of year that did not bother us.

For most of the week the hotel was not busy but there was still entertainment every night but one and I must say we found it ok and had a good laugh with people we met there. There is a happy hour between 5.30 - 6.30 where drinks are half price but generally the price of drinks was reasonable anyway. As for the restaurant I must say we quite enjoyed the food. Not a huge variety but more than enough choice to satisfy most tastes and on the whole cooked very well. We also had a pizza from the snack bar one lunchtime and that too was very enjoyable.

As for the staff on the whole you could not wish for better they were polite and friendly. All the reception staff greeted you warmly and the bar staff were good. The only issue we had was in the restaurant when we went down for breakfast one morning at 9.45 and although breakfast did not end until 10.30 the young lady on the tables had already laid up every available table for the evening meal. When I asked her to clear one of the tables for us to have our breakfast she did so very reluctantly and left us in no uncertain terms that she was not happy about it. All in all though everything else was fine.

Finally as for the walk into Nerja don't believe all you read. I am of limited mobility and I managed it without to much difficulty. Yes it took me longer than most but there are plenty of cafes and bars on the way down and back. It is in fact the way we went a gentle slope and if you need advice on the best way to go speak to Lydia who does the blanket trips she was so helpful to us. We would definately consider staying at the Nerja Club again. We had a really enjoyable time. To finish I would just like to say a thank-you to Antonio the Manager for all his help. It is good to see a manager that is hands on and not hiding in his office all day. I definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High refurbed rooms offer the best view but only a tiny balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank worldwiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review on our property. We take note of all your suggestions to further improve our services. Nerja is a city that still retains all the charm of its streets and its people. We love to share your taste with our visitors. We hope to have you soon at our facilities.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    434
    189
    76
    47
See reviews for
125
683
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Convenient location near other amenities, good restaurant, entertainment lounge, gym and spa.
We enjoyed ALL except the Spa.. my Partner FORGOT her bathing suit.. watta prude!
I TOLD her she looked GREAT without one -- but it was not persuasive enough! Women?!
Rooms are recently renovated so look great, great location & easy to find on main Nerja road, parking in front of hotel, service was excellent and buffet breakfasts & dinners were really good.
We're going BACK again, recommended it to our friends and for the modest cost, a good choice.

Room Tip: After dinner entertainment in the Lounge is great at NO cost. Be SURE your Wife/Partner BRINGS a bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bestofspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear customers,

Thank you very much for your comment. I hope very soon so you can enjoy the spa this time;) We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the rooms reform. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page. We hope to see you soon.

A greeting from Spain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Level Contributor
102 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

had great time very clean has a lot of spanish charms dont feel part of achain polite staff excellent refurbishded room overlloking pool so quiet food great good choice nerja is agem not comercialisded like other resorts caves and donkey santuary worth a visit defintly be back

Room Tip: pool view on 2nd or 3rd floor or side rooms overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TIMELORDLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear customer,

Thanks for sharing your experience with the Hotel Nerja Club Tripadvisor users. We love to hear that you have enjoyed a good stay. We would love to have you with us soon. We invite you to follow us on Facebook.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Just come back and have to say that my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was clean, the staff very friendly and the food was more than adequate for what we paid. As some have mentioned before it is on the outskirts of the town and the beach is a good twenty minute walk away. If you want to avoid the hill on the way back I suggest you walk from the beach into town and make your way from there. It isn't as steep and you have plenty of bars to stop off at and have a coffee with brandy(as we frequently did!).

We were pleasantly surprised at how cheap the food and drink were away from the hotel, so if you fancy a night or two away from the town it's not going to cost you an arm and a leg.

Back to the hotel. We didn't spend much time watching the acts in the evening as we're early birds and tend to go to bed early (even on holiday), we were located quite near the lounge bar so it was a tad noisy when trying to get to sleep, but credit to the hotel they had a cut off time for the acts which they adhered to, so I cannot fault them.

The room was cleaned every day, the shower was very powerful and excellent, I do think they could invest in new towels though as the ones we had weren't that clever.

Overall, this was excellent value for money and we would't hesitate to book again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank kp_greene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear customer,

Thanks for your review. We will take note of your comments to improve our standard and offer the best service to our customers. The hotels usually offer a choice of two twin beds that can be more flexible. As you comments offer excellent value for money. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We visited this hotel last week (Nov) The weather was lovely - we werent expecting it and are used to very hot holidays. Myself and my partner are in our early 30's and our little boy is 1 year old. It was out of season so very quiet. The hotel was clean and quiet. The food was lovely, but like anything, eat the same thing and you get bored after a few days. The evening meal was very good, paella, stew, pork dinner, soup. chocolate mousse! And the chef was very pleasant! The hotel doesnt really accomodate for children. The pool isnt sectioned, or the sun bed terrace. There are no fridges in the rooms, which would have been good for my childs milk (milk in the restaurant but the waiters couldnt understand what i meant by whole milk) and no tea making facilities or hairdryer - i used the spa hand dryer! lol. The beds were 2 singles pushed together - we personally hate this. The cot was basic, too, and the mattress didnt fit the bed so he kept falling down the sides
overall though, from thompsons a total bargain! - and we're cheap! Dont expect a pack-filled holiday, the location is very quiet but the weather was lovely

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nininog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear customer,

Thanks for your review. We will take note of your comments to improve our standard and offer the best service to our customers. The hotels usually offer a choice of two twin beds that can be more flexible. As comets offer excellent value for money. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and myself where there earlier in the month and enjoyed a very pleasant stay. The hotel was clean, well kept and the food was fine with plenty of choices and the staff where helpful. The hotel had an air of quiet relaxation and the entertainment was not bad considering, not x factor standard but better then most pubs in the UK. We enjoyed the Flamenco night and the drink costs where not over the top.

Every day at some point during our week this did not spoil the visit in any way. Nerja is very Spanish and untouched in the main a quiet backwater with local charm that is a rare commodity in todays tourist industry. The Nerja caves are well worth a visit its a short walk or you can take the bus its only a euro. The beach is quite a way from the hotel and is uphill back to the hotel a walk throught he narrow back streets makes this a pleasure.

Nerja club hotel is a hotel people go back to , because it works with its mix of service, charm and quiet location. We shall be going back and this time in the summer and for longer, I just hope many people do not discover the place and ruin its charm.

Room Tip: The newer rooms in the tower are bigger, but we liked our room with its south facing balcony very re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. As your comets Nerja is a very traditional and tranquil destination, perfect for practice called "Slow Travel". Walking through the streets of our little town is a delight as the sun and enjoy one of the best beaches in Spain. We would love to have you with us next summer again. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page to see all our news and promotions.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a great week at the Nerja club the room was clean, the beds were fine my only complaint is that the pillows were really hard, food was typical hotel food but good with several choices everyday, enjoyed trying the spanish dishes the rabbit was exceptional.Entertainment every night was most enjoyable with a couple really good singers, pool area good, staff helpful, a bit of a walk to the town and beach but enjoyed those too. Would be happy to return

Room Tip: The pool facing rooms have more sun but are above the bar area and evening entertainment we had a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneB1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear June,

Thank you very much for your recommendation on TripAdvisor. We take note of your comment about the pillows. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed with our entertainment program. On our staff, for us is our most important asset and that enable our customers to enjoy an unforgettable holiday in Nerja. We would love to have you back at Hotel Nerja Club. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#8 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#6 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nerja Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nerja Club

Property: Nerja Club
Address: Nacional 340 Carretera de Malaga Almeria, Km 293 | Frente a El Capistrano, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nerja Club 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is ideal for couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We have large Sun Terraces where you can enjoy glourious sunshine nearly all year round.Our staff have many years experience and will ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay.You can enjoy some memorable evenings at the Nerja Club Hotel. After a nice freshly prepared dinner in the Buffet Restaurant, you can have one of your favorite beverages in our Bar Cocktail, whilst appreciating the live music which is on offer every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nerja Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Club Hotel Nerja
Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing