We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel to Confidently Recommend”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

A truly great holiday experience. A very comfortable room with a balcony and sea view (not really restricted as claimed) and wonderful buffet meals. We were there for an early spring break at the end of February and the weather was very pleasantly warm and sunny.
The refurbishment of the public areas is apparently scheduled for the end of the year, but they were very good anyway with the slight shabbiness adding a slight period atmosphere.
The evening entertainment was not always to our taste but was clearly enjoyed by most of the other guests. It is very much aimed at the older generation. The extensive lounge areas made it easy to find a place that was just the right distance from the music.
The staff were excellent throughout and it was certainly one of our best holiday experiences. We booked it as part of a Thomson package which was very good value, even though the departure from Gatwick meant we had to be there in the middle of the night! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor which was ideal There are lots of lifts so getting up and down was neve...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,808)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Monica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed here in December 2012.
Had such a relaxing and fun holiday. Room very good and quiet with balcony. Day time entertainment very friendly . Made to feel very welcome despite being alone. Food was fine but was not keen on the evening arrangements as there were two sittings and you had to sit at the same table every night. Made me feel like miss no-mates.
Breakfast was very good and I was joined by friends I had made during the holiday. The hotel had a spacious feel which I liked. There was a small gym which was really good and open all day.
The Thomson from Liverpool was very helpful and friendly.
I was so pleased that on my return I booked straight away for December 2013. Unfortunately I was unwell and had to cancel but I look forward to returning as soon as possible . Brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam-tyler-newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a truly relaxing week here with our two teenagers. Staff were friendly and genuinely helpful as well as being amazingly efficient! Check in for about 30 guests at once was done totally painlessly within about 5 mins of arrival. Very impressive. Our two rooms were a good size and had plenty of storage space. Mini bar provided useful fridge space and our room was kept beautifully clean every day. Beds were fine, although pillows weren't soft enough for us! We had a second floor room with a sunny balcony - excellent! However, soundproofing between rooms not so good - next door's tv and bathrooms very easily heard and noises a bit intrusive, especially at night. Free wifi in lobby was too limited to be of any real use, so paid 25 euros for comprehensive access for the week, but still a bit unreliable for today's teenagers!! Food was great - plenty of choice and all kept beautifully fresh and topped/tidied up regularly during each dinner sitting. We always found something for each of us to enjoy at dinner, whether it was salads to start, roast meats or pasta, fresh fruits or even a chocolate fountain one night! Breakfasts also outstanding, which took some organisation for so many guests! Some of the evening entertainment acts in the bar were quite good but not really a highlight, except for the flamenco show, which was very good! We were lucky with the weather, so enjoyed using the wide selection of sun beds in the garden and pool area - we always seemed to find one free in a suitable location! We also used the small indoor pool, but it is a little cramped for more than a few people at a time and not designed for swimming lengths! There were lovely walks on the sea front right from the hotel, and walking into Nerja town centre only took about 10 mins and was on the level, so very easy. Nerja itself is fairly unspoilt and nice for wandering. Lots of interesting little shops and galleries, and cafés and bars. We found the hotel leather shop very helpful and good value. We went independently on the bus to Frigiliana one day, which is a characterful hill town (=steep walks) and visited the impressive Nerja caves by taxi (€9 each way). Despite being on a Thomson package, we didn't do any organised trips as we just enjoyed relaxing and discovering Nerja area itself. Would definitely go back, especially out of season - but sadly we were told the hotel will be closed for refurbishment Nov '14 to March '15. .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just returned from the Riu Monica in Nerja and it is a fabulous hotel, with wonderful efficient staff, fabulous food and lovely rooms. It may need a little love in the decoration quarter but this is already on the books for November and does NOT detract from the warm friendly welcome at this hotel.Has a lovely bar and dining area outside by the pool with wonderful views. Definately one to return to. Soon. !!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
7  Thank Joanne252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just spent a lovely relaxing week at this hotel

From start to finish a truly excellent hotel

Great food,excellent staff ,lovely and clean

Spent a few days at pool area overlooking the promenade

Hotel in great location less than 10 mins walk to Balcon de Europe
Hope to return very soon

Hop

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 986Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely seven day break at the Monica. We found this a very friendly hotel, and the staff were very helpful. From the welcoming drinks as we waited to be checked in, to meeting the various managers at the Thomson welcome meeting, all the staff gave the impression of wanting to be of service. Hadn’t realised that Riu is part owned Tui before. The hotel is still listed in the Platinum range online, despite some claims it has lost that rating.
The rooms were very spacious with plenty of clothes space, and plenty of hangers. Although we are used to a Tempur type mattress at home, we didn’t find the bedding here as hard as some have suggested. We had requested a high room and were on the fifth floor with lovely views of the sunrise. Our balcony was a real sun trap until about midday when the “other side” of the hotel had the sun until sunset. We asked for an extra pillow and got this immediately, and a broken balcony towel rail was replaced as soon as we reported it. There were no problems changing rooms if required, but this may be more difficult in peak season.
We thought 25 euros a week for bedroom wifi a bit steep, so used the wifi in the reception area but this was a bit hit and miss, probably due to high demand. There was entertainment in the lounge bar most evenings but this was totally forgettable! This doesn’t seem to be a RIU strong point. We thought the charge for the safe reasonable at 15.75 for the week.
We found the food plentiful and varied and the waiter service excellent. We had requested to be on the first sitting but it was full on the first evening, but we were moved from the second evening.
Being the “off” season, most of the guests were quite elderly, and some stay here for a month or more. One group were in their twenty-fifth year.
There is a bus top nearby where Service 1 takes you up to town for 1 Euro, its then a short walk to the bus station. We can recommend a visit to the caves, just over a euro on the bus.
Nerja is a pleasant town with more character than many places on the Costa, much more to see than just the Balcon d’Europa. Trips to Ronda and Granada are available, but wrap up warm! Unfortunately our trip to Ronda was cancelled so we did the Blanket Trip to Malaga. We knew what to expect because we’ve been several times before, but it was free and we saw Malaga, which we wouldn’t have done otherwise. Worth sitting through the presentation for that, as it’s a nice city.
The January weather was quite pleasant, part sunny most days. There was quite a strong wind at times, quite chilly when it came down off the mountains which had snow on them.
Overall, this was a pleasant hotel. It deservedly comes out quite well on Trip Advisor, but it is after all a 4 star holiday hotel, clearly some reviewers expect a Platinum hotel to offer more! We usually try not to make hotel return visits, but we may return here , particularly if we get such a good price again We certainly recommend Nerja.

Room Tip: High floors give good views, either sunrise or sunset. We emailed before going.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carltondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Have just returned from a week at the Riu Monica. From the moment we arrived it was obvious this is a hotel that prides itself on customer care. The staff were fantastic. From the welcome glass of cava, to the request for an extra pillow, nothing was too much trouble. Efficient check in and out.
The room was large, comfortable and spotlessly clean thanks to Ana Maria the maid. I arrived when she was cleaning one day. She had the bed pulled right out from the wall cleaning thoroughly underneath, balcony mopped, always with a smile. Plenty of piping hot water, storage space with plenty of hangers.
We were staying half board and opted for the earlier 6pm sitting. You are assigned a table for your evening meal which you keep for the duration of your stay. Again staff double checked you were happy where you were seated. Husband is a vegetarian so was delighted when there was a more than ample choice at both breakfast and dinner. Have had a laugh at the mention of brussel sprouts in earlier reviews. I love them and can assure you they only appeared twice in the week we were there!.
The staff greet you as you arrive in the dining room and obviously pay attention to the details you fill in on arrival, as on my birthday I arrived to find a candle lit on my table and a bottle of cava in an ice bucket beside the table. All the staff including the manager came to say Hapoy Birthday. A lovely touch. On the subject of the manager, he was always visible and actively taking an interest in everything that was happening.
Comfortable bar, reasonably priced for a hotel bar.
90mins per day internet access in the comfortable lobby. Please note this has to be used all at once.
Outside plenty of sun loungers. Beach is across the road through a coded gate. 10 minutes to centre of Nerja at a leisurely pace. Other bars and small supermarket across the road.
Day trips available. Ask for an early breakfast. Can recommend the trips to Granada and the Alhambra and also the trip to Antequera.
Have stayed in other places in Nerja but this would now be my hotel of choice.
While we were there BBC and ITV went digital and are no longer available.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better. Four lifts, never had to wait long for one.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maizedaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: $160 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Refurbished in winter 2015/16 * Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * * No children's pool and no playground * No pets allowed * All bathrooms are equipped with shower (no tub) and special make-up mirror * Minibar (extra charge, only on request) ç * 800 m from the center of Nerja and from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing