We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rui hotel surpasses their high standards.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rui hotel surpasses their high standards.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to this hotel and can fully confirm the overwhelming consensus that this is a well run top class hotel and deserving of its thomson platinum status.Definately recommend and will be returning soon.Thanks to all the staff for giving us a very memorable holiday.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    607
    135
    33
    17
See reviews for
272
1,150
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Just returned from a 7 night stay A warm welcome from excellent reception staff who were very helpful throughout our stay.

Rooms were nicely furnished we stayed in room 248 so had a good view of the beautiful gardens and beach.

The restaurant served nice good food that was fresh and hot my only moan would be too much fish and pork

Decent size pool with plenty of sun loungers and a pool bar that served drinks and snacks at reasonable prices. Staff seemed to be over worked only negative comment not enough staff at pool bar and also in bar in the hotel in the evening. Pool bar closing at 17.00 was a little early considering sun was still shining beyond 18.00.


Hotel management available at all times and like staff friendly and helpful

Overall and excellent hotel and will be returning again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I've been visiting Nerja since 1987 when the Monica was a new hotel and my son learned to swim in their pool. We've tried other hotels,holiday flats and villas, but it's hard to beat the Monica for enjoyment and service. I've just returned from a very pleasant. week. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a very nice balcony and view of the sea.The food was wonderful value and the restaurant and housekeeping staff extremely friendly and professional. I was alone this time but felt very welcome. Only gripe - free IwI-fi access throughout would be apppreciated..

Room Tip: For single travellers a double for sole use with side sea view is amazing value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 823Norma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

This was my eighth visit to this hotel so I don't think I need say much more. The decor in the hotel is now getting a little bit on the tired side but I was told by the assistant manager that it was closing down next year for refurbishment. I will give another go when this as been carried out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The people who work at this hotel make you very welcome, the management really try hard to make your stay here as comfortable as is possible, food buffet hot and cold dishes with plenty of choice. Across the road there are plenty of bars for drinks and snacks if you are on half board.
the resort is very nice and not overcrowded. public transport locally available or go to top of town to get tickets for buses to go further afield, all in all I would return to this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for sea view, which we found the room was larger on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We arrived on Tuesday after Easter for ten days - the weather was wonderful and the hotel provided us with excellent service. The rooms are spacious with plenty of storage and a secluded balcony on the sixth floor. The staff are great at this hotel, the room cleaning is spot on and the hotel even arranged for us to have ours cleaned by mid-day - the food is good considering it is a buffet style restaurant with plenty of choice and quantity. The grounds are lovely although I do not think that it is that suitable for children as the pool is not large and part of the grounds are gardens. We had been to the hotel seven years ago but, will not leave it so long to return - the other benefit is the super town of Nerja - so plenty to do

Room Tip: We thought that our room on the sixth floor was excellent with views over the sea and towards the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

A stay over Easter with 2 children, this hotel provided us with a good standard of accommodation, enjoyable food and a relaxing environment where the children were made very welcome, despite being in the minority here.

The hotel is spacious and all of the staff were friendly and happy to help. Room cleaning standards were excellent. The evening entertainment was variable but fun, the flamenco show was certainly the high point for us.

The outdoor pool was a little chilly for my liking (in April) but that didn't stop the children! The indoor pool was warmer but a there was a distinct lack of loungers in this area.

Breakfast and evening meals were always good quality - some repetition of items, but always some new things each day too and the food off the hot counter was always freshly cooked and piping hot.

We liked being able to access the beach straight from the hotel grounds, through a security gate - straight across the walkway and onto the beach - no roads to cross. The beach is more gritty than sandy but the children enjoyed playing in the sea with its breaking waves.

Nerja itself is an easy 5 minute stroll away through the old, narrow street and was a very pleasant and civilised place to walk around. The views from the Balcon de Europa are spectacular and so are the displays of icecreams in some of the shops!

Very enjoyable, would return to Nerja and the Monica.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happycamperette007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#10 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing