We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“sooooooooooo good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“sooooooooooo good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you are looking from a kids point of view, it is sooooo good. There is a kids club and lots to do in the pool. The adults will love it to, there is a town 5 mins away and a great beach. If you are looking for a hotel, go here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    558
    123
    30
    15
See reviews for
263
1,023
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead,Tyne and Wear, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for one week half board from 31st March to 7th April.
This was our second stay at Riu Monica and was as good as our previous stay in 2010. It is situated about 15 minutes walk from the Balcon area.
The room was comfortable and a request for an additional pillow was dealt with immediately.
The bathroom was functional with a shower over the bath and basic toiletries provided.
There was a good selection for breakfast and dinner and meals were enjoyable. Decent bottles of wine at reasonable prices were available.
All staff were pleasant and efficient.
The weather could have been better and a few days, although it was warm, it was very windy and the hotel pool area was not busy.
We will have no hesitation in booking this hotel on our next visit to this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob2147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed there at the beginning of March. Our choice of hotel was based simply on the fantastic reviews here. We were not disappointed. Everything was good apart from the weather which was not the hotel’s fault. Refreshing to see the whole management team put in an appearance at the welcome meeting and they were in evidence around the hotel, especially the assistant manager at breakfast time.
We will return one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at the Riu Monica over the Easter Holiday. We were quite late arriving at the Hotel due to our flight to Malaga being delayed but were welcomed by the Manager and staff with a glass of cava and after a quick check-in were told that a buffet would be available for us in 15 minutes. This was extremely welcome and was the start of a lovely holiday. Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely hardworking staff. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and food excellent and lots of choice. Great location with bars, restaurants and supermarkets across the road and a pleasant stroll into the centre of Nerja. Enjoyed seeing the Semana Santa procession on Easter Sunday which we found quite moving. A visit to Frigliana and the Donkey Sanctuary is recommended.

Room Tip: High floor room on the western side of the hotel gets the afternoon sun and lovely sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our second Riu hotel holiday (join the RIU class club for discounts) and another excellently managed hotel. The staff were amazing, efficient and friendly. Lovely room, comfy bed-an important thing for my holidays! On the fifth floor so lovely sea view, bit of wave noise but not complaining. Dining room well designed and asked on second day if we wanted to change tables, did not.Food for all tastes, hot when meant to be,cold when meant to be! Entertainment not as bad as expected. Lovely swimming pool but waves on it due to WIND++cold wind at that. Hot sun when sheltered eg in the great lunch cafe to right of beach gate. Excellent food served here.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views, we prefer high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micklethwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay and we were very impressed with the hotel. We had a drink on arrival and the booking in was simple and efficient.
The location is ideal but it could be a problem if there is a mobility issue, as virtually every way you go is up hill.
The room and en suite were of a good size and the sea view was excellent even though it was supposed to be limited. There are no tea/coffee making facilities but we got a kettle from reception, which was subject to a refundable 10 euro deposit. Room was a bit dated but it had no impact. My wife advises taking a hair dryer.
Food at breakfast and evening meal was excellent and there was a large choice.
Entertainment in the main was very good and the singer was excellent.
Staff, in every area, were very friendly and extremely helpful.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireLeyther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the Riu Monica for the first time in March this year and found it to be ideally situated in Nerja , a town that has managed to retain its Spanish charm. The staff, bar none, were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had not been in our room more than ten minutes when we received a phone call from reception asking if our room was to our liking. The same caring attitude prevailed throughout our stay. The food was of a very good standard and we chose the later sitting of 8.15pm for our main meal, although the times are not set in stone as I requested the earlier sitting one evening. I was accomodated with ease and escorted to our table by one of the numerous helpful waiters. All in all an excellent stay at a quality hotel which I hope to re visit in the future.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better - no noise to disturb at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MansellDJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.8 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#12 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing