We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel all round and well worth a visit”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hotel all round and well worth a visit”
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Excellent food and great choice, very friendly staff, nice rooms and large.
Very good air con throughout the hotel and was needed due to the very hot weather.

Entertainment nightly and hotel situated in greay location, opposite cafes and bars
and 10 mins walk to town centre.

All round a great hotel and will stay there again for sure
Neil Singleton from High Wycombe Bucks in the UK

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    626
    136
    33
    18
See reviews for
275
1,193
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster S Yorks England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

The Monica is very welcoming and first impressions are great with very helpfull staff who will do everything to make your stay problem free. Rooms are spacious and clean and the restaraunt exceptionally well run with a vast variety of food cooked to appeal to the majority. Pool areas are good and spacious and as big hotels go the Monica deserves the positive comments it gets.
We last visited Nerja and the Monica some 14 years ago and things have moved on a bit since then as you would expect. However if we returned to Nerja we would not stay half board anywhere and instead eat out in some of the many good restaraunts where the food would hopefully have a little more of a distinctive taste. Nor would we stay at the Monica as it was too busy for us and overrun at times with families and kids and not ideal for couples.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne &wear
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I stayed in the Monica back in January with members of my partners family (adults). We statyed for 2 nights to celebrate a birthday. The hotel was in a lovely location near to restaurants and bars etc.. when we arrived there was parking at the front for our rental car. And we were greeted at reception with bubbly! We were then given rooms next door to each other. We were dinner bed and breakfast, and we went with the mindset that we would eat in the hotel one night and then go out the next. However the food was so nice we ended up doing both! It was buffet but it was tidy and the quality very good. And the choice, far too much! Overall the standard of food was excellent. With waiter service at your table for drinks, and we were also offered the same table for our entire visit.
Breakfast was also buffet too and again lots of choice.
Th roms were decorated in a style that i would expect a spanish hotel to be, but clean and tidy and large in size. The bathroom was also modern. We had a balcony which we did not use because it was in the middle of jan! However i did catch the sunrise. The hotel also has an indoor swimming pool, which is a bit small, but ideal for our needs.
Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronneyroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Having read the many glowing reviews before our visit, we thought - can it be that good ? Without doubt the answer is a definite yes ! Most of the reviews commend both the staff and the food (quality and variety). We found both to be exceptional. In addition, the hotel is spotlessly clean and in an excellent location, with bars and supermarkets on the doorstep. The walk to the Balcon de Europe is an easy 10-15 minute stroll. Plenty of sun beds (even though inconsiderate guests still reserve their favourite spot). Would we return ? Almost certainly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityboyNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Just returned from a weeks holiday in Nerja staying at the Riu Monica. Fabulous hotel with beachfront location. Rooms excellent, cleaned daily. Mini bar/fridge in room but drinks are cheaper from the supermarket, however not much space in fridge to put them in. Take a travel kettle if you like a hot drink in the room/balcony as not provided. Breakfast and dinner are buffett style with plenty to choose from. Breakfast you sit anywhere, evening meal you are given the choice of two sitings with a designated table for the duration of your holiday.
There was entertainment each night but we chose to walk most evenings into the town where there are many bars, shops etc. Then we would return and have a drink at the bar opposite the front entrance of the hotel ( the Ship) which was run by a lovely couple from Holland helped by Miranda, Mary, and a young lad. They were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3weeksfreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Having stayed at the Monica before some years ago, my wife and I were interested to see if their standards had been maintained, they were, very much so. The glass of "bubbly" on arrival is always a nice touch and very welcome in the heat of June. We had requested a high, pool facing room and we got it. The rooms themselves are very big and there are loads of drawers and hanging space for clothes etc. There is a safe and mini-bar in the rooms and air-con. and a ceiling fan which was brilliant. The beds we found were a little on the hard side but always clean and linen changed frequently, there is the usual TV but with the two main channels of BBC 1 and HTV as well as other satilite channels.
The idea of selecting your dinner table for the duration of your stay is great and this can be changed if you so wish, the food selection is huge and I defy anyone to not find something they like each sitting. The staff introduction at the arrival meeting was a lovely touch and so was the fact that the director, or his deputy, makes a point of seeing all new arrivals and asks if all is well with everything, if it is'nt then it will be put right have no fear. There are towels issued free of charge for the pool and these can be changed as you wish, with regard to the pool, there are still those people who must sit on the same beds each day and go down with their towels early to get their spot. The only way to stop this is to adopt the system we saw in a few hotels in Cyprus were each room is allocated a bed on arrival which they keep for the duration of their stay, of course this means there has to be enough beds for all which might be a problem for hotels with limited space.
We were lucky enough to be in Nerja during the World Cup and the atmosphere was fantastic, Nerja itself is a lovely spanish town with plenty of good shops, restaurants and bars. Across the road from the hotel is Sarah & Monolo's Bar were they do a great choice of sandwiches etc. ideal for that mid-day snack. All in all this was a great holiday, spent in a really lovely hotel in a very spanish town that welcomed us with open arms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victonySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Having stayed in other Riu hotels before, we knew what to expect regarding service and excellent hotel chain. Unfortunately some things didn't live up to our expectations.
Negatives;
The safety deposit box at €15 per week inside the wardrobe on the FLOOR! If you have back problems this can be quite difficult, especially for elderly people I would imagine.
No fresh fruit available to choose from for breakfast, eg, bananas, oranges etc. There were only oranges and grapefruits already sliced up. No real fruit variety.
No fresh orange juice for breakfast, only watered down cordial.
Waited too long for drinks at evening meal sitting, at one stage we counted 20 mins before anybody came over, then you didn't feel like a drink.
Drinks in bar area very expensive, €5.50 for whisky €1.95 for mixer. Over the road at the Jamaica you could get both for €3.50!
Happy hour in bar on only 3 days a week, Tue, Thur and Saturday.
The rooms were of standard Riu, but we found them to be a little tired and dated, in need of refurbish. The cleaning of rooms was not up to standard either, we arrived and had a sunscreen stain on the main mirror, and was still there when we left!
Beds quite hard and creeky.
Pool area very cramped, only half the grounds has full sun, as the hotel has been made to block out one side of the hotel. People were getting up very early to put out their towels and to obtain the full sun areas, otherwise your day would end around 1pm.

Positives;
We found reception staff to be very helpful, especially Luis and Miguel.
Evening meals very enjoyable, especially the carvery, excellent.
The Director always around to answer any problems. We had no hot water one night, reported it to reception, the following day the director came over to our table and asked was it back working, which it was, very nice touch.

Overall we had a very nice first week, but after the second week kicked in, we were getting bored with the repetitiveness. The area of Nerja is very nice, very Spanish, but very quiet. The beach outside the hotel is not one of the best either. We are not party animals, but we found there was basically nothing to do once the first week was over, walking to the same shops every night, and the square became very boring, a week would of been perfect, but I think 2 weeks was far too long. Public transport in Nerja is non existent too, only the town bus which takes you on a short ride around the town, or a bus to Frigiliana. If you wanted to venture further afield, you had to get the bus to Malaga, then change to your required destination. Car hire VERY expensive too, the most we have ever paid! €68 for one day! A complete rip off, as they know you will pay because of lack of public transport.
All taxi rides are at €6 whatever the destination, ie the market on Tuesdays.
This hotel is very nice for a quiet one week stay, would we go back, probably not.
Mainland Spain has gone very expensive, we would probably go all inclusive to Spain, as we love the country and the people, and most of all the Riu hotel chain.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholidays04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
981 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#7 of 37 in Nerja
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing