We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4* but some reservations”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our room was very clean, on the 6th floor and facing the sea and pool, plenty of room for the two of us and our 12 year old daughter. The hotel itself is a little dated, kind of lost in the 70's but that might be its charm, it gives you the feel of how Med holidays were years ago. Yes the staff are very good, friendly, humorous and polite. The pool area is not as big as it could be and can get rather crowded. The sun loungers are a problem, the thing is if you don't bag yours early, you will find it hard to get two or three together after 8.30am. We saw quite a few people walking around hopelessly looking for loungers at 9am - not good. Although this problem would only occur during the school holidays.So I'm afraid yes I was one of those many that bagged my 3 loungers at 7am but if I didn't, we were screwed. I'm not sure the food was really all that, ok the food itself was well cooked but the variety of the main course was poor and lets be fair a salad is a salad, puddings though were very good and a small selection of cheeses were and added bonus. The plates are on the small size, which is a bit crafty. At times in the restaurant it was like being in Butlins as it was a little chaotic, especially during 7 - 730, we went in at around 7.30 at which time was a little less manic. I have to say, dinner was a tad disappointing. The bars directly over the road were ok, we had one drink over there on our first night but didn't go back, nothing really wrong with them but very samy and very much catered for the British (if you know what I mean). Out of the Hotel and turn right and after about 50 yards or so on the left hand side of the road, there was a small tapas bar, looks a bit like a deli from the outside, has two tables on the pavement, with a couple of barrels also used as tables, spend half hour or so there for a nice drink - beer or wine and the owner (Spanish) just keeps bringing out free tapas, he's a very nice man who doesn't speak much english but enough and he made us feel very welcome and it was very pleasant sitting there watching the sun go down, rather than with the hoards in the bars opposite the hotel. The area is very safe and geered up very much for the 55plus and young families. While we were there it seemed a lot of Grandparents, their children and their grandchildren were there, which was not a problem and quite nice to see. The drinks in the hotel were not expensive, the bar area and lounge were again very 70's and the entertainment in the evening was at best was average. All in all, we kept ourselves to ourselves had a good time and I would go back, although my wife may not, so I suppose we won't but don't let that put you off, it really is a good area, good bars, good food in the bars going towards the centre if you want something to eat for lunch. Not quite a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrNick211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,808)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Monica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed for a week, staff excellent very helpful,room ok very clean as was bathroom beds very hard we had room 646 and had good views out to the sea.We thought food good as well plenty of choice and allways looked fresh.Shame about the towels on sunbeds which as a previous reviewer said people do put there towels on the beds very early! i think staff turn blind eye as what can they do about it unless they patrol the area from dawn!!.we allways managed to find a bed but we sat in the gardens which suited us fine.this is our 3rd time back and would have no hesitation in going back.

Room Tip: we had 646 which had good views
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank felinesussex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Riu Monica is a beautiful hotel, although the entirior is a bit dated. However, the quality is good. The staff is well trained, serviceminded and makes you feel more than welcome. The staffteam doesn't change much which is a good thing that this hotel is capable of keeping it personnel focused, well trained and happy. The food is good with many choices every night. The rooms are spacious, clean, well equiped and with a good size balcony, mostly with see view. As the hotel is located only 30 meters from the beach, a stroll to the sand is honestly just a few steps. There is a good parking facility, the pools are good and clean. A walk into town is approximately 10 minutes. We visited the hotel more than once and probably will return in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Harries3311nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Have just returned from Riu Monica in Nerja and found location of hotel very good for access to beach, local bars and town.
Staff are friendly and has lots of choice of food at breakfast and evening meal.You would have to be very fussy not to find something to eat.All the areas of the hotel both inside and out are clean and tidy and staff are friendly and helpful.My only bug bear was the beds,which were hard so struggled to sleep at night due to this.As mentioned in other reviews, we also found that towels are put out early in the morning although it was stated in the literature that it is not possible to do this,but there are lots of areas to sit in and lots of sunbeds and umbrellas so it is not a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 50LHOLMES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Riu Monica with my daughter, son-in-law and 20 month old grandson. We had adjoining rooms on a low floor as requested with easy access to the pool area. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner buffets were excellent.Plenty of IKEA high chairs available at breakfast and one in place at our allocated table every evening.
Lochlan loved the Donkey Sanctuary ( 10 minute walk) and would have stayed all day feeding the donkeys and pot bellied pigs. We also visited the caves, 1Euro by bus, which were quite spectacular and did a day trip to Gibralter.
The life guard by the pool was very strict about no toys/floats in the pool, not even a rubber ring we bought for the wee boy. A pity they weren't so strict about towels on sunbeds. I watched from my balcony one morning and all the sunbeds in the pool area were booked by 7.30.
My only complaints would be about the beds in Room 21 and 22, they were so hard we ended up putting blankets under the sheets for a bit of padding and the hairdriers badly need updated so take one with you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just back from Rui Monica in Nerja, ab lovely hotel we had Junior Suite with sea view. Staff so friendly and very helpful can't praise them enough. Food is amazing lots and lots of choice at Breakfast and dinner the only problem is people putting their beach towels out at pool at 7am what is that all about! Pubs across road from hotel are lovely esp The Ship and Sarah and Mailo's great Cocktails and so is snack bar Jamaica. Main village is 10min walk worth a visit is pubs Buddah which has acts on and especially their Roof Terrace Bar. Another great place is pub Coach and Horses where we had so much fun with the owners and lots of people loved the food made by Cathy. Did a couple of trips one to Gibraltar and then El Chirro both had Rep Carmen who was brilliant, very informitave and lots of knowledge, great in speaking different languages too. Would definately go back at stay at the Monica, Rep Sam very informative too and can speak Spanish so you are not stuck. Loved everything about this hotel and resort and really it deserves 5 star as that is how you are treated. Also near the beach so you get a lovely breeze and doesn't feel so warm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Well positioned hotel, close to beaches and shops. The buffet style breakfast and evening meal were excellent with choices for everyone. There were two sittings for dinner at 1900 hrs and 2045 hrs and once you had made your choice a table would be allocated to you for the rest of the holiday. We did not use the poolside during the day as it was crowded with guests, who had reserved their loungers by placing towels on them and in some cases for 4 or more people, despite a notice saying not too. We decided to use the small beach outside the hotel, which cost 4 euro per person for the bed and umbrella for the day and less crowded.

Our other disappointment was that we were not advised by the Thomson Rep at the Welcome Meeting of the procedure for leaving the hotel as the flights were during the evening. We found out there were two wash rooms allocated and a place for luggage. However we had to ask for the key at reception but no-one seemed to know where it was and we would had to chase around to find it. Perhaps they should not have let it out of their sight.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blackbuffey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: $163 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Refurbished in winter 2015/16 * Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * * No children's pool and no playground * No pets allowed * All bathrooms are equipped with shower (no tub) and special make-up mirror * Minibar (extra charge, only on request) ç * 800 m from the center of Nerja and from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing