We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bondie”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bondie”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at Riu Monica for one week June 9th. Fabulous Hotel, Room was on top floor with great views of sea and surrounding area. Staff were friendly and attentive. Any requests were granted if possible, i.e. request to move table for dinner to sit by the window. Food was fabulous, put on 7 pounds in weight while there!!! Room was spotless and cleaned daily with fresh towels and sheets. Will return to this hotel and would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Best view from higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    638
    137
    33
    18
See reviews for
282
1,213
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A fabulous hotel in terms of service, cleanliness and food quality. The hotel location is good with bars and supermarkets opposite and only a 5 minute walk from the Balcon. The room was spacious and spotless and the TV channel list included BBC1, ITV and Film4. If you need two pillows then remember to ask for them as soon as you arrive as there was only one per bed. The bathroom was a good size with over the bath shower and hairdryer. My only criticism would be that the bath towels were on the small side and not very absorbent (unlike the pool towels that were of a much better quality). The food in the restaurant was good, plenty of choice particularly where salads were concerned. There were two sittings for dinner, 6.30pm and 8.15pm and you could change if need be.
During the day the pool area was fairly quiet, limited entertainment was laid on Mon-Fri and included rifle shooting, darts, aquarobics, shuffleboard etc which I thoroughly enjoyed. Given the fact that the hotel was full I couldn't understand why the daytime entertainment wasn't on at the weekend.
I'm 43 and was staying at the Monica with my Mum (she's late 60s but young at heart). Whilst we wanted a relaxing week we do enjoy a few drinks and a bit of entertainment in the evening. There were only two decent shows on in the hotel during the week that we were there - a Robbie Williams Tribute Act and Temptations style group. On the other nights there was live music which was so bad it encouraged us to leave the hotel and head for the Jamaica Bar opposite. I think that the hotel management are labouring under the mis-apprehension that the guests at this hotel are too old to appreciate decent entertainment which is a shame as if the hotel had been better on this front then it would have made for a much more enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the hotel get the late afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxidoo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

just back from riu monica we had a great time,glass of champagne on arrival,lovely friendly staff,the room had a sea view and was spotlessly clean.all staff were helpful.manager came and made sure everything was ok the first evening in the dining room,the food was really good.read before we went that if you didnt get to breakfast by half nine it was cleared away this wasnt the case we had breakfast every morning at this time and the staff were still filling everything up.the pool area was good plenty of spare sunbeds and umbrellas,games played but not hassled into joining in,quite quiet no loud music unless water aerobics on.the hotel had a gate to the promenade and beach and we were given a code to get back in.have stayed at an riu before and this was as good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.E. England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed at the Monica end of April into early May. First visit to both hotel and resort. Will certainly consider returning to Nerja again, very Spanish. This is unusual these days as most resorts are "little Britain with sunshine!" The hotel was quite nice, but considering it's the most expensive in a resort with little comparative competition, they really don't need to try that hard. On arrival, we hated the "gather around and wait for your name to be called out to check in" system! Definitely not four star in my experience. Never come across it before. Staff - cannot be faulted. Rooms - nice enough, but dated. Pipes very noisy! T.V. Ok(ish). Bathroom - fine, although I agree the towels need upgrading, and the toiletries were quite basic, had better. Toilet paper!!! - narrowest, lowest quality I have ever encountered...definitely not related to Andrex, and would cost very little to improve. Air conditioning?? Non existent, at least in our room. Complained but told others had requested heating! This doesn't make sense to me. If you pay to stay in a 4star hotel, you should be able to decide for yourself what temperature you want your room to be! Luckily we were able to just leave the balcony door open all night, and enjoyed the sound of the sea. Position of the hotel is second to none. Restaurant - liked the seating arrangement, same table every night, and over the week we met some lovely people while having dinner. Hello Hub, Marie Jose, Mike and Maureen! Food - Soups were nice. Salad bar was the best I have ever encountered! Main courses, meat quality very poor. Fish dishes nice, overall choice not good enough for 4star hotel. Sorry! Gym was great, and never used! Big plus, although I have probably just spoilt that! ;o)) Pool and garden area really nice, and no problem with sunbeds while we were there, although it was still obvious there were the die hards with towels wrapped around them on the colder days, "staking their claim to their own special sunbed". Made for good entertainment watching them though! I would probably return to the hotel, but truthfully just because I really liked Nerja, and this hotel does not have any real competition. If it did, they might not rest on their laurels so easily. It has it's die hard supporters who having been 99 times before, will not have a word said against it(literally!) this is obviously because they haven't stayed anywhere else! There are many, many better hotels, and of course many many worse!

Room Tip: East side morning sun and beautiful views of sea, coast and mountains. West afternoon sun views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimJoyceN_E_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Well what can I say we had the most fantastic week, the hotel staff on arrival was very helpful, very quick on checking us in. The reception staff was always polite/helpful.

Our room 002 was so spacious, clean and bright in fact when we go back we would ask for the same room (if available of course).

The food was very good & plenty of choice. Ample of sun loungers/good entertainment in daytime, we went out most evenings walking around and going to Nerja town which was amazing, loads of bars and places to eat & relax.

The only thing negative about our holiday was the weather for the first 2 days we had really strong winds it was that bad even the sun-loungers was being blown into the pool, but hey we cant change the weather!!! after that we had brilliant sunshine and hot.

I really dont know why people moan about this hotel!!!!! but then I suppose you will always find people nic picking on the slightest thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 729dewdrop729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We arrived at his hotel expecting something extra special, but left feeling like we got a very average holiday. I think it should be listed as a SAGA holiday, we are in our 40’s and were among the youngest people staying here.

First of all I have to say that this hotel is spotlessly clean. Our room was large and room with a full size bath with overhead shower, it worked well, but as previous people have said the towels are thin and hardly cover your body.
Thanks to previous reviewers tips we were sure to bring along our own travel kettle and cups, and I would advise others to do the same.

We really enjoyed breakfasts at the hotel, there was a choice of pastries, breads, fruit, yoghurts, cereal, pancakes and of course a full fry up. Evening meals were not so great, we found the whole affair very much like being in a school canteen. We weren’t able to relax and take it slow as we had to keep getting up between each course to serve ourselves from the buffet. It was a bit of a scramble to find your way to each counter. By day 4 we were so fed up by the food and canteen we went out across the road to the Jamaica restaurant, it was soo nice to be able to sit down for all 3 courses, relax, eat great food and be served by a waiter…..very refreshing. We ate a few meals in the Jamaica restaurant and all of them were excellent.
The hotels’ daytime entertainer was great, he organised a pub quiz, Spanish lessons, skittles and other events and was very good at his job, but the evening entertainment was disappointing, the acts had no charisma or audience interaction, I noticed many people sat reading their books whilst the acts were on. There was a chap from Wales who gave a lively performance but we only saw him one night. The bar staff were excellent.

We found Nerja to be a bit grubby there were a lot of shops but many were closed down. We did find that prices for food and gifts very reasonable. Be aware that if you sit at the outside tables of a café for food/drink that beggars of all sorts will come by asking for money. They make you feel very uncomfortable if you don't give them anything.
The beaches are okay in Nerja but not as nice as other parts of Spain. Burrianna beach was pleasant and very large.

Whilst we personally wouldn’t return to this area or hotel, I did overhear one lady saying it was her 29th visit, so for some people it must work.
When reading reviews I should recommend considering only those from people who have written several hotel reviews before, I am always suspicious of peoples’ opinions who only have history of writing 1 review and wonder if they are written by the hotel staff themselves.

Room Tip: We found the evenings very windy and cool so bring a warm fleece along or hot water bottle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Funhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had looked forward to this for ages until we read farrj’s review of 11 May 2013. Fortunately most people were right….. It is a really friendly hotel, good staff, reasonable food, and Nerja itself is a pretty, not too commercial, town.
A bit more detail then. We arrived at 10-30 local time. The reception staff were friendly signed us up for safe /towels etc. and checked us in. We found all the staff very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Management were certainly visible. Our room was ready… Great. The room was on the 6th floor with a fantastic sea view. Ok it was not cutting edge décor, but clean, large, and the bathroom had just been refurbished.
Meals were good, and we always found something to suit - the pasta man was usually a good fall back! We also had a great table, and managed to get a wine bucket without asking. We found ourselves having after dinner coffee/brandy across the road at The Ship. Very friendly staff (Mary) and value for money.
I won’t go on but the town was great, lots of good eating places for lunch/snack/drinks, and good takeaways around the Balcon. We trecked over to Burrianna beach a few times, also Fab.
So all in all it was an excellent holiday, and yes we will be back!

Room Tip: get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alex t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing