We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Spot”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Staff were very friendly and the food was superb with a great and wide choice. Drinks in the hotel including wine were very reasonably priced. Rooms were all sea views. Really can't fault it apart from the room AC. Not very good. But would highly recommend it as it's well situated as well on the beach but a lot of bars and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeedubSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,841 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Glass of champagne when we arrived nice touch.lovely room sea view very quite.Met a
Lot of the staff the next day at the welcome meeting which was very nice.Good food good service.Nerja is a very nice place lots of nice resturants bars etc

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia55Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is very clean, well looked after and every single member of staff is out to please.
I could wright pages of positive stuff about the hotel, but won't as everyone else has already done this.

Instead I will write some information that I have not read on other reviews that yo may or may not like.

1) Amazingly for a hotel, there is enough sun loungers, what ever time of the day you go to the pool.

2) Don't want to be near noisy kids at the pool, there are quiet gardens with sun loungers the other side of the hotel.

3) No inflatables allowed in the pool, personally we didn't like this.

4) Two dinner settings 7pm and 8.45pm we didn't like this as we were assigned to the 7pm slot as 8.45pm was too busy. On two occasions when we did trips and arrived back we were advised that they could not guarantee to fit us in to the 8.45pm sitting as they were too busy.

5) Entertainment is very very poor. One chap doing the entertainment for what is a very large hotel. He does well on his own but the hotel does really need an entertainment team.

6) The cleaners are brilliant, the room was spotless every day when we returned, and cleaned the room every single day. Large tip left for them when we left.

7) Views from high levels are good, low levels are poor. We were on level 3 which meant we were just high enough to see the beach from the balcony.

8) Mattress on beds were not very good, you could hear and feel the springs when you moved about.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited Hotel Monica Septembert 2012 and had a great holiday break. The hotel was very good with varied buffet meals of good quality. Situated on a quiet road some half a mile from the town centre but an easy stroll. Limited evening entertainment but there are a good selection of cheap Taverna's right opposite the hotel for variety. Not impressed by the gritty beach but the hotel does have large pool areas with ample sun beds reached on a lower level by either steps or a lift.

Room Tip: Our room was spacious, well furnished and cleaned on a daily basis. Plenty of lifts to the floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Arrived to a nice glass of champagne which was a lovely touch, had a nice room which was clean and had a limited sea view but was still a great view. Room 534. The room was cleaned to a great standard everyday. You can have beach towels free of charge every day from reception. Food was very nice fantastic salad bar however could feel repetitive after a few days, you never felt like you had a full meal just something with salad. Pudding table was a hit with my son and I loved cheese and biscuits every night.

Was disappointed that you only had 90 mins of free wifi in the lobby everyday (Once you went on it the clock started ticking so you lost it if not used there and then could not be used over the day), if you wanted more time or in another area like in your room or by the pool then you had to pay, Every bar outside the hotel offered free wifi so not sure why the hotel did not offer this after all the price of the holiday is not cheap in fact it was the most expensive holiday we have booked so far.

The staff were very friendly, and some of the entertainment was entertaining, I would say 5 out of the 14 there was good entertainment on, The childrens entertainer Ruey is well liked at the hotel and the kids love the nightly disco he ran, the childrens entertainment which is run in the day for a coupke of hours was very limited to ping pong, bingo and water polo, my son was not impressed at all.

The Life guards around the pool are very up with what you can and cannot do around the pool, which meant no diving, jumping playing ball or any sort of kiddy fun at all. This was noticed by nearly everyone with children, I know it is a hotel for all ages however it did feel like it was more aimed at adults. Beds were uncomfortable and we were shattered after 2 weeks.

The location could not be better, lots of nice bars and restaurants very closed by with the beach right by the hotel perfect and Nerja is gorgeous, very impressive and quaint loads to do at night which was a good job as we did not often stay at the hotel except for a Friday and Saturday night.

So I would recommend this for couples or older people and for those with very small children x However saying that the location makes up for any down sides to the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not worry about over looking the pool, side views of the sea also make a great view x try not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bridaldream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed for 14 nights in July 2012. Travelled with Thomsons without any hitch.
The hotel is in a quiet location on the outskirts of the town. A gentle 10 minute stroll and you reach the Balcon de Europe which is good to visit in the evenings.
The staff and hotel are wonderful. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just retuned from a 5 night stay. Food was plentiful, hot and lots of choice. The staff at the Monica could not be any better. The manager was at most dinners talking to guests to check they were enjoying their stay. The children's mini club kept the little ones entertained. My 11 year old is autistic and doesn't normally attend these clubs on holiday so I spoke to Patricia the lovely lady who managed the club and she was fab. My son who barely lasts 15 minutes in a kids club attended all 5 days. The entertainment was ok. Magic show was brilliant and the quiz evening hilarious. One of the team members (unsure of his name) worked tirelessly throughout the day keeping everyone entertained with pool activities and aqua aerobics and then popped back up in the evening dancing around in superhero costumes at the kids mini disco. Not sure where he got his endless energy!! The pool entertainment wasn't obtrusive and didn't take up the whole pool area and it wasn't forced on you, just available if you wanted to join in. The Monica is just a short walk from town centre and right on a small sandy beach. Didn't spot a thread bare towel at all and beds were comfortable. Will defiantly return to this hotel but for a longer stay next year!
Well done the Riu Monica !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: $134 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Refurbished in winter 2015/16 * Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * * No children's pool and no playground * No pets allowed * All bathrooms are equipped with shower (no tub) and special make-up mirror * Minibar (extra charge, only on request) ç * 800 m from the center of Nerja and from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners * Dresscode: Formal dress required for dinner. Long trousers for gentlemen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing