We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Perfect holiday - very relaxing with great food and good location. The hotel at this time of year was mainly full of retired holidaymakers but for the more energetic it is worth seeking out the activities in the morning from about 10am organised by the lively Maria. I did aerobics, aquaerobics and shooting. She is also on duty for the evening entertainment some of which is a bit hit or miss but be sure to catch Ricky Lavazza doing his Elvis impersonation. While we were there one of the guests was pickpocketed on the Balcon de Europa by gypsy flower sellers but despite this it does seem a very safe place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caz186389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    626
    136
    33
    18
See reviews for
275
1,193
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I was absolutely amazed at the attentiveness of the staff and the quality of the furnishing. There were an amazing number of dishes available at every meal and the restuarant staff would go out of their way to help and assist. The poached peaches in brandy with neat brandy poured over as a sauce are not to be missed.

The only dissapointment was the WiFi which was expensive and only available in the reception area. I don't know why they charge so much as the cost of making it free must be pennies (or cents).

There are plenty of activities, I tried rifle shooting, spanish lessons, the gym and the indoor pool.

I recommend the Tapas Bar oppositte the main entrance of the Hotel especially for lunch where you can get very friendly service, a free Tapas with your drink and free WiFi all day long.

I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lotsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

This was my second stay at a Riu Hotel, I had high expectations, and I wasn't disappointed. This is an excellent hotel, with very friendly staff and good facilities, right on the beach in Nerja. I stayed here for a short break in late November, most of the other guests were British (and German) pensioners (it was out of season and not during school holidays). My 7 year old son was the only kid in the whole hotel, but he still absolutely loved it. The hotel does have an indoor pool. The room was clean and comfortable and the largest I have ever stayed in with a balcony and fantastic sea view.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hanex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed at the Riu Monica In November 2010.

Mainly booked the hotel due to its value and excellent reviews on Trip advisor.

Firstly for the money i paid to come to this hotel it was very good. Staff were pleasant and very helpful.

Although this hotel is very much catered for the elderly with the old fashioned entertainment and decor. If you get a cheap deal then go to this hotel.

Few stand out issues for me:

Time for eating at night you must adhere to either the 6pm or 7.45pm sitting became somewhat frustrating.

I did email the hotel prior to arriving explaining that i wanted a high floor room, on arrival i mentioned about the email and was fobbed off and told just to go with the room provided.

Food was very bland and in my opinion although the older generation will disagree the food options was very poor. Fatty steak and greasy chips etc. (Salad which we had for the week was very nice)

This hotel would be great if you want to eat your dinner at night, stay in the hotel Pay steap prices for your drink, watch cheap entertainment and then head off to watch BBC or ITV in your room at 10pm

Nerja itself is full of dog poop.....Bit dodgy at night, for the first few nights we ventured in search of life, however sadly was just met with tramps wandering the streets therefore we resulted in going with the trend, head back to the room to watch Celebrity in the jungle.

What i will say if you do decide to come to Nerja, a must is the Donkey Sanctury super fantastic we went twice to pass some time but very good... Donate generiously.

Overall- Would i go back? NO Would i reccommend to my Grand-parents or the elderly in my local YES.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 13162008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w.mids
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

booked a hotel in nerja because of it's reputation as a more "spanish" resort and i loved it; nerja was more built up than i expected but once you were near the sea you would never know this because of the pretty small coves,low level build and attractive walkways...although i have to sadly agree with previous comments on dog doo on the pavements.drink and food prices in the resort seemed reasonable; two euro's for a glass of wine,olives and a lovely sea view at the "bamboo".
the riu monica has a lovely situation on the seafront with an easy walk to the balcon de europe. thomson flights got us to the hotel at 11.30 p.m. (glass of bubbly and buffet waiting) but i was ready to moan if they gave me a first floor room following the warning of previous tripadvisors...however, we got a room on the seventh floor which gave us a wonderful view of the sunset over the beach every night.
the room was very clean; two single beds pushed together, but that's standard in foreign hotels..and yes, the bed and pillow were hard but i got used to the bed and apparently they will give you two british type pillows if you ask (i,sad person, take my own).15 euro for the safe is a bit stiff .
breakfast was good; thanks for the tip re the coffee machine next to the hot food station/microwave as i tried the coffee in a flask once and it was awful! orange juice comes from a machine but they do smoothie specials on some mornings.breakfast commences at 8.00a.m and we found that the early breakfasts were sometimes lean pickings!
evening meals are also buffet style and the waiter service is very impersonal; contact consists of drinks orders and clearing plates in a fairly brusque manner.water has to be purchased which seems like a triumph of profit over customer service.the salad bar is well laid out and appetising, the main course dishes are plentiful, a bit variable in quality but you won't starve and the desserts look pretty but your are probably best going for the icecream and hot fruit combo (speciality peaches flambee'd with brandy!).
get your pool towels from reception; the outside pool was too nippy in november but there were plenty of sunbeds; the indoor pool could also have been a couple of degrees warmer but was clean and pretty.
used local buses to go to frigiliana village and the caves of nerja; both one euro each way.it's about a 15 minute walk to the buses from the hotel, which can provide timetables and tickets for the caves which were amazing!
used tui excursions (this hotel is largely occupied by tui guests from germany and the uk) to ronda (,lovely but early) and grenada( expensive,lovely but the guide messed up the alhambra tour)
finally, hotel evenings; drinks are expensive but you are paying for the entertainment; saw the four tops tribute and welsh "elvis" (he also does a turn on monday which should be good ) which were very entertaining.ok; i admit, i also liked having bbc 1 and itv on the telly in my room!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

This was our third visit. We had superb weather and a lovely holiday in Nerja. Took a travel kettle with us and would advise everyone to do the same. The food was good and the staff excellent. Paco the breakfast chef made our mornings with his cheery banter, There was a recent review regarding hotel security which I investigated when I arrived at the hotel. It is not possible to use a credit card or similar to force open the room door lock as there is a metal plate guard in place but you should always double lock your door anyway. Renting a room safe and using it is just common sense. We found plenty to do in Nerja and the donkey sanctuary is a must although we found the excessive dog muck on pavement annoying. There are many road sweepers employed in Nerja and it is litter free but clearing dog muck doesn't appear to be part of their remit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midshipman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Just returned from the Riu Monica from a weeks holiday. Last stayed there several years ago.
It is well placed with decent sized rooms and balcony with table and 2 chairs. Good limited panoramic sea-views and fairly quiet location.
Breakfast is served from 8am in winter and fantastic choice of fresh fruit, cereal, freshly squeezed fruit juice, salads, pate, cold meats/sardines etc, and hot pancackes, delicious bacon, sausage and the usual extras.
At breakfast you choose your own table in the restaurant and serve yourself to hot drinks.
Evening dinner is served at 2 sittings, 6.30pm and 8.15pm where you are allocated a table for the rest of your stay but which you can change the next day on request. Excellent choice of 2 soups, extensive salad bar and a good variety of cooked meats including chicken, steaks etc etc. Always served hot with a wide variety of veg.
The puddings are an absolute delight with a large variety including a fresh hot fruit dessert each evening. Wine priced from 10 euros.
The bedrooms are comfortable and of good size. There are NO tea and coffee making facilities so do take your own if required. Air-con/ heating is good and efficent. We were fortunate first week in November to have hot, sunny weather so left patio door slightly ajar for ventilation.
The Hotel is kept very clean. No problems with the sun-beds, plenty to go around with mattresses and parasols readily available. The pool and garden areas accommodating the sunbathing areas. Towels available at reception. Safe key also available at a pricely sum of 15 euros a week!!.
There is a happy hour 3 times a week between 5-6pm in the lounge bar.
All staff were friendly and reception particularly helpful to assist.
During the day and evening there are a small number of bars directly accross the road from the hotels main entrance to suit a variety of tastes. My favouite being LA FABRICA who serve the best beer in Nerja and include a free tapas with your drink at about 2..5 euros.
The snacks and food there are home-cooked and very reasonably priced with HOME cooked chips. Muriel and Pedro are amazing hosts. There are about 4 tables outside and 5 inside.
Nerja itself is now much improved from our last visit with long promenades, nice footpaths and gardens and shops to browze around. A visit to the DONKEY SANCTUARY is a must. Truly amazing work thyey do and you can feed the animals for 2 euros a bucket of food. They do rely on voluntary donation to look after the animals so PLEASE GIVE GENEROUSLY they truly deserve it and if you walk past the Perla Marina Hotel to the river, then walk up the side of the river bank which is very quiet and nicely paved on both sides tio the top you reach the main road nand Sol supermarket.. Turn left and keep going left towards Torrox for about 5 mins you reach the
donkeys.
Overall a great hotel and enjoyable holiday.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank spinone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
981 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#7 of 37 in Nerja
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing