We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Located right on the beach the views were lovely.
The friendly welcome from the staff with lots of smiles and Champagne (arrived midday) was such a lovely surprise compared to other hotels who normally show no interest in you. We were given a room on the 3rd floor but requested to be moved to a higher level. Nothing was too much trouble to move us but we did have to wait until the midday the following day which was a pain trying not to empty the cases until we were in the room we wanted. They could not have been more helpful offering to move our stuff and settle us in. Giving us extra pillows and making my bed up so that it was softer for my painful back.
The Welcome meeting (which I normally skip) was again a surprise with ALL the hotel managers from Reception, Restaurant, Cleaners, Maintenance etc lined up to step forward to introduce themselves.
Breakfast again there is a welcome from the Manager with a choice of fresh crushed juice and the selection and quality of the breakfast was vast catering for all tastes.
Dinner has two sittings and once more the Manager is there to welcome you. We were taken to our own table which was ours for the week. This was so refreshing knowing you did not have to rush down early to get a clean table as in most other hotels. If you don't finish your wine it's labeled, corked and put into the fridge. Next night you find it back on the table without having to ask. Again, the food was superb. This is the first holiday where we ate in every night without having to go out.
Pool was VERY cold and it was a brave man who ventured in. Didn't try the indoor pool but was told it was even colder. Still, after being in the hot sun one just HAD to get in to cool down. Selection of terraces and gardens to sunbath taking in the beautiful views just has to be done. Be warned there are quite a few steps down to the pool area, there is a lift but you need to change the lift twice in order to get there.
The evening entertainment was very good most nights and the bar drinks were reasonable considering the Euro.
I have to say it was getting very busy near the end of the week so if you want really quiet make sure you got early June if not before.
Not really recommended for children but there was some there.
I definitely would return to this hotel but would like to try other hotels in the Riu Group as I'm told they all offer the same quality service.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonandLinda70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,821)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Monica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,463 - 1,469 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

A warm welcome and a champange receptiopn .staff are welcoming and the manager friendly.bedrooms are ok but not marvellous and towels are awful. dining room is lovely and food is plentiful salad area better than main meals entertainments was very good but finished at 10.30 each evening this hotel caters for the older person and the hotel is very catered towards them. pool area is lovely and loads of beds.the problem with this hotel is the old fashioned keys for doors and safe. we were asked in the restaurant by the manager had we requested a spare key we hadnt but the couple on the next table were robbed that night it spoil our hols i was on pins in case someone had a key this is not the first robbery this hotel has had and this needs addressing. nerja itself is great .
lovely shops restaurants and lovely walks.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St_helensPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Riu Monaco in Nerja the last week of May. We did not have a reservation but were give a very reasonable room rate including breakfast by just walking in off the street of 105 euros per night. Our room was a huge double room with terrace overlooking the pool area and bay. (Rooms on the gable end of the hotel only have this view). Reception staff were extremely pleasant and friendly and there was no problem viewing the room beforehand. Overall the decor of the hotel is a little dated but the staff and location more than make up for that. It is located right on the beach but only a short walk from the centre of Nerja. (But even adjacent to the hotel there are numerous bars and restaurants.) We were only there on a B/B basis so cannot speak for the food in the hotel dining room although friends said it was quite satisfactory. We did however have lunch most days in the pool-side bar which was terrific and very reasonable. Breakfast was more than adequate if a little on the 'package hoilday' side. Although in a hotel of this size this can hardly be avoided. However the service in the dining room was terrific. Staff were extremely friendly and very quick to clear tables and to offer assistance when needed. The pool area is spacious and extremely well maintained. It overlooks the beach so to enjoy the sea breeze and air is an added bonus.
Overall I can highly recommend the Riu for very good value and location but without a doubt it was the staff who made our stay there most enjoyable. From the reception staff to those in the dining room, pool side restaurant and bar and cleaning staff the attitude was always one of cheerfulness, friendliness and extreme efficiency.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GermanyMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We had 2 gr8 weeks in Nerja. Hotel fantastic and staff couldn't do enough for us, the beach was disappointing though as we live in Bournemouth and are use to golden sands. The beach is very small, but there are some lovely bays around. Nerja lovely little rambling town with so much going on in the centre. Bus just outside the hotel, so no need to get taxis, although the rep will tell you to !! Gibraltar trip fantastic and well worth the money. Alahmbra Palace also amazing. Visited the little mountain villages by bus on our own, cause you have more time there and its really easy, just get bus to bus station. Plenty of people around to point you to the right bus stop.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happysands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

this was a first visit for us to the monica after it had been recommended,and it was all we were led to expect.Nothing was to much trouble for the staff or management.One tip don`t take a room starting with a 0.Go for the first floor or above.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank whicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

We have just returned from a week at Riu Monica. We had a traumatic time at Malaga airport when the Thomson rep obviously couldn't be bothered to wait for us to collect our second suitcase. Although she was at the carousel with her clipboard when the luggage started to come through, by the time our case arrived, she had disappeared off the face of the earth. There was no other Thomson rep in the airport and after trying to get help at the Information desk, we were told "yes the coach has left but there are always flights coming in"! We don't know how the rep explained away why 2 people were not checked off her list. Eventually we were directed to the hidden away coachpark and waited for another bus to take us to Nerja. As it was getting dark by this time, we had had visions of booking into a hotel in Malaga for the night. A very cavalier attitude by Thomson and one which is being reported direct to the company.

When at long last we arrived at the hotel, it was late but the welcome was fantastic. A chilled drink was very much appreciated as was the buffet, with hot soup, which was laid on for late arrivals.

After reading a previous reviewer's recommendation to ask for a high level room in the west wing, we had sent an email request for this and were delighted to be given room 431 which had super views of the sea, garden and over the roof tops of adjoining buildings to the bay beyond. Thank you to the reviewer for this tip. Looking over our balcony, it seemed strange in a morning to see sunbeds without towels on! There also appeared to be enough for the whole of Nerja to use.

The room was very large, having 2 twin beds and a further single bed, although there were only 2 of us. Our room and all of the hotel was spotlessly clean.

We chose the earlier dinner and did not find this at all inconvenient. The buffet food was brilliant. A choice of soup, very good range of salads and the main course was excellent. We do not eat meat but there was a good selection of alternatives including vegetarian. It was always freshly cooked, served hot and on hot plates, something which is sometimes lacking in other hotels. Needless to say, the sweets selection was in a similar mode. Each evening, in addition to cold desserts, there was a hot one of poached pears or peaches. The breakfasts were also superb with cereals, toast, croissants, fresh fruit and an array of cooked dishes. All in all, the food was guaranteed to add a stone at least to our starting weight!

We did not see any of the evening entertainment which was provided either going for stroll after our meal or staying in our room for one of us to watch the football on BBC, ITV or SKY. Apparently it was a crucial time for league positions!

Having considered the Thomson trips to be quite expensive, we walked up to the bus and paid a couple of euros to go to the places we wished to see. We also went on the local bus to see the market but were disappointed with this. We had expected to see a number of fruit and vegetable stalls but the majority looked like a carboot. Walking back gave us a look at another part of the beach. For 4 euros each, we took a trip around the town on the little train. Padded seats would have been nice as we are sure the discs in our backs moved up a couple of notches!

When the walking gets tough, there are plenty of bars, one of the nicest being the Mirador which as suggested in its name, gives a wonderful view of the bay whilst you are enjoying your drink.

We had a wonderful time which was made possible by all of the staff at the hotel. It would be difficult to mention any one in particular but we could not fault the cleaners, reception, waiters, chefs or deputy director.

We only had 2 gripes. 1) why have the safe on the floor of the wardrobe - could this not be at eye level to avoid a slipped disc using it and why not have a digital lock. Far easier than carrying the key with you or trying to hide it in the room which would not be difficult for a thief to find. 2) why is the dress code of long trousers for men at dinner not enforced? One man came in each evening wearing the tee shirt and shorts which he had had on in the morning. We mentioned this to the deputy director who said he had not noticed (even though he was in the doorway to greet diners each evening). Presumably he did mention it to this man because on his last night, he wore cropped trousers (with the tee shirt) but perhaps as a mark of rebellion, also wore a back to front baseball cap. There's always one!

Although there were children in the hotel, we never heard them in the evening and we were not disturbed at all at night. All in all, a fantastic holiday and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Hotel serves very good food on a buffet basis although the two dinner sittings can be inconvenient at times.
The hotel staff are very efficient and work towards delivering high standards at the hotel.
The rooms are spacious and kept in good order.
In all, thanks to the Monica, we had an an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: $157 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Refurbished in winter 2015/16 * Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * * No children's pool and no playground * No pets allowed * All bathrooms are equipped with shower (no tub) and special make-up mirror * Minibar (extra charge, only on request) ç * 800 m from the center of Nerja and from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing