We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good except for meal times”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good except for meal times”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Can't fault the hotel for cleanliness, facilities, staff courteousness etc. However, meal times were horrendous! I suppose we should have realised that a big hotel such as this with a buffet service would lack the personal touch but we were not expecting the feeding frenzy that occurred in the restaurant particularly during the evening meal. There was plenty on offer but (at least for the hot food) cooked on mass with the consequent drop in quality (particulary around the fish and vegetables). My wife and I are fish eating vegetarians and I'm afraid we resorted to eating out 2 nights out of the 7 given the canteen atmosphere in the restaurant and the quality of the food itself. A pity because our stay was otherwise extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    626
    136
    33
    18
See reviews for
275
1,193
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Our sixth visit to the excellent Riu Monica with Thomson Holidays. Still find it excellent value for money and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank midshipman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Riu Monica, and have to say we are feeling very refreshed. It was a really nice hotel, in a very pretty town. The only negative about the town was the problem of dog fouling, but the hotel is not responsible for that.
The room we were allocated was very spacious, clean and fairly comfortable. The beds are only two singles pushed together, and not really that comfortable, but this is really the only negative about the property.
Food, especially at breakfast was spot on, the wife could not have done much better. (joke). The buffet on an evening was pretty good most of the times, you just have to have a good look around to see what is on offer.
All in all, not a bad hotel for what the cost was, will probably return next year

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank golferjeff345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I went for our annivesary 29th Nov for one week. Very clean hotel, rooms basic but clean and most with a sea view. Food was good again basic but very tasty, only let down we thought was when 2coach loads of germans arrived and the menu changed slightly to what appeared to be more for them. Sunn desk areas and pool, and pool bar again all good, especially the gate to the sea... only a few more paces. Overall coildnt find fault at all, and the staff are so friendly and accomadating, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try the Ship Inn across the road for lunch and the Codfather next door... fantastic food and reasona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluedave789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Have stayed in Nerja many times,first time at the Monica.Found hotel to be excellent in all areas,could not fault anything.The staff are a credit to the hotel,always pleasant helpful and efficient.My wife had her 60th birthday whilst there and hotel gave surprise complimentary champagne and candelite dinner,nice touch.Many repeat client's which speaks for itself ,mainly middle age plus couples who speak highly of the hotel.Found food to be very good for buffet system,always hot and freshly served,sweets are particularly moorish.
Location of hotel good,opposite beach,10mins walk to Balcon Square and plenty of shops,bars in town to explore.Favourite ,Mediterranean Bar in square to sit and people watch !!.Do not miss visit to Sarah & Manolos Bar opposite hotel,a warm and friendly welcome assured and good measures with pint of San Miguel 2 euros !.
For pleasant stroll walk on promenade past Perla Marina Hotel and follow river bed to top and turn left to donkey Sanctuary.Will certainly return to Monica !!!!

Room Tip: For best seaview ask for high floor and room with even room numbers for sun on balcony in afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelmanAtherstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Spacious, clean, comfortable and friendly, and that's just the first impression. This is a lovely quiet hotel with attractive gardens and swimming pool and is located on the promenade. We had a room on the 6th floor with stunning views looking west. The rooms are large and comfortable and spotlessly clean and the staff are amongst the most friendly we have ever found. Disappointingly there is no tea and coffee facility provided and the safe is located on the floor of the wardrobe which makes it difficult to access, particularly for those less abled.
There is a wide choice of food in the restaurant and breakfasts are exceptional with delicious breads of all types and a huge choice of hot and cold. The evening meals are more chaotic, there are two servings and the food choice is good rather than excellent.
It is less than a 10 minute walk to the Balcon Europa but the whole area is low rise buldings, little coves, mountains and good bars and cafes.

Room Tip: High floor for superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeanhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We arrived at this hotel in the pouring rain but on arrival was greeted with a nice glass of wine at reception, booking in was very fast and efficient. We were given a room on the first floor which was great it was quite big and spotless at the evening meal the manager asked if we were happy with the room that was very nice of him. The staff from the Director to the room maids were of the highest quality. We were on the first sitting for evening meals which suited us but you could choose second if you wanted. My partner had her birthday when we were their and when we went for our evening meal we were greeted with a candle lit table and a bottle of champers in an ice bucket I found out how they new it was here birthday they said they new by her passport.The only thing that we did not care for was the evening entertainment it was 3rd rate very boring, but you could go out to other places.

Room Tip: Full sea view ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kenGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
981 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#7 of 37 in Nerja
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing