We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not find fault”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could not find fault”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived on 20th June, to be greeted with a glass of nice champagne, to the time we left a week later, we were completely satisfied with every aspect of this hotel. Everywhere was kept spotless, staff were helpful, friendly and hard working, it was obvious they were happy with the management and conditions, things were run very efficiently. Our room was on the 4th floor with side sea/pool view, and very spacious. The shower (over bath) was powerful and endless hot water. Breakfast and dinner were self service but a waiter was always on hand for drinks and prompt removal of used plates etc. My husband is a lover of fresh shell-on king prawns and each time he had them a waiter appeared immediately with hand wipes. Choice of food was amazing and of a high standard, and the desserts were plentyful and delicious. Pool area is huge with a choice of grass or tiled verges and loads of sunbeds and brollies, and towels are provided.There is a notice saying sunbeds must not be reserved with towels, but this is ignored! Would most certainly return here and we also loved Nerja itself.

Room Tip: Left side view of sea/pool gets the sun in morning, so cooler in evening. High floor gets a good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NanaLin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    616
    135
    33
    17
See reviews for
273
1,174
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our 2nd visit to riu monica, and cannot fault it on any standard be it food - rooms - and staff. all excellent.:) we have been going to the riu hotels for several years and have never been let down on the quality of service.
.

Room Tip: rooms 348 and onwards have the sun in late afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Mackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly and efficient staff. The glass of bubbly was a nice touch. Our rooms were on the first floor and we found them a good size and very clean. The bathroom was a good size and had a nice powerful shower. The internal drain pipes though were very noisy and annoying when awoken at 6am by them. Balcony was a good size with the usual plastic seats and table. A bit poor I thought for a Riu 4 star but they did a job. The paying for a safe and there being no Kettle in the room is annoying but we took our own. The telly was old but who really uses them anyway. Saying that we could hear our neighbours tellies as the walls are a bit thin.
The dining room is good in that you are allocated a table which is yours for the duration of your stay. I did wonder what you had to do to get one by the window with the sea view. The breakfasts were really good with loads of choice. The dinner at night is in two sittings of 6.15 and 8.15. The salad bar and desserts were excellent but the hot food I felt was pretty dire. Boring even. I have been to 2 and 3 star hotels with much better options. Staff were once again superb though.
In the evening the shows are really poor. Apart from the Jersey Boys and a guy who sang songs from Robbie and Tom Jones, the rest were awful and had no interaction with people at all. The hotel was full and they were singing to 4 or 5 people. Again though great waiting staff.
The outside area is pretty big but the pool is far to small for the Hotel. If you weren't down early there was no way you were getting a bed anywhere near it. Awful practise which I hate. Other Hotels now employ staff to remove towels that are left unattended for a duration of time. Some 4/5 star have started allocating them for the whole holiday. As the Monica does with the dining room. The garden area was just as bad. I had seen many towels left all day only to be used from 3pm onwards. Very selfish and it needs to be addressed. One day there were no beds at all to be had and yet a third of them had nobody on them. I even took a photo from the balcony to prove it.
The area around the Hotel is lovely with easy access to the town. Loads of lovely restaurants and shops. You could go for a different walk everyday and see something new. The whole place is kept spotless. Very seldom see as much as an old fag end. There are a few beggars and a few that sell the sunglasses etc. but they never bother you. The prices out and about are also very good. There are places to visit like the caves. I wish I had booked the trip to the Alhambra but I'll do that when I revisit Nerja which will be soon. I'm not sure if I'll be booking into the Monica though.

Room Tip: I would go for a higher floor if you want the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jkennyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

2 week stay from 9th June. From the glass of champagne on arrival through till the day we left everything was first class. The food was excellent, especially the desserts, there was enough choice to satisfy most people. The room was spotlessly clean and kept that way on a daily basis by the maid. All of the staff were excellent, providing efficient, friendly and helpful service.
Lots of guests seemed to head for the bars opposite the hotel for an after dinner drink. The Ship and the Jamaica bar are ones we tried and they both also did nice light lunches. You must venture into town and try the excellent tapas bars, buy a small beer and get a free tapa.
Pool towels are free and can be changed daily if required. The entertainment, usually live music was not bad but not good enough to encourage us to stay in in the evenings. One complaint, the cost of hiring a safe key at 31.5 euros for 2 weeks is excessive and should be reviewed. Overall we had a wonderfull holiday and hopefully we will be back.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms on the East side have sun in the morning, even numbered on the west have sun in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8to10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Was apprehensive as we booked last minute and did not have time to fully research hotel but we were pleasantly surprised.
The glass of champagne while waiting to check in was a nice touch and set the standard for the rest of the week.The food was excellent with plenty of choice both at breakfast and dinner.
Our room was a good size with plenty of wardrobe space and spotlessly clean.
The staff were friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble.
Considering the hotel was full it was very quiet in the evenings so may not suit everyone but was exactly the "chill out" we wanted.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a delightful place to stay.
Friendly and knowledgeable staff throughout, excellent service enjoyable range of good quality food and the meat and fish courses were all freshly cooked in front of you.
All of the rooms have views and are in a quiet location, and there is shade in the grounds during the day, unless you want to soak up the rays around the pool.
No lights on balconies though for those of you who enjoy reading at night in the open.
The clientele is generally more mature and whilst the site slopes down towards the sea, there are sufficient lifts to all areas.
Unaware of any screaming babies or other children during our seven night stay in the early part of June 2013.
Pool bar had a limited range of reasonably priced snacks during the day and whilst they didn’t sell cider, Sarah and Manolo’s friendly bar opposite sold pint bottles of ice cold Magners as well as I believe draught Strongbow, but don’t quote me on that as I only enjoyed the Magners.
A pint of lager is around the 3 Euro mark. Soberano, Veterano & other brandies are available for around 10.5 Euros for a 1 litre bottle, which works out significantly cheaper than by a couple of glasses from the hotel bar.
Lovely fish restaurant just below this pool bar which is accessed by exiting the hotel through the gate leading to the beach.
Dark coloured sand on the beach, which was stony and steep at the end by the hotel gate, but better further along.
Save yourself some money and don’t bother with the Thompson room upgrade charge as all rooms are similarly fitted out, at least that is what the reception staff told my wife.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01quietman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at Riu Monica for one week June 9th. Fabulous Hotel, Room was on top floor with great views of sea and surrounding area. Staff were friendly and attentive. Any requests were granted if possible, i.e. request to move table for dinner to sit by the window. Food was fabulous, put on 7 pounds in weight while there!!! Room was spotless and cleaned daily with fresh towels and sheets. Will return to this hotel and would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Best view from higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#8 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing